Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 36 to 48 of 48

    Thread: How-To: Throttle Body Alignment

    1. Forum Sponsor Dana @ Ross-Tech's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 15th, 2009
      Location
      Apollo, PA
      Posts
      2,907
      Vehicles
      02 Gti, 12 Tiggy SEL
      02-06-2011 03:47 PM #36
      Quote Originally Posted by sdbiddle View Post
      I have a 2000 VW Jetta, 2.0 NON TD. I was just getting ready to spend the money to replace the throttle body but then I came across this forum. How do I know which adjustment to use and how do i do it?
      If this is a US/Canadian 2000 Jetta 2.0L AEG engine code you would use the Cable-Throttle Engines procedure.

      If you aren't sure, post the complete Auto-Scan and we'll see what's installed.
      Dana Marie

      P.S. No Scan = No Soup

    2. 10-13-2011 04:57 AM #37
      Hi, i have a 1997 VW Vento, 2.0 petrol AGG engine.

      What blocks do i need to perform TBA?

      Thanks

    3. 03-20-2012 03:10 PM #38
      Hi, I've been looking at your post about realligning the Throttle body (I changed my battery and it seems to have thrown out the allignment)
      Your post explained everything, except what tool I should use to do the job. what scan tool would you recommend? I don't have one, and would like to buy one, but I don't want to get one that won't work. Thanks

    4. Forum Sponsor Uwe's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 16th, 2000
      Location
      Lansdale, PA
      Posts
      5,312
      Vehicles
      Too Many
      03-20-2012 04:02 PM #39
      How about the company which sponsors this forum? That's the company that Dana works for, and the company which created with site in the link that you thanked Dana for posting. That company makes a tool....

      -Uwe-
      VCDS® -- Satisfaction guaranteed or double your fault codes back!
      I reserve the right to be a prick if people make unreasonable demands.

    5. n00b
      Join Date
      Oct 31st, 2012
      Location
      Thompson CT
      Posts
      4
      Vehicles
      2003 vw jetta 1.8t
      10-31-2012 11:44 PM #40
      I cannot manage to reset the throttle position even after the pedal was changed and removed the throttlebody and freed up the spring to close the throttle. should i just buy a brand new throttlebody or change the parts from an audi throttlebody i have? could it be the computer, because before i got the car the kid put an aftermarket exhaust on it and he ended up changing the front 02 sensor.

    6. 11-03-2012 10:25 PM #41
      So here is the $ 64,000 question. How do we keep our cars running nicely like we had just done a TBA without constantly having to do a TBA?

    7. 11-03-2012 10:41 PM #42
      RTFB or find a professional.

      64K will get you some good service.

    8. n00b
      Join Date
      Mar 27th, 2013
      Location
      Colorado
      Posts
      7
      Vehicles
      2003 vw jetta
      05-18-2013 01:33 PM #43
      Ive removed, cleaned and reinstallel mk4 2.0 2002 jetta throttle body and ecm,and tcm with no adaptation post cleaning and the car ran fine I did disconnect battery prior to cleaning throttle body and ecm and tcm with electrical contact cleaner ....so vagcom not nessasary!

    9. 05-18-2013 05:28 PM #44
      That I can tell you is a completely ignorant and incorrect assumption.

      RTFB says you need a scanner to ADP the TV anytime it is replaced or the battery is disconnected.

      When your trans grenades prematurely for poor learned angles or kick down.
      Please sir you come on back now ya hear?
      Post your scan later when you finally capitulate.

      Happy trails!

    10. 06-08-2014 09:36 PM #45
      Hi,

      As per the repair manual this Ecm (Simos vendor) supports the TBA in group 098 as shown on the Wiki page for DBC engines.

      Cable-Throttle Engines

      What are the details about the VCDS system you're using? The Interface model (i.e. KEY-USB), VCDS software version and PC details would be helpful.

      Do any other installed control modules communicate with VCDS as listed here: Audi A3/S3 (8L) ?
      Hi. I don't know if this thread is still active but i'll give it a try.
      I have just bought an audi a3 that seems to have throttle problems so I figured a tba should do the trick. I'm using a friends vcds which should be 4.09 registered on a win xp laptop. When we try to do a tba as per the instructions on channel 098 we get "bin. bit" in the two last boxes and nothing happened. What does this mean? Are we doing something wrong or is the tb busted?

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 5th, 2010
      Location
      Blackheath, Sth London, UK
      Posts
      754
      Vehicles
      '06 UK B6 BWA 3c0 SEL estate
      06-09-2014 02:59 PM #46
      If you post your Autoscan that'll tell what modules you have, their current settings, and if there's any fault codes stored

    12. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2000
      Posts
      73
      Vehicles
      2013 Audi S4
      07-16-2014 04:24 PM #47
      I posted this over on the 2.8 12 v forum but figured would ask here as well.

      I have a VAG-COM and performed the steps for the TBA. All went well. Problem is, it doesn't seem to take hold. Every damn time I turn the key to the accessory position, I can hear the throttle body doing its little dance and performing an adaption which I don't think is normal. Anyone have any ideas as to why this is happening? Vehicle is a 98 GTI Vr6 by the way.

      Thanks for the help!

    13. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 5th, 2010
      Location
      Blackheath, Sth London, UK
      Posts
      754
      Vehicles
      '06 UK B6 BWA 3c0 SEL estate
      07-17-2014 06:03 AM #48
      If you post your Autoscan that'll tell what modules you have, their current settings, and if there's any fault codes stored

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •