Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
    Results 101 to 125 of 291

    Thread: 16v Digifant 1 FAQ

    1. 09-26-2005 04:51 AM #101
      Quote, originally posted by PeOpLeG60T »
      anyone ever tried the TPS trick?
      the digi1 runs with no switches but idle isn't perfect and no WOT enrichment who is bad when pushing air in from a turbine i don't want to melt anything

      hook up your switches man, that means you don't have a deceleration cut-off, not to mention no WOT

    2. 09-26-2005 05:39 AM #102
      only wanted to know ... my engine isn't running yet still have time to hook the switches thanks

    3. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 13th, 2003
      Location
      Ont. Canada
      Posts
      2,031
      Vehicles
      1998 VW Jetta GT, 1984 VW GLI, 1985 Dodge GLH
      09-28-2005 09:51 AM #103
      Ok, from what I read, I gather this much...
      My 2.0 16V Passat motor with CIS-E Motronic can be dropped into my 90 Golf Digi1 8v by just switching the injector cups on the 16v and the Digi1 ECU chipped with an SNS calibration? (web address for SNS?) Both are 5 speeds.
      Is this correct, or do I need to get some other things? Do I really need the co-pot? I am keeping this system NA.

    4. 09-28-2005 03:43 PM #104
      new fuel rail
      new fpr
      plug off the cold start injector hole
      CTS sensor - choose 16v or Digi - either rework harness or adapt digi coolant inlet onto head
      the tps and wot switches may be different between digi and Passat TB's
      some people run idle control valve, some dont
      venting of the block
      plug air shroud channel

    5. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 13th, 2003
      Location
      Ont. Canada
      Posts
      2,031
      Vehicles
      1998 VW Jetta GT, 1984 VW GLI, 1985 Dodge GLH
      09-29-2005 07:36 AM #105
      Quote, originally posted by OhioBenz »
      new fuel rail
      new fpr
      plug off the cold start injector hole
      CTS sensor - choose 16v or Digi - either rework harness or adapt digi coolant inlet onto head
      the tps and wot switches may be different between digi and Passat TB's
      some people run idle control valve, some dont
      venting of the block
      plug air shroud channel

      And then everything is good? What FPR am I to get?

    6. 09-29-2005 05:02 PM #106
      any good aftermarket will work as long as its designed for fuel injection and can handle the psi your pump puts out.
      i like the aeromotive units from http://www.summitracing.com for about $130 or less.

    7. Member nitrous16v's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 16th, 2004
      Location
      Harrisburg Pa
      Posts
      655
      Vehicles
      91 gti 16v/91 gti 8v race/98 eclipse gst
      09-30-2005 05:11 PM #107
      i just spoke with AMS advanced motorsport solutions and they still offer digi chip/ecu upgrades , rev limit is increased to 7000rpms and on the dyno they gained 11hp in the mid range and 8 hp peak. the dyno chart shows 93hp/105 ft/lbs tq stock and 102hp and 108ft/lbs tq with AMS chip/ecu upgrade. you need to send your ecu to them. application are
      1987 1/2 to 1992 49state golf/jetta
      1987 1/2 to 1990 california golf/jetta
      1990-1992 cabrio
      their contact info is.
      AMS
      1-310-763-8000
      http://www.amspower.com
      should work with 16v conversions [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    8. Member OldSkoolDubbin's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 17th, 2004
      Location
      Federal Way, WA
      Posts
      1,614
      Vehicles
      93 Corrado SLC, 92 Jetta GL
      10-01-2005 01:20 AM #108
      Quote, originally posted by nitrous16v »
      i just spoke with AMS advanced motorsport solutions and they still offer digi chip/ecu upgrades , rev limit is increased to 7000rpms and on the dyno they gained 11hp in the mid range and 8 hp peak. the dyno chart shows 93hp/105 ft/lbs tq stock and 102hp and 108ft/lbs tq with AMS chip/ecu upgrade. you need to send your ecu to them. application are
      1987 1/2 to 1992 49state golf/jetta
      1987 1/2 to 1990 california golf/jetta
      1990-1992 cabrio
      their contact info is.
      AMS
      1-310-763-8000
      http://www.amspower.com
      should work with 16v conversions [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

      that is for digi 2

    9. Member KingofNod's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 28th, 2003
      Location
      Baltimore
      Posts
      4,088
      Vehicles
      1986 Toyota Corolla
      10-10-2005 07:12 PM #109
      Quote, originally posted by E60 »
      doubtful. Your co-pot or your timing is prob. off... All of your gear in good shape?

      Ignition timing? Pretty sure mechanical timing is dead on, or I can't imagine the car would run nearly as well as it does.

    10. 10-14-2005 04:56 AM #110
      Quote, originally posted by KingofNod »
      Ignition timing? Pretty sure mechanical timing is dead on, or I can't imagine the car would run nearly as well as it does.

      yes, your ignition timing. hell check the cam timing while your at it...

    11. Member KingofNod's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 28th, 2003
      Location
      Baltimore
      Posts
      4,088
      Vehicles
      1986 Toyota Corolla
      10-16-2005 02:14 PM #111
      I spent plenty of time setting the cam timing. If its not dead on now, it never will be. I'll borrow a timing light, I gotta feeling its the ignition timing , as I never really set it with a light since I rebuilt the head.

    12. Member KingofNod's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 28th, 2003
      Location
      Baltimore
      Posts
      4,088
      Vehicles
      1986 Toyota Corolla
      10-25-2005 09:37 PM #112
      Tried NGP? Maybe BBM? SNS chip works fine though.

    13. Member rocco858488's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 14th, 2005
      Location
      Anderson, SC -n- Jacksong, GA
      Posts
      1,132
      Vehicles
      85 rocco, 92 SLC
      11-09-2005 11:38 PM #113
      Hey,
      I am trying to figure out how to put Digi 1 on a 16v scirocco. I have a G60 with all the necessary parts, but I need a step by step (with pic.s if possible). Can you help me? Please send any info to scirocco858488@yahoo.com

    14. 11-12-2005 05:23 PM #114
      VW CE2 fusebox pinouts -- gathered from a digifant 1 diagram
      Connector F
      F1 Red/Blk - starter – circuit 50
      F2 ? blank ?
      F3 blue - alternator exciter -- was in another harness so I cut
      F4 Brown -- fuel after run
      F5 Red/Grn—ECU #1
      F6 Bk/R -- back up light
      F7 bk/bl back up light
      F8 brown -- crankcase breather (cut)
      F9 color? Digifant control unit relay
      F10
      G1
      1
      2 br/w outside air temp
      3 R/Y ECU circuit 3
      4 Blk Coil #15
      5 Br/Wh tranny ground
      6.
      7. blk/wht ECU #23
      8. R/W o2 heater
      9. ?
      10. bk/tlw ECU #14 / ISV
      11.
      12. Red/Blk Coil #1
      G2
      1 g/bk oil temp
      2 w/r outside air temp
      3 y/r coolant temp
      4 blk fuel after run
      5 track 47
      6 track 44
      7 color? Internal track 44
      8 color? Track 61
      9 color? Fuel relay? Track #51
      10 Y oil psi sender 1.8bar
      11 bl/bk .3bar oil psi
      12 ?


    15. 11-17-2005 05:02 PM #115
      can you use a digifant 2 throttle body and sensors with digifant 1? is it just a closed throttle and opened throttle switch?
      I am moving from digi2 to digi1, i got my stuff yesterday [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    16. 11-18-2005 07:14 PM #116
      im pretty sure its just the IPS and WOT switches like on the Digi-II
      i could look 4 u Sunday cos i got a G60 motor out in the shed...
      people that go aftermarket management use the Passat or G60 auto TB's with the TPS setup.

    17. 11-18-2005 07:19 PM #117
      OK, heres my Q...
      I'm building a NA 2.0-16v to go into my GLI and am switching to Digi-1 at the same time.
      The motor is pretty drastically modded and will be running dual 58mm TB and getting a 50 shot of NO2.
      I am looking for stock HP of around 200, and i know that the CIS-E fuel pump is said to be good for 400HP.... all that said, I plan to get rid of the out of tank pump and put in a higher flow/psi in-tank one.
      What LPH does a stock VW CIS-E run? what LPH does it take to push 200+ a 50 shot??

    18. Member silvervwbeetle's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 20th, 2002
      Location
      stanhope, nj
      Posts
      1,152
      Vehicles
      1998 beetle/ 2005 toaureg
      11-21-2005 09:29 PM #118
      i have a 91 8v jetta from california, i am told it has digi 1. i am going to put a 16v in it, has anyone figured out this digi 1 system with a 16v and if so what did you do? do i just need a fuel rail and use all the 8v wiring and sensors?

    19. Member vwpat's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2000
      Location
      ATL
      Posts
      6,516
      11-22-2005 06:54 AM #119
      Quote, originally posted by silvervwbeetle »
      i have a 91 8v jetta from california, i am told it has digi 1. i am going to put a 16v in it, has anyone figured out this digi 1 system with a 16v and if so what did you do? do i just need a fuel rail and use all the 8v wiring and sensors?
      CA digi I is more like digi II but with diagnostics. The digi II procedure would be better for you.

    20. Member silvervwbeetle's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 20th, 2002
      Location
      stanhope, nj
      Posts
      1,152
      Vehicles
      1998 beetle/ 2005 toaureg
      11-23-2005 06:03 PM #120
      thanks for the help, thats what i figured

    21. Member kda33's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2005
      Location
      At Your Local Dub Hang Out
      Posts
      1,542
      Vehicles
      '87 Cabriolet 16V
      11-26-2005 10:16 PM #121
      Ok I'm interested in doing this swap, however in an earlier post there was a mention of a BMW mass air flow can someone shed some light?

    22. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 3rd, 2004
      Location
      Portland, OR
      Posts
      673
      11-26-2005 10:31 PM #122
      I'm part way through the digi 1 swap but have a question on where to route the hose thats on the metal pipe since there no additional connector on the flange that holds the blue sensor.One end goes to the heater core and the other to the head. Do i block off that metal pipe? or what other option is there? Here's a pic. Thanks for your time.

    23. 11-26-2005 11:14 PM #123
      Quote, originally posted by kda33 »
      Ok I'm interested in doing this swap, however in an earlier post there was a mention of a BMW mass air flow can someone shed some light?

      This is used with a Digifant II application, digifant I doesnt use a Mass air flow sensor.
      There is a full thread devoted to DigifantII i suggest checking that out to see more info on the BMW MAF

    24. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 3rd, 2004
      Location
      Portland, OR
      Posts
      673
      11-28-2005 12:32 AM #124
      Who's done the digi 1 16v swap and can chime in on this one?

    25. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 3rd, 2004
      Location
      Portland, OR
      Posts
      673
      11-30-2005 03:14 PM #125
      I've figured it out, I guess you can just cap off a coolant pipe, they sell plugs for them if you have a extra outlet you dont need

    Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •