Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Which TDi mods increase mpg?

1. 02-23-2004 12:53 PM #1
      I am a newbie to diesels. It seems chips increase both hp/tq and fuel economy. I assume bigger injectors used properly decrease fuel economy. What other typical mods increase or decrease fuel economy? If you get bigger injector and a chip is your mileage better while normal driving and worse while spirited driving compared to stock? Thanks in advance. Hope this made sense.

2. 02-23-2004 01:58 PM #2
      Very little can be done to improve fuel consumption by much beyond the stock arrangement. *BUT* your thinking concerning big injectors isn't correct.

The closer you can get all the fuel injected all in one shot just before TDC, the better off you are in terms of efficiency, and that setup requires BIG injectors and SHORT duration. If you put in the big injectors, the shorter duration (under cruising conditions - not at full load) will come by itself.

Chips don't change the way the engine operates at part-load conditions. Usually there is no change in fuel consumption. It's a little optimistic to expect an improvement from this ...

3. Member
      Vehicles
      TDI Golf, CBR1000F
      02-23-2004 02:09 PM #3
      The best mileage (stock) came from the euro 110 rotary pump engine, which is very similar to our US 90 hp except for bigger nozzles, so bigger injectors don't necessarily cost you efficiency if you can keep your foot out of it. A biggy with these cars is tire pressure. I picked up a solid 3 mpg when I bumped the pressure up to 42f/40r. Other than that, it's all technique. It's a fun game to play, so have a good time.
      If it's not foggy
      and you have your fog lights on
      you are a doofus.
      "Pro Tip: Don't **** with people who've been trollin' longer than you've been alive." - OOOO-A3

4. 02-23-2004 04:52 PM #4
      right Gern, MPG mods are:

tire pressure

alignment