Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 14 1234511 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 35 of 477

    Thread: Dimentions needed!!!! vw motorsport shifter.

    1. Banned jetta88a2's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 26th, 2001
      Posts
      2,167
      01-27-2005 12:12 PM #1
      If anyone has a vwms shifter and would be willing to take some measurements for me I'd like to build one in my machining class. The only really critical dimentions would be from the centerline of the pivot points to the mounting surface or hole location for the ball studs. I might even be able to document the build up with all the various setups if anybody's interested.
      Pic for views thanks!





      Modified by jetta88a2 at 3:44 PM 1-27-2005


    2. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 2nd, 2001
      Posts
      5,153
      Vehicles
      2006 Jetta TDI, 1996 Golf TDI, 1997 Golf Variant Syncro TDI, 1993 Eurovan TDI
      01-27-2005 06:18 PM #2
      I'm interested as well.

    3. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      01-27-2005 07:45 PM #3
      There is a picture right there. Thats where I got my dimensions!! My shifter came out fine
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    4. Banned jetta88a2's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 26th, 2001
      Posts
      2,167
      01-27-2005 08:21 PM #4
      What cables are you using? I just dont want to build it and find out it wont work because the arms arent long enough or something like that. I have to make a blue print before my teacher will approve it anyway so I figured I'd try to find the right dimentions


      Modified by jetta88a2 at 5:23 PM 1-27-2005

    5. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      01-27-2005 08:58 PM #5
      mine is rod change mk1 style no cables this one uses vwms cables
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    6. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      01-27-2005 08:59 PM #6
      dimensions can be taken from stock shifter
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    7. Banned jetta88a2's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 26th, 2001
      Posts
      2,167
      01-28-2005 01:29 AM #7
      I was under the impression that the distance from the pivot points to where the cables attach would be longer on the the vwms shifter to reduce shift throw. Hmmm, I'll just make it adjustable. I'll post pics up as I go.

    8. 02-06-2005 12:06 PM #8
      I'm picking up a VWMS shifter in a few weeks, and then a friend of mine with a cnc machine is going to make a few copies. I'll supply all the dimensions for you if you'd like, and will also offer a copy of the unit for a price. I'm shooting for half the price of the real thing. we'll see what happens. I'll make a feeler post after the first shifter is made.

    9. Banned jetta88a2's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 26th, 2001
      Posts
      2,167
      02-06-2005 01:57 PM #9
      Sounds good man. Do you plan to use the vwms cables? I ordered a set from bildon but here is a copy of the email I recieved from them.

      VWR has gone through a major restructuring and now parts are getting hard to get.
      I've already had an inquiry in about these parts.* I should know tomorrow about availability.
      *
      Regards,
      =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
      Bill Sulouff - Bildon Motorsport
      Volkswagen Racing Equipment
      http://www.Bildon.com

      That was on jan 27th... I still havent heard back.


    10. 02-06-2005 02:21 PM #10
      Quote, originally posted by jetta88a2 »
      Sounds good man. Do you plan to use the vwms cables? I ordered a set from bildon but here is a copy of the email I recieved from them.

      VWR has gone through a major restructuring and now parts are getting hard to get.
      I've already had an inquiry in about these parts.* I should know tomorrow about availability.
      *
      Regards,
      =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
      Bill Sulouff - Bildon Motorsport
      Volkswagen Racing Equipment
      http://www.Bildon.com

      That was on jan 27th... I still havent heard back.


      I was planning on using vwms cables, but if they're no longer avaliable, i will have some custom made for our application.Hopefully i don't have to make customs cables


    11. 02-08-2005 01:14 PM #11
      here's a couple pics i took a few years ago .. should have measured it when i had the chance

      post specs up here if you get it to work, i'd like to build one too




    12. 02-08-2005 05:02 PM #12
      Have any of you guys bolted the shifter in yet?

      Lots of work, no doubt about it.

      Also, I ended up making a custom tower for the shifter to bolt to, as the one it comes with is too low... the main cable won't clear the center tunnel.

      Anyway, I'll see if I can dig up some pics.

      I was a man... I was a good man... Selling insurance...

    13. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      02-08-2005 10:37 PM #13
      I have a fully working rod selector model for 020 gearboxes if anyone is interested in buying one!!!
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    14. 02-09-2005 01:17 AM #14
      I've deicided to make a completely custom unit that will work just like the vwms shifter, but it will have the ability to be adjusted for longer or shorter throws. We're making a prototype right now. The longest throw will still be shorter then stock by about 25-30 percent.

    15. 02-10-2005 01:30 AM #15
      Which car/trans combo will your shifter work with? Can you give a very rough ball park of what you think it might cost?

    16. 02-10-2005 07:04 AM #16
      Quote, originally posted by Byron N. »
      Which car/trans combo will your shifter work with? Can you give a very rough ball park of what you think it might cost?

      i'm going to make it only for cable shift trannys at first, and then i'll make the 020 shifter if i can sell these. I'm shooting for around $400. After i make the prototype, i'll figure out the cost, see how much interest there is for this shifter, and them i'll make a batch of them. I may also take pre-orderes after the first one in done to help pay for the materials. Its a lot of dough to put on the line you know...Pics in 2-3 weeks of the shifter.


    17. 02-10-2005 03:37 PM #17
      I understand about costs. I was looking into going with a cable shift box in my 86 GTI, if I go this route and you are close to your estimated price I will be very tempted. Those things are so trick looking, and you can mount them at a height that you like. I didn't think one of those could even work with an 020.

    18. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      02-10-2005 03:46 PM #18
      Quote, originally posted by bahnblitz »
      I have a fully working rod selector model for 020 gearboxes if anyone is interested in buying one!!!

      I guess you guys seemed to miss this

      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    19. Member speed51133!'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 5th, 2002
      Location
      alexandria va/milwaukee wi
      Posts
      7,691
      Vehicles
      02 audi tt 225 / mk3 jetta /audi 5000s turbo
      02-10-2005 03:46 PM #19
      shoot....i could make one of these things NO PROBLEM with better quality than thoes pics!

      it would not take me 400$ either to do it......

      all i would need is dimensions, or a unit to copy.


    20. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      02-10-2005 03:51 PM #20
      I made mine no dimensions and its for 020!!! There are some bits in there which add up. The aluminum stock in nothing but thrust washers and bull**** like that get expensive.
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    21. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      02-10-2005 03:54 PM #21
      BTW the above unit is pretty clean!! It is a VWMS unit!! You might offend someone on here!! The welding could be better. Thats about it. The dimple press needed to make the base is pretty expensive!!
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    22. 02-10-2005 06:09 PM #22
      Ive never seen one in person. Is the pin on the top with the spring behind it for the reverse lock out?

    23. Member speed51133!'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 5th, 2002
      Location
      alexandria va/milwaukee wi
      Posts
      7,691
      Vehicles
      02 audi tt 225 / mk3 jetta /audi 5000s turbo
      02-10-2005 09:24 PM #23
      VWMS or MVWS who cares!

      i dont think it LOOKS anything fancy. the weldnig looks like it was done wih a vortex style mig! haha

      anyways, the dimple thats pressed in, is that dimple a functional part of it?


    24. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      02-10-2005 09:32 PM #24
      Well, yes, for strengthening the bases. If not then its just flimsy metal. Tons of major race fabricators use them. What would you do to yours to make it fancy?????
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    25. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      02-10-2005 09:35 PM #25
      Quote, originally posted by Byron N. »
      Ive never seen one in person. Is the pin on the top with the spring behind it for the reverse lock out?

      Yup, you got it!

      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    26. Member speed51133!'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 5th, 2002
      Location
      alexandria va/milwaukee wi
      Posts
      7,691
      Vehicles
      02 audi tt 225 / mk3 jetta /audi 5000s turbo
      02-11-2005 08:38 AM #26
      you coudl make the whole thing out of aluminum, and the base be 1/4in plate. But if i were to keep it steel, i just would use thicker material

    27. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      02-11-2005 12:22 PM #27
      Why would you make it steel. Heavy!
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    28. 02-11-2005 12:46 PM #28
      The base on my shifter is going to be aluminum plate. What do you guys want me to do for the base for your cars though? suggestions?

    29. Member bahnblitz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 18th, 2002
      Location
      LI, NY
      Posts
      14,815
      Vehicles
      Audi Allroad, scirocco 16v, jetta coupe 16v, ecodiesel jetta
      02-11-2005 01:55 PM #29
      Well mine has my company logo on the base. I also have one similiar to the vwms style and one that has and iron cross cnc'd but that one isnt for sale!!!
      e2 Motorsport
      Freeport, NY

      VW/Audi specialists, VAG-COM certified! PVW featured! I-Car Platinum certified!

    30. 02-11-2005 08:33 PM #30
      Quote, originally posted by 1.8t rabbit »
      The base on my shifter is going to be aluminum plate. What do you guys want me to do for the base for your cars though? suggestions?

      Aluminum or stainless plate. Just so long as its tig welded to produce a nice finish and strong weld. The welds just look a little boogered up on the ones above. I'm just used to seeing perfect tig welds now.


    31. 02-12-2005 11:23 PM #31
      Quote, originally posted by Byron N. »

      Aluminum or stainless plate. Just so long as its tig welded to produce a nice finish and strong weld. The welds just look a little boogered up on the ones above. I'm just used to seeing perfect tig welds now.

      Ok, we'll see what i'm going to do. I just got a new mig, tig, and plasma cutter so everything should go smoothly. I friend of mine is going to weld the bases together though as he's a pro. I'm still learning


    32. 02-13-2005 09:50 AM #32
      ne one get there hands on some dimensions?

    33. 02-13-2005 09:52 AM #33
      if any of you, have made one already i'll buy it.
      i'm strongly interested in this project.
      i was trying to buy one from bildon but all they have are nice pictures on the web.

    34. 02-13-2005 12:42 PM #34
      Okay, here we go...

      I built the base for this one. Had a friend weld it.


      It looks real simple, but it probably took a week to get everything right. The cable stays are probably the hardest part, especially if you build a tall base like I did. This was in a Mk4, BTW.

      I was a man... I was a good man... Selling insurance...

    35. 02-13-2005 01:51 PM #35
      more pics r great i love see'n them but does neone have some numbers, measurements or maybe some blueprints

    Page 1 of 14 1234511 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •