Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 4 of 226 FirstFirst 123456781454104 ... LastLast
    Results 76 to 100 of 5633

    Thread: A2 VR6 FAQ

    1. Member GTi_94's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 9th, 2002
      Location
      Calgary, Alberta, Canada
      Posts
      1,218
      Vehicles
      2013 CW 2DR GTi 6spd
      12-18-2004 12:46 AM #76
      Can I use a passat 16v dual fan setup on a corrado vr6 rad in my a2 vr project? or do I need to salvage the a3 setup(pins on the motor are bent and the shrouds tweeked)?
      2013 CW 2dr GTi 6spd,Euro LED, RVC, Euro Recaro, Headlight Washers, APR Stg2, Carbonio, Magnaflow w/ APR DP, Airlift bags, Accuair E-Level & I-Level, BBS Super RS 19", and some Carbon trim...
      2014 TR Beetle Turbo, OEM BiXenon, Magnaflow, MK6 DG springs

    2. Member WolfzGangVR6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 1st, 2002
      Location
      SFL
      Posts
      2,672
      Vehicles
      99 B5 variant 1.8t /87 jetta coupe 16v(9a w/ 2.0Tfsi rods & pistons) / 90 jetta vrT (r.i.p. Nadia)
      12-22-2004 09:29 AM #77
      i have obd1 b3 glx vr swapped into a 90 digi2 wolfsburg jetta... i'm curious as to what fuel pump to use??? now, i know that you can just swap the a3 tank right in with the lines and everything,... but i wanted to know if i could use just the a3 vr pump, or a2 16v pump without changing anything else?


      Modified by WolfzGangVR6 at 6:30 AM 12-22-2004
      Quote Originally Posted by nothing-leaves-stock View Post
      if you owe a VW and DON'T have AAA gold...your an idiot haha
      ........... \_________
      ..... ,___/ /___l ___\\_____
      ...... l________l____/_____l
      .......\__( o )_______( o )__/ ........the coupe.....

    3. Member A2brb's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 29th, 2003
      Location
      Louisville, Ky
      Posts
      3,146
      Vehicles
      91 Jetta Carrat, 82 Jetta Coupe
      12-22-2004 09:37 AM #78
      I have asked around about this and the Digi 2 fuel pump will work fine.
      Edit: You will have to use your Digi2 Tank with your Digi2 fuel pump.
      You cannot use a Digi2 pump with an A3 Tank.
      However, if you plan to run boost in the future, you will have to swap out your Digi2 Tank and Fuel pump with an A3 Fuel pump and Tank.
      -Ben



      Modified by A2brb at 9:51 AM 12-22-2004

    4. 12-22-2004 09:48 AM #79
      the a3 pump will not fit into a non a3 tank the top of the pump is much larger.


      Modified by speedracer211 at 9:53 AM 1-4-2005

    5. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 4th, 2002
      Location
      northern nj
      Posts
      3,942
      Vehicles
      81 rabbit, 02 mini cooper s
      12-22-2004 07:14 PM #80
      also fuel pump related...do you have to splice any wires to have the fuel pump work with the setups described above?

    6. 12-22-2004 07:50 PM #81
      if it was me, I would just go with a cis fuel pump and call it a day. it puts out way more pressure than any mk3 pump and or vr6 pump and puts out a lot more flow. check into that.

    7. 12-24-2004 01:17 PM #82
      Yes you will have to splice in the vr plug. the 8v pump and vr pump have different sized plugs but same wires. All the wires are the same though so it is a no brainer splicing on the new plug [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 4th, 2002
      Location
      northern nj
      Posts
      3,942
      Vehicles
      81 rabbit, 02 mini cooper s
      12-24-2004 01:30 PM #83
      Quote, originally posted by speedracer211 »
      Yes you will have to splice in the vr plug. the 8v pump and vr pump have different sized plugs but same wires. All the wires are the same though so it is a no brainer splicing on the new plug [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

      is that for ce2 as well? and i havent really looked yet but where do the wires from the fuel pump connect to? the fuse box or somewhere else?

    9. 12-24-2004 04:25 PM #84
      applies to ce2 as well... vr and 2.0 pumps are a single in-tank pump. I believe all mk2's have that extra crappy little pump underneath the car that always leaks as well. If you go vr pump get the entire tank, lines and filter. Filter mounts in the same place where that other pump or whatever the heck it is underneath the car. I picked the lines, tank, pump and filter from l and t enterprizes and it was only 75 bucks

    10. 12-25-2004 05:02 PM #85
      hey guys. i have a few questions.
      recently bought a mk2 vr6. it has the following components:
      obd1 corrado engine
      corrado tranny
      brakes, wiring, dash, cluster, subframes all from 99 DE
      this does make a wicked car... however....the clutch is very low. it grabs about 1/2 inch from the floor! now this makes it a little ****ty when your stuck in traffic having to plow the clutch to the floor.
      just wondering if there is anything that i can swap in to correct this?

    11. Member carpathianwolf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 9th, 2003
      Location
      Vancouver
      Posts
      997
      Vehicles
      92 GTi VR6, 04 Touareg
      12-28-2004 08:51 PM #86
      2 questions here.
      1. fuel tank - will the vr6 glx fuel tank bold right in into my mk2 gti and is this worth doing?
      2. front cross member (mount) can I use a MMP Mk2 VR6 mount with my curret cross member (16v gti)?
      that is all for now.

    12. Member fiorya's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 22nd, 2002
      Location
      Philadelphia, PA
      Posts
      2,176
      Vehicles
      1989 JETTA VR6 2006 GLI
      12-29-2004 05:22 PM #87
      From what I have read, The VR6 gas tank is the same size as the Larger tanks found on later model Mk2 cars.
      They are 14.5 US gal with 12 useable.
      My 1989 GL Auto had this tank volume from the factory and it was not changed out during the swap.
      I get about 270-290 miles out of each tank of gas.

    13. Member Scirocco_Clan_Man's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 28th, 2003
      Location
      Windsor, Ontario
      Posts
      2,328
      Vehicles
      91 Jetta
      12-29-2004 06:40 PM #88
      I have an 86 Golf (basic CIS) and I have a 93 passat with a vr6.... what exactly do I need from this car??? I plan on pullin the entire harness front to rear, and I know the rear crossmember won't fit... what other problems can I except to run into?
      Thanks in advance

    14. Member carpathianwolf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 9th, 2003
      Location
      Vancouver
      Posts
      997
      Vehicles
      92 GTi VR6, 04 Touareg
      12-29-2004 10:12 PM #89
      Quote, originally posted by fiorya »
      From what I have read, The VR6 gas tank is the same size as the Larger tanks found on later model Mk2 cars.
      They are 14.5 US gal with 12 useable.
      My 1989 GL Auto had this tank volume from the factory and it was not changed out during the swap.
      I get about 270-290 miles out of each tank of gas.

      Ok the main reason I want to swap the tank out is, I want to eliminate the pump that is under the car so I run just one pump and not this two pumps BS. My car is 92 GTi so it should be the bigger tank.

    15. 01-01-2005 10:21 AM #90
      Quote, originally posted by digi16vrocco »
      hey guys. i have a few questions.
      recently bought a mk2 vr6. it has the following components:
      obd1 corrado engine
      corrado tranny
      brakes, wiring, dash, cluster, subframes all from 99 DE
      this does make a wicked car... however....the clutch is very low. it grabs about 1/2 inch from the floor! now this makes it a little ****ty when your stuck in traffic having to plow the clutch to the floor.
      just wondering if there is anything that i can swap in to correct this?

      dudes i need an answer to this.
      and for the gas tank fellow. i have a 99 gti vr6 gastank in my 89 gti. it works great.

    16. Member carpathianwolf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 9th, 2003
      Location
      Vancouver
      Posts
      997
      Vehicles
      92 GTi VR6, 04 Touareg
      01-01-2005 02:43 PM #91
      how difficult was it to swap it in?

    17. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2002
      Location
      NYC
      Posts
      3,561
      01-01-2005 03:00 PM #92
      How are you guys mounting the ECU in the rain tray? I've got it located on the passenger side but don't have anything to mount it to...what have some of you come up with?

    18. 01-02-2005 01:23 AM #93
      i acutally did not do this myself. but it does just bolt in (no modifications...but i believe you need the fuel lines too.

    19. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2002
      Location
      NYC
      Posts
      3,561
      01-04-2005 03:26 PM #94
      Quote, originally posted by darren p. »
      How are you guys mounting the ECU in the rain tray? I've got it located on the passenger side but don't have anything to mount it to...what have some of you come up with?


    20. 01-05-2005 10:28 AM #95
      just use velcro or 3m double sided tape...i used velcro and it holds excellent

    21. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2002
      Location
      NYC
      Posts
      3,561
      01-05-2005 01:19 PM #96
      Thanks...I guess you seperate the ECU from the bracket?

    22. 01-05-2005 06:46 PM #97
      yup... just make sure you do not place it too close the the wiper arms but close enough that the rain tray fits. [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    23. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2002
      Location
      NYC
      Posts
      3,561
      01-12-2005 05:20 PM #98
      Has anyone used a Corrado pedal cluster with an A3 gas pedal and throttle cable? I just got an A3 gas pedal and tried to hook it up but it doesn't line up with the throttle cable when mounted in the Corrado cluster. Any ideas besides buying a Corrado throttle cable?

    24. 01-13-2005 12:43 PM #99
      If you want to use the A3 pedal and cable you need to drill another hole in the firewall. The A2s including the corrado have a bend to the left I believe and the A3 goes in the other direction.
      You can use a passat VR6 cable from a B3/B4 as well, it has the same attachment as the A2 cables.
      Also if you are going to use the A3 pedal you will probably have to remove some of the material to allow it to move freely and have a full extension, if I remember correctly it will get stuck and not go all the way down to the floor. [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]
      Good luck, I would stick with the A2 parts and go with a corrado or passat cable... whichever you can find... futrell sells the corrado ones

    25. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2002
      Location
      NYC
      Posts
      3,561
      01-13-2005 01:32 PM #100
      I was thinking I'd need to drill another hole, but didn't really want to do that. Especially considering the fact that even if I did drill the hole in the firewall the gas pedal would be real close to the brake pedal. The pedal, when installed in the Corrado cluster, actually sits to the left of the gas pedal stop. I did, in fact, have to remove some material from the top of the pedal so it wouldn't get stuck when pushed to the floor. Your knowledge of these cars and swaps is impressive.
      I'm probably just going to get the Corrado cable.

    Page 4 of 226 FirstFirst 123456781454104 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •