Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 456789 LastLast
    Results 246 to 280 of 291

    Thread: 16v Digifant 1 FAQ

    1. Member B4S's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 16th, 2003
      Location
      Marionville, Ontario, Canada
      Posts
      8,022
      Vehicles
      2002 Forester S, 1987 GTI 16v
      11-28-2010 07:41 PM #246
      Quote Originally Posted by snikfrits View Post
      ok. enough is enough. Digi1 uses tps. The throttle body on a G60 only has a idle switch and a WOT switch. correct? The ecu "senses" the thorrtle position by using the difference between each of these switches. correct?

      Basic question- The G60 throttle body I bought has an idle switch and a wot switch. Is that all i need?
      Digi-1 does NOT use a TPS (unless it's a Cali-digi-1 setup, but that is completely different than regular digi-1 from the G60 corrado the rest of the world got). The digi-1 ecu does not 'sense' throttle position, it only knows if the throttle is closed, open, or at WOT. It uses the difference in MAP signal to determine acceleration fueling, as opposed to a TPS like later Motronic cars used. Any digi-1 throttle body with an actual TPS came from an automatic car, that uses the TPS signal to determine shift points/pressure.
      Fick Deps?, Get Deb!

    2. Member snikfrits's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 19th, 2008
      Posts
      1,171
      Vehicles
      jetta R.I.P 5/13/2010
      11-28-2010 09:10 PM #247
      I already got a FI chip from SNS. As for the TPS...I figured that out a while ago. thanks though. I always got confused because some people called it Tps (throttle position sensor) when it's more of an idle position sensor. I'm just stuck on the last random wires on the fusebox side of the digi1 harness.

    3. Member Mathew...'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 22nd, 2009
      Location
      Edmonton, Canada
      Posts
      475
      Vehicles
      Too many
      11-29-2010 01:26 AM #248
      anyone have any good/bad experiences with digifant 1 running a 16valve turbo? I'm looking into a custom sns chip. I have an adjustable aeromotive fuel pressure regulator and an aem wideband so i can make sure im never lean. Im running a t3 super 60 at 10lbs with 42lb injectors. Oh and autotech sport cams and autotech 8k springs as well...

      Any thoughts on how well digi 1 will run this motor with a custom sns chip?

    4. Member snikfrits's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 19th, 2008
      Posts
      1,171
      Vehicles
      jetta R.I.P 5/13/2010
      12-01-2010 03:07 AM #249
      Hate "bumping" threads that aren't FS threads, but I really need help. And matthew, if I could do it again, I would go MS. Good luck with getting into contact with sns, but the motor will run fine with an sns chip. I have one now, but I got it from a person on here.

    5. Member whootwhoot's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2nd, 2009
      Location
      stl
      Posts
      577
      Vehicles
      98 a4 1.8t quattro, 88 suzuki samurai
      02-05-2011 11:55 AM #250
      back from the dead.

      I'm about to make the switch from motronic to digi 1 but i had a few questions before i start to purchase parts. These may sound dumb but i am new (really new) to any sort of modifications to my car. This will be my first "real" project. As of right now this is just for a stock N/A 2.0 16v

      bear with me
      So how do you go about choosing the correct FPR and and injectors? I understand that for situations that require more fuel you get bigger injectors and a FPR that compensates for the pressure. But how do i know the correct one to get based on MY stock motor? i don't want to get parts just because a DIY said so. I've been looking at the Fuel Injection data for motronic and here they are
      System pressure- 6.1-6.6 bar
      Differential pressure- 1.3-1.6 bar
      Residual pressure- 3.2 bar
      based on these values where does a person decide to go with a 3.5 bar FPR and #30 injectors (these are from the motronic to digi DIY) instead of these values do i actually go out and measure the pressure at the injectors themselves?

      Also, i am going to install and air/fuel gauge as well as it was strongly recommended. how do i know what the correct ratio is for my car?

      sorry if i sound stupid but i like understanding things before diving in. any feedback is appreciated.

    6. Member Dave926's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 30th, 2005
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      5,353
      Vehicles
      1989 Helios GLI 1997 Mk3 ****box
      02-05-2011 09:38 PM #251
      Just do it, do not think.

      Get a BBM rail and either mk2 or mk3 fpr adapter, stock digi 1 injectors install and go

      The bosch fpr's are pretty robust, and will easily bypass the extra pressure/volume from a motronic pump no problem. Ive been doing it for years.

    7. Member whootwhoot's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2nd, 2009
      Location
      stl
      Posts
      577
      Vehicles
      98 a4 1.8t quattro, 88 suzuki samurai
      02-06-2011 05:45 PM #252
      Quote Originally Posted by Dave926 View Post
      Just do it, do not think.

      Get a BBM rail and either mk2 or mk3 fpr adapter, stock digi 1 injectors install and go

      The bosch fpr's are pretty robust, and will easily bypass the extra pressure/volume from a motronic pump no problem. Ive been doing it for years.
      so i should go with the 3.0 or 3.5 bar fpr? thanks btw

    8. Member snikfrits's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 19th, 2008
      Posts
      1,171
      Vehicles
      jetta R.I.P 5/13/2010
      02-07-2011 02:18 PM #253
      I think that depends on what management you're running. Most SNS chips use a 3.5 fpr. Just FYI

    9. Member Dave926's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 30th, 2005
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      5,353
      Vehicles
      1989 Helios GLI 1997 Mk3 ****box
      02-07-2011 07:39 PM #254
      3 bar is whats stock on digi 1. I would also consider tuning the car yourself. SNS sucks to get in touch with

    10. Member whootwhoot's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2nd, 2009
      Location
      stl
      Posts
      577
      Vehicles
      98 a4 1.8t quattro, 88 suzuki samurai
      02-07-2011 08:24 PM #255
      im actually having bbm make me one. ill ask them

    11. Member Dave926's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 30th, 2005
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      5,353
      Vehicles
      1989 Helios GLI 1997 Mk3 ****box
      02-11-2011 04:20 PM #256
      For the amount of money your going to spend on a bbm chip you can get a chip burner for less, and tune as much as you want. A wideband isn't a bad idea here either.

    12. Member whootwhoot's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2nd, 2009
      Location
      stl
      Posts
      577
      Vehicles
      98 a4 1.8t quattro, 88 suzuki samurai
      02-11-2011 10:08 PM #257
      It was $100. Is that alot?
      16v!

    13. Member exjnv's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2006
      Location
      woodstock ga
      Posts
      2,151
      02-11-2011 11:13 PM #258
      Hey guys... Ive got a problem with my digi1 16v setup. its a 1.8l 16v on digi1 with an sns chip. the car runs great but when the WOT switch is engaged the car falls on its face.. any ideas? bad switches or bad chip? stock motor with external oil cool and im running no thermostat

    14. Member Dave926's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 30th, 2005
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      5,353
      Vehicles
      1989 Helios GLI 1997 Mk3 ****box
      02-16-2011 03:43 PM #259
      Your missing the point, its a map based tune. Its a generic tune that might fit your car ok, but will never be 100%.

    15. Junior Member Ho11ywood's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 4th, 2009
      Location
      Centralia, WA
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      ** 90 VW Corrado 2.0 16vT ** 95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6
      02-19-2011 11:08 AM #260
      I just got my Corrado 16vT running and i cant figure out where to put my low oil pressure switch. Ive seen the Digi 2 sensor pick floating around but i havent seen a Digi 1.
      90 VW Corrado 2.0L 3A 16vT
      95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6]

    16. Member Dave926's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 30th, 2005
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      5,353
      Vehicles
      1989 Helios GLI 1997 Mk3 ****box
      02-19-2011 12:33 PM #261

    17. Junior Member Ho11ywood's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 4th, 2009
      Location
      Centralia, WA
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      ** 90 VW Corrado 2.0 16vT ** 95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6
      02-20-2011 12:31 PM #262
      Is that for me Dave?
      90 VW Corrado 2.0L 3A 16vT
      95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6]

    18. Junior Member Ho11ywood's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 4th, 2009
      Location
      Centralia, WA
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      ** 90 VW Corrado 2.0 16vT ** 95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6
      02-20-2011 06:26 PM #263
      Nevermind i solved it myself. I used the low oil pressure switch and the spacer thats on the corrado g60 head and threaded it into the back of the 16v head and it works perfect.
      90 VW Corrado 2.0L 3A 16vT
      95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6]

    19. 02-21-2011 10:38 PM #264
      This thread is so damn dead... anways.

      I have a 87 jetta, ce1 fusebox

      2L 16v swap.

      Digifant 1.


      Car was running.

      All of a sudden i can't get it to run, I have gas, fuel pressure, i also have power at the coil.

      The only thing remotely related to wiring or electronics was that i welded on the body with power to the ecu still on, i never heard any problems about this but some peoples say its a big deal.

      I cant get any spark, engine cranks strong but doesn't run.

      Any help? just had the wiring redone and it was running fine

    20. Member Dave926's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 30th, 2005
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      5,353
      Vehicles
      1989 Helios GLI 1997 Mk3 ****box
      02-22-2011 12:28 AM #265
      You probably nuked the ecu. Check my threads that I started, your having the same issues that I did.

    21. 02-22-2011 10:08 AM #266
      the car started a few times after the weld so i dont see how it could be nuked?

      how do i check the ecu?

      I have my bentley handy for checking the coil and such but not the ecu

    22. 02-22-2011 01:15 PM #267
      I hate you for making me search for a digi 1 ecu.

      But i love you because looking thru your thread, i found out green wire was off the - pole of the coil.

    23. Junior Member Ho11ywood's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 4th, 2009
      Location
      Centralia, WA
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      ** 90 VW Corrado 2.0 16vT ** 95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6
      02-23-2011 10:46 PM #268
      Quote Originally Posted by Ricecookr View Post
      This thread is so damn dead... anways.

      I have a 87 jetta, ce1 fusebox

      2L 16v swap.

      Digifant 1.


      Car was running.

      All of a sudden i can't get it to run, I have gas, fuel pressure, i also have power at the coil.

      The only thing remotely related to wiring or electronics was that i welded on the body with power to the ecu still on, i never heard any problems about this but some peoples say its a big deal.

      I cant get any spark, engine cranks strong but doesn't run.

      Any help? just had the wiring redone and it was running fine
      Make sure your hall sender is plugged in.
      90 VW Corrado 2.0L 3A 16vT
      95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6]

    24. Junior Member Ho11ywood's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 4th, 2009
      Location
      Centralia, WA
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      ** 90 VW Corrado 2.0 16vT ** 95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6
      02-23-2011 10:49 PM #269
      Does anyone have the side view picture of the 16v head with the digi 1 sensor positions?
      90 VW Corrado 2.0L 3A 16vT
      95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6]

    25. Junior Member Ho11ywood's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 4th, 2009
      Location
      Centralia, WA
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      ** 90 VW Corrado 2.0 16vT ** 95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6
      02-23-2011 11:31 PM #270
      90 VW Corrado 2.0L 3A 16vT
      95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6]

    26. Member Dave926's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 30th, 2005
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      5,353
      Vehicles
      1989 Helios GLI 1997 Mk3 ****box
      02-23-2011 11:51 PM #271
      read the directions on that original picture

    27. Junior Member Ho11ywood's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 4th, 2009
      Location
      Centralia, WA
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      ** 90 VW Corrado 2.0 16vT ** 95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6
      02-24-2011 12:02 AM #272
      Quote Originally Posted by Dave926 View Post
      read the directions on that original picture


      Cant you just say yes thats correct or no dont do that?
      90 VW Corrado 2.0L 3A 16vT
      95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6]

    28. Junior Member Ho11ywood's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 4th, 2009
      Location
      Centralia, WA
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      ** 90 VW Corrado 2.0 16vT ** 95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6
      02-24-2011 01:26 AM #273
      Well i went ahead and made myself a wire harness to plug into the black digi 1 coolant plug with a spade terminal on the other end and viola my temprature gauge works. All you have to do is cut off the black digi 1 plug and install a spade terminal on the hotwire and plug into #5. The hotwire on my car is yellow and red and the ground is brown of course. Make sure you ground that brown off.
      90 VW Corrado 2.0L 3A 16vT
      95 Audi 90s Quattro 2.8 V6]

    29. Member whootwhoot's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2nd, 2009
      Location
      stl
      Posts
      577
      Vehicles
      98 a4 1.8t quattro, 88 suzuki samurai
      03-04-2011 12:34 PM #274
      so i have this charcoal solenoid valve unplugged. Does anyone have any idea what i should do with it? Plug the line?
      16v!

    30. 03-13-2011 09:32 PM #275
      Im in the prosses of converting my 16v KR to digifant, but im wondering about the engine harness. The two plugs by the ecu plug. Do all of these wires need power? how do i connect these?

    31. 07-21-2011 09:34 PM #276
      I am in the process of converting a 2.0 16v to digi 1. I have most of it hooked up and figured out but was stumped on the o2 sensor. I narrowed it down to one plug that I think has to be it but it doesnt look like any of the pictures I have seen. Maybe previous owner switched it out or I am just really confused. Anyways I have some pictures of it, if this is infact the o2 plug how should I go about splicing or whatever to make it work with a ce-2 plug? I know this is an old topic so I posted in both digi 1 threads hoping someone will see it. Thanks




    32. n00b elpitufillo's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2012
      Location
      Mexico
      Posts
      1
      Vehicles
      Corrado 16v
      04-24-2012 11:11 PM #277
      Back from the dead

      Well, i been searching for some days now, and i dont seem to find exactly whats i need

      So i got a corrado g60 with 2.0 16v n/a digi 1 build now
      It has the stock golf throtle body, wich got a vacum slot in the back (near of the firewall) and i have it open, because if i cap it, my car just dosnt idle and dies.

      Any info?

      O yeah, right now im running on the g60 stock ecu, im about to buy the chip from bbm

      Thanks!!

    33. 10-30-2012 12:47 PM #278
      Bringing this back to life..

      I wanna keep this cheap, I am on a tight budget.

      I'm new here and kinda new to this.
      This is my first time switching over to something else.

      I have a 1990 g60 corrado
      1.8l 16v from a gti. Setup for motronic
      G60 tranny
      G60 clutch
      I am putting the motor in them and I have to switch over to digi 1
      I am not going turbo,I want a reliable dd!!

      I have
      1. G60 wire harness
      2. G60 Ecu
      3. G60 injectors
      4. G60 radiator
      5. G60 bay harness
      6. Motor mounts, bbm solid ft motor mount
      7. I have both g60 and 16v throttle bodies

      I need
      1. Fuel rail. (found on eBay, 79.00,http://www.ebay.com/itm/OBX-H-Flow-F...&forceRpt=true)
      2. G60/16v co pot sensor bung from bbm
      3. A chip, idk which one I need


      What radiator hoses will fit?
      Can I use a g60 fpr?
      What else do I need?
      Do I need to extend or buy adapters for the fuel lines?

      I read a lot of this and everyone keeps saying something different

      Anyone please help!! Im confused

    34. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 28th, 2011
      Location
      South Holland, IL
      Posts
      620
      Vehicles
      92 GtiT
      10-30-2012 01:08 PM #279
      So to start off.. you need to get everything to convert the g60 to 16v, then work your way to all of the other things. You can go 16v na with exactly what you have now.
      I have most wiring diagrams in PDF format for sale! $5
      A1, A2, A3, A4, Corrado, New Beetle

      Spoonfedtuning.com

    35. 10-30-2012 03:17 PM #280
      So I don't need to convert to efi.

    Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 456789 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •