Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Hesitation on 2000 New Beetle 1.8t Auto

12-30-2003 09:59 AM #1
      Disclaimer: I have been doing a bunch of searches on the 1.8t, New Beetle and transmission forum.

On to the question.

I just picked up a 2000 New Beetle 1.8t with the 4 speed auto. First off, it's a great car, except for this nasty hesitation I get when I want to accelerate quickly. At first, I thought it was a tranny problem because it feels like the tranny kicks down all the way to 1st. However, I've been doing searches on the 'tex and I'm coming up with possibilities like the n75 valve or DV is malfunctioning, or the MAF needs to be cleaned/replaced, or I need a throttle body alignment.

So, I'm looking for opinions and advice on what is happening. I'm very new to the watercooled world, so go easy. Oh, and no auto flames, please. I'm here for help, not ridicule.

Thanks in advance.

///BrooklynAutoRennen

2014 VW GLI Autobahn/Nav/DSG - Two clutches. Two pedals. Four doors. No apologies.

12-30-2003 11:59 AM #2
      bump
      ///BrooklynAutoRennen

2014 VW GLI Autobahn/Nav/DSG - Two clutches. Two pedals. Four doors. No apologies.

12-30-2003 04:26 PM #3
      I unplugged my MAF and the difference is amazing. I'll go to a VW dealer and have them scan and reset my ECU and take it from there.

Lots of fun even with a 4 speed auto. Great combo for me

///BrooklynAutoRennen

12-30-2003 11:16 PM #4
      Bump for the night crowd
      ///BrooklynAutoRennen

5. 12-31-2003 02:34 AM #5
      Quote, originally posted by Mikes72sb »
      I unplugged my MAF and the difference is amazing. I'll go to a VW dealer and have them scan and reset my ECU and take it from there.

Lots of fun even with a 4 speed auto. Great combo for me