Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 7 of 71 FirstFirst ... 345678910111757 ... LastLast
    Results 151 to 175 of 1756

    Thread: 16V G60 - How to

    1. Member N_TENSETUNING's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 5th, 2001
      Location
      CT 06111
      Posts
      1,148
      Vehicles
      03 jetta tdi wagon
      03-15-2005 02:22 PM #151
      i told ya (wizard of OD),
      there is no way you will find anything vw or audi that will fit those belts.... the pitch is way off...
      believe me ... i spent a good month looking into all of this.
      the only way you are going to get the proper belts is to have (sciroccoR) read you off the part#'s off his old belts.
      or use the one i'm using... gates t098
      i did find industrial belts the proper sizing, but the teeth were not deep enough.... it would shread in a matter of secs.....

      d

    2. Member Issam Abed's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2004
      Location
      EVERYWHERE
      Posts
      13,435
      Vehicles
      91 Audi 80 2.0T
      03-15-2005 02:31 PM #152
      Quote, originally posted by N_TENSETUNING »
      or use the one i'm using... gates t098

      Does this belt come in 64" long?
      My apologies before.I was going by what I was told until we actually carried out a practical.
      This is all Peter had to say:
      Quote, originally posted by SciroccoR »
      The belt length is about 64”. The number on the belt is 58174X25mm. It is a gates belt Power grip HTD and was made in germany.

    3. Member N_TENSETUNING's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 5th, 2001
      Location
      CT 06111
      Posts
      1,148
      Vehicles
      03 jetta tdi wagon
      03-15-2005 03:18 PM #153
      i believe the gates t098 is much longer than that.... i have the specs at home... you can also find the full specs on it at http://www.gates.com
      it's a pity that peter didn't have any actual part#'s though....
      hey wizard of od.... maybe we should keep our stuff off this thread as it isn't relevant to any of the others.
      Feel free to I.M. me
      look forward to getting the belts thing squared away
      david

    4. Member Volk14's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 18th, 2000
      Location
      Asheville, NC
      Posts
      16,646
      Vehicles
      Indigo Blue B5.5 wagon (hers), Black B5.5 wagon TDI (his), 97 Passat GLX (his), 90 Corrado (his)
      03-17-2005 10:32 AM #154
      Do you happen to have some info on this intake? It's obvious is a custom intake but it looks pretty clean, like it came from factory.
      Check out some of my vortex feedback: http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?952415

    5. 03-17-2005 10:44 AM #155
      Same intake I have.
      Audi S2 or RS2, cut to fit

    6. Member N_TENSETUNING's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 5th, 2001
      Location
      CT 06111
      Posts
      1,148
      Vehicles
      03 jetta tdi wagon
      03-17-2005 10:47 AM #156
      that is a factory audi 5cyl 20v manifold (came on audi 100's turbo)
      they cut the 5th runner off and tigged a new flange on the end to accept that g60 tb
      definately custom.... and nicely smoothed

      oh... that fuel rail looks like a 1.8t one, with longer ends

      david

    7. 03-17-2005 10:50 AM #157
      Quote, originally posted by N_TENSETUNING »
      that is a factory audi 5cyl 20v manifold (came on audi 100's turbo)
      they cut the 5th runner off and tigged a new flange on the end to accept that g60 tb
      definately custom.... and nicely smoothed

      oh... that fuel rail looks like a 1.8t one, with longer ends

      david

      Almost right Dave Audi 200's what kinda of audi parts guy are you? 200's were turbo's 100's were not.

    8. Member Issam Abed's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2004
      Location
      EVERYWHERE
      Posts
      13,435
      Vehicles
      91 Audi 80 2.0T
      03-17-2005 01:26 PM #158
      Quote, originally posted by Volk14 »
      like it came from factory.

      It did
      Audi Inline 5 20V Turbo Intake Manifold that has been chopped.
      Audi 200T - 3B
      Audi S2 - ABY
      Audi RS2 - ADU
      Choose your engine code and go hunting

    9. 03-21-2005 10:26 PM #159
      another way to do the cog belt set-up is to use timing gears from a TDi or something. the only problem with that is you're extremely limited as to the size of the supercharger pulley...momentum tuning solved this problem by running two G-laders to effectively double the boost...mated to an ABA block and head; this engine is a killer. walks all over M5's from 60-100mph.
      check it http://momentumtuning.com/site...ject2/

    10. Member N_TENSETUNING's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 5th, 2001
      Location
      CT 06111
      Posts
      1,148
      Vehicles
      03 jetta tdi wagon
      03-22-2005 09:44 PM #160
      oops.... typo..... i mean audi 200's turbo
      thanks chiarappi/mk2 charged
      p/s i'm now a parts guys that doesn't do audi ....to answer your question...

      give me a call at home and i'll fill you in

      david

    11. 04-17-2005 12:59 PM #161
      It seems like some low end torque (off boost) would be lost with those short intake manifolds. Has anyone actually been able to compare? I like how the short ones look and that they're not over the hot valve cover but wouldn't want it to decrease performance at all.

    12. 04-18-2005 07:45 AM #162
      Quote, originally posted by LooseNut »
      It seems like some low end torque (off boost) would be lost with those short intake manifolds. Has anyone actually been able to compare? I like how the short ones look and that they're not over the hot valve cover but wouldn't want it to decrease performance at all.

      That is the theory, but with a supercharger, as soon as you lay into the throttle, you're in boost, so I would assume that you could compensate with just adding a little more throttle, if there is a noticeable loss at all.

    13. 04-18-2005 05:59 PM #163
      In my case, I did a short runner and AT cams at the same time. The midrange torque wasn't affected compared to the factory intake with stock cams (220-230ft-lbs ~4500 rpm for both). The new combo pulls much harder for another 1000 rpm, at least on the top end, though.

    14. 04-18-2005 08:32 PM #164
      Has anyone had problems of higher runing oil pressures on the 16v and causing damaged oil seals on the charger? Do 16v usually run higher pressures than the g60?
      [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    15. 04-18-2005 09:12 PM #165
      Quote, originally posted by jwatts »
      In my case, I did a short runner and AT cams at the same time. The midrange torque wasn't affected compared to the factory intake with stock cams (220-230ft-lbs ~4500 rpm for both). The new combo pulls much harder for another 1000 rpm, at least on the top end, though.

      yeah, but you guys are talking about on boost. I really hate the sluggishness of a low compression/displacement motor while off boost in stop and go traffic.

    16. 04-18-2005 10:05 PM #166
      Quote, originally posted by BlownGTT »
      Has anyone had problems of higher runing oil pressures on the 16v and causing damaged oil seals on the charger? Do 16v usually run higher pressures than the g60?
      [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

      If you get the feed from the back of the head, it's ok, I tried it from the front oil flange, popped a seal.

    17. Member CORRADOFREEK's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 12th, 2000
      Location
      Indiana Pa
      Posts
      3,922
      Vehicles
      2001 GMC 2500HD Duramax, 2006 Audi S4
      04-19-2005 07:37 AM #167
      Quote, originally posted by OttawaG60 »
      If you get the feed from the back of the head, it's ok, I tried it from the front oil flange, popped a seal.

      thats when using the 16v block and not the g60 block?

    18. Member Issam Abed's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2004
      Location
      EVERYWHERE
      Posts
      13,435
      Vehicles
      91 Audi 80 2.0T
      04-19-2005 07:51 AM #168
      Quote, originally posted by CORRADOFREEK »
      thats when using the 16v block and not the g60 block?

      Same difference.The Oil pressure @ the head whether 16V or 8V is going to be lower than that @ the oil filter flange.

    19. 04-19-2005 07:59 AM #169
      Quote, originally posted by CORRADOFREEK »
      thats when using the 16v block and not the g60 block?

      Yes, I am using the 9A long block.

    20. 04-19-2005 01:19 PM #170
      so you actually drill the block? WHere abouts is this? is regarding a 9a block [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    21. 04-19-2005 01:30 PM #171
      there is a hole for it right where the one is for the g60 block , you just need to drill it all the way . ( it is right near the oil filter , tothe left of it )
      i have a 9a and need to drill mine also . i chose to not drill the pan .

      sorry , thought you where talkign about the oil return line .
      i was just gonna get my oil from the side f the head , but if this is the case , where do i get hte feed line from on the back of the head ?

      Modified by herby53-akaherby53 at 1:33 PM 4-19-2005


      Modified by herby53-akaherby53 at 1:34 PM 4-19-2005
      www.KONI.com

      Supporting Koni Since I could drive.

    22. Member Issam Abed's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2004
      Location
      EVERYWHERE
      Posts
      13,435
      Vehicles
      91 Audi 80 2.0T
      04-22-2005 08:23 AM #172
      Quote, originally posted by herby53-akaherby53 »
      where do i get hte feed line from on the back of the head ?

      Where the stock Oil pressure switch is?

    23. Member CORRADOFREEK's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 12th, 2000
      Location
      Indiana Pa
      Posts
      3,922
      Vehicles
      2001 GMC 2500HD Duramax, 2006 Audi S4
      04-28-2005 07:20 AM #173
      forgot to ask, using the pg block, can i use the 16v trans? for some reason my mind is saying no due to the clutch flywheel setups

    24. 04-28-2005 12:21 PM #174
      Quote, originally posted by CORRADOFREEK »
      forgot to ask, using the pg block, can i use the 16v trans? for some reason my mind is saying no due to the clutch flywheel setups

      Clutch disc is all the you need to change, output shaft is different between the 2 trans.

    25. Member CORRADOFREEK's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 12th, 2000
      Location
      Indiana Pa
      Posts
      3,922
      Vehicles
      2001 GMC 2500HD Duramax, 2006 Audi S4
      04-28-2005 09:46 PM #175
      disregard the statment made earlier, it was late, and i was looking at a vr6 flywheel instead of the g60 flywheel


      Modified by CORRADOFREEK at 5:20 PM 4-29-2005

    Page 7 of 71 FirstFirst ... 345678910111757 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •