Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 25 of 47

    Thread: Navigation System - Split Screen Function

    1. 02-24-2005 11:42 PM #1
      I don't usually use the nav since I don't travel much , but last night I activated a destination just to sit back and observe the system. Well, later I pressed the "map" hardkey to enlarge the map. Then for some reason I pressed the "map" button for the second time and it activated something on the screen that I didn't know would happen. Pressing the "map" button twice (after initiating a destination) will split the screen into a map on the right half of the screen and the left half of the screen will show you what you normally see on the display where the speedometer is. That way if you want to see CD or radio information on the heads-up display , you can see the up-to-date turning instructions on the main screen of the infotainment screen.
      Even though the nav isn't DVD, I feel it does have quite a good bit of accuracy and serves the function well. [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]
      David


      Modified by dcowan699 at 4:41 PM 2-25-2005

    2. 02-25-2005 12:00 AM #2
      excellent, thanks for posting this [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] . I have not yet tried to use the nav, but will keep my eye out for this nice function!
      Ed.

    3. 02-25-2005 03:15 PM #3
      actually, (I can't remember the exact buttons right now) there is a setting in the Nav system that you can choose to display this split screen function at all times a destination is chosen) - using this setting, the "arrows" are also displayed on the Nav Set display.

    4. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      02-26-2005 03:18 AM #4
      David raises a very good point, and has highlighted a feature of the navigation system that is not well understood. Personally, I think that lack of understanding of this feature is behind a lot of the complaints that arise about the navigation system.
      The 'default' presentation of the map on the big display between the two front seats (the Front Information Display Control Head, or J523 module, to use the proper name for it) is a full screen map. A full screen map is quite useful for overall situational awareness, but not very good at all for the purpose of telling you what you need to do next if you are actually navigating a route.
      As David mentioned, you can toggle the display on the J523 between a full screen map and a split-screen map just by repeatedly pressing the MAP button. The split-screen view gives you much better specific guidance information - it shows the intersection layout where you will make your next turn (assuming you are within a few miles of your next turn) and it also shows the distance between the present position of the car and the next leg change maneuver.
      The way the system was really intended to be used, though, is with the driver looking at the route guidance screen on the Display Unit in the Instrument Cluster - the Y24 screen. This screen always displays guidance information only. Further, it always displays the name of the street you are presently driving on at the bottom of the screen, and the name of the street you will make your next turn at up at the top of the screen. If you understand this, then most of the complaints about 'lack of street names' kind of don't matter anymore.
      The route guidance screen on the display between the speedometer and tachometer does not come up automatically when a route is activated. Personally, I think this is an oversight in the programming of the system - it should appear if a route is activated - but it is possible, I suppose, that the lawyers at VW of A disabled automatic activation of this screen because they thought it would be a driver distraction. In any case, you can bring up this screen by pressing the buttons in the lower right corner of the steering wheel, directly above or below the knurled roller wheel.
      There are some pictures of these three screens below.
      Michael
      Default screen that appears when the MAP button is pressed
      This screen provides general situational awareness only - no guidance.

      Alternate display of map screen
      Just press the MAP button a second time to see this screen. Press it a third time to toggle back to the default map (full screen map, as shown in the picture above).
      The road name at the top left corner is the road that you will be making your next turn onto. This allows a passenger to observe the road name, then look at street signs to help identify the correct road to turn at.

      Navigation GUIDANCE screen that appears in the instrument cluster
      Note that this screen will always display the name of the road you are presently driving on at the BOTTOM of the screen. This information is not presented on either of the two MAP screens on the big display between the front seats.
      The road name at the TOP of this screen is the road that you will be making your next turn onto. This is consistent with the design of the display on the big screen, between the two front seats. Note also that the split-screen view on the middle display gives more detail at complex intersections such as this one. The intent of the designers was to present only the most important information on the instrument panel screen (below), and provide additional detail, if needed for complex manouvers, on the split screen.



      Modified by PanEuropean at 7:15 PM 1-24-2008
      Last edited by PanEuropean; 09-15-2012 at 09:28 PM.

    5. 02-27-2005 08:52 AM #5
      What a great feature, I wish it was available on the Touareg's nav system! When I push the Map button it toggles the map screen and the guidance screen, but I do not have the split-screen option.
      Michael, I assume this is inherant in the Phaeton's nav system, and not just a matter of recoding?

    6. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      02-27-2005 11:48 AM #6
      That is correct, it is basic to the design.

    7. 03-01-2005 03:44 PM #7
      I use this feature often, in fact it is my normal navigation mode, as I use the MFI to find radio stations or favorite tracks on CD's while driving.
      The Touareg does show the "arrows" in the MFI while in the map screen, at least on the CD-Rom based systems. I've yet to get my hands on a DVD Nav equiped unit.

    8. 03-01-2005 04:27 PM #8
      You're right, of course, and from what I've heard the Touaregs DVD Nav works much the same way. I was wishing for the split screen mode because, as you, I use the MFI for other functions (usually the computer) and it would have been convenient to have the "arrows" alongside the map.

    9. 03-13-2005 06:35 PM #9
      Explain this! Yesterday was my first real road trip in my Phaeton and it consisted of leaving Alabama (Southeast disc) and going into Tennessee (Midwest and Ohio Valley disc). In Tennessee I should have needed a new disc for the nav to accept new destinations and so forth. However, I never lost information all the way up to my destination. I did not program a destination on the way up, but it gave me a fairly detailed map as I progressed into Tennessee.
      In my Benz, you would get nothing at all once you crossed the state line and I mean not one mile beyond that. The VW system seems to allow for some serious overlap of regions. While I was showing some interested friends and family my car, I did put the Tenn. disc in for a short period of time while I was visiting there but I immediately put the Southeast disc back in BEFORE leaving Tennessee. Once I started to head back home, I programmed it to get me back to Birmingham , AL (while still way north of my region) and it did so without any interruptions. Maybe I don't understand the full extent of the nav system.
      David

    10. 03-13-2005 06:46 PM #10
      I've even discovered the Canadian disk covers well into NY State and Michigan. Each disk has the lower 48's highways system on it, what you lose is surface street detail, POI, etc.

    11. 03-13-2005 06:58 PM #11
      Come to think of it, I didn't zoom in much while in Tennessee. Regardless, it's better than seeing nothing at all and having to switch discs just to go a few miles into a different region.

    12. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      03-13-2005 09:46 PM #12
      Quote, originally posted by dcowan699 »
      Explain this! (About roads showing up on out of region CD's) David

      VW uses the highest grade of cartography that can be purchased from Navteq, who are their cartographic suppliers. What Navteq does - which is really clever - is that they include a 'base map' of the entire continent on every CD. The base map contains highways, major thoroughfares, and significant geographical and cultural features. The 'street level detail' for each region, including minor streets, house numbers, and the invisible road attributes required to create routes, is only included for each region, on the region-specific disc.
      Michael

    13. 03-13-2005 10:33 PM #13
      Thanks Michael but let me ask this question. If I wanted to go to 5667 Anywhere, California, would I put in the disc that pertains to California , program in the address and leave that disc for the California region in the machine even though I begin my trip in Alabama?? Let's assume I don't want POI or any detail along the way and all I need is step by step instructions on how to get there.

    14. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      03-13-2005 10:45 PM #14
      I can only answer theoretically, because I have never used any CD other than the Canada one in my car.
      My guess is that you would need to put the CD containing the destination in the CD player, to allow you to look up the city, street, and street number and set these as the destination. Once you have selected 'activate route guidance' or whatever that button in the lower right says, I suspect that the nav system would then prompt you to put in the CD for the region the vehicle is presently located in, to allow the nav system to begin providing you with guidance from the area of origin to the area of destination.
      The exception to this would be if you enter a 'coarse' destination into the nav system, which would probably be a more sensible way of doing things. For example, if you start in New York and want to go to 123 Main Street in Los Angeles, my guess is that it would be sufficient to leave the New York CD in the player, and just enter the state (CA) and the city (Los Angeles) as the destination, with no street specified. I expect that the city (Los Angeles) is probably on the base map that is stored on every CD. Once you drive into the CD region that contains Los Angeles, you can refine your destination further, to include the street and street number.
      If your destination was Rabbithash, KS, population 38, and Rabbithash was not stored on the base map, you might have to settle for just entering KS in as a destination - or entering the name of a major city, such as Wichita, that is proximate to your destination city.
      Again - this is just a hypothesis, based on how aircraft nav systems and Garmin aftermarket automotive systems work.

    15. 03-14-2005 11:50 AM #15
      Yes, you are right, Michael. I have the Navteq-CD for Germany in my Navigation-System and I can drive throug all Europe because all the Highways are on it and the (bigger) cities. There are also the Main Streets of these cities on it but not in detail all the streets of it. When I will find more details I must buy a CD from the special country (or region).

    16. 03-20-2005 12:28 PM #16
      the first automobile navigation system i have ever used is in my phaeton. i have no other systems for comparison.
      having said that, i am still aggravated by all the negative phaeton nav system comments on this forum (not htis thread).
      THE PHAETON NAV SYSTEM WORKS EXTREMELY WELL!
      i can drive from indiana to florida, to a location i've never been before, 1118 miles, follow the nav directions, and get there without a problem, without changing the disk from my local disk to florida!
      the system is fast, reliable, and fun to play with. AND I DON'T WANT OR NEED STREET NAMES SLOWING DOWN MY SYSTEM AND CLUTTERING UP MY DISPLAY!
      IN MY ARROGANT OPINION, VW GOT THE NAV SYSTEM RIGHT THE FIRST TIME. [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]
      -------------------------------------
      2004 v8 phaeton with great nav
      and now 2004 v10 tdi toureg

    17. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      03-20-2005 04:39 PM #17
      Well...
      As has been discussed at length before, it works very well for navigation guidance - meaning, when you have a destination active and are proceeding towards it. In this respect, it gets a 10 out of 10.
      It is not well suited to providing situational awareness, meaning, you don't have a destination active, but you are trying to become spatially oriented to the streets and roads around you. In this respect, it scores very poorly because of the lack of street name display.
      Michael

    18. 03-20-2005 06:52 PM #18
      Quote, originally posted by PanEuropean »
      Well...
      As has been discussed at length before, it works very well for navigation guidance - meaning, when you have a destination active and are proceeding towards it. In this respect, it gets a 10 out of 10.
      It is not well suited to providing situational awareness, meaning, you don't have a destination active, but you are trying to become spatially oriented to the streets and roads around you. In this respect, it scores very poorly because of the lack of street name display.
      Michael

      Exactly.
      It is the Situational Awareness that I need most. I would venture to say most others would like to have that feature as well. Especially when you know you're in the area and just need an overview to catch your bearings.
      Regarding the Nav. Guidance, It has always been 100% accurate for me. I just do not have the time to always punch in the directions.
      One way I've learn to cut input time is to input the cities that I visit most. There are about 15 of them. I input the cities and store them without an address. Then when I have an address for that city all I do is look up the city which, is already stored and all I have to do is punch in the street name and number and store.
      The city alone stays stored in the system and I've created a new address which is now stored. Kinda of like doing a Save As on your computer software.
      It just helps me be more efficient in Real Estate when showing property.

    19. 03-20-2005 08:38 PM #19
      Quote, originally posted by PanEuropean »
      Well...
      As has been discussed at length before, it works very well for navigation guidance - meaning, when you have a destination active and are proceeding towards it. In this respect, it gets a 10 out of 10.
      It is not well suited to providing situational awareness, meaning, you don't have a destination active, but you are trying to become spatially oriented to the streets and roads around you. In this respect, it scores very poorly because of the lack of street name display.
      Michael

      Yes, I know this has been discussed before at great length. The general tone of those lengthly discussions is that Phaeton's nav system is a bad product.
      I never considered using my nav system for spatial orientation. I have always used it for getting from known point A to unknown point B. After all, it is called a navigation system, not a city orientation guide.
      If there are better systems that give us the best of both with the same speed or better speed and the screen is not a cluttered mess, then I look forward to an upgrade or another Phaeton in the future with a better system.
      For now I am happy with what I find is a reliable and very useful tool.

    20. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      03-20-2005 09:24 PM #20
      Quote, originally posted by iluvmcr »
      The general tone of those lengthy discussions is that Phaeton's nav system is a bad product.

      Well - I wouldn't say it is a bad product, that would be an ill-informed and a simplistic judgment. If people take the time to study how it works, and they then use it in the manner in which it is intended - meaning, with the guidance display in the instrument cluster active, or the split-screen function on the big central display active, then it is a very good product.
      I think, though, that VW may not have considered how the end users want to use the navigation system. I get the impression, from reading posts here in the forum, that most people want to use it as an aid to situational awareness more often than they want to use it to guide them to a specific destination.
      Since 2001, I have spent most summers riding my motorcycle around Europe, testing aftermarket automotive navigation systems for Garmin. I did the systems analysis and debugging of the motorcycle applications of the Garmin 26xx series of GPSR's. I still do that for Garmin - this summer I will be riding around testing next year's product. Comparing the aftermarket products to the Phaeton nav system, I can see where VW 'missed' an opportunity with the Phaeton nav system (Touareg as well) - that was the opportunity to make the system useful for quick 'single-look' reference, in addition to the capability it currently has as a navigator.
      The big question is whether or not the processor in the Phaeton unit has the 'horsepower' needed to handle dynamic display of street names on the main map. I kind of doubt that it does, which does not bode well for a future software upgrade.
      Michael

    21. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      04-15-2005 12:21 AM #21
      Archival Note: Other related navigation discussions -
      Navigation System - How many CD's?
      Navigation System - Why don't I see street names?
      DVD Nav


      Modified by PanEuropean at 4:08 PM 7-6-2009

    22. 04-15-2005 07:51 AM #22
      I,too, have read all the bad press on the nav system and after driving only Mercedes for 15 years, don't really think it's too bad. In some ways it's better than MB.
      MB nav system doesn't show all the street names either.
      While coming home from the Atlanta airport last Sunday on the I-285 perimeter, traffic came to a halt and I was in a massive traffic jam.
      I pressed "alternate route" on the nav system and up came a screen showing I needed to avoid the next six miles of freeway. It showed me how to get around the mess perfectly.
      I was very impressed how well it did this task since it has taken me on some really strange routes at other times.
      I'm just wondering how it knew that I should have avoided that six mile stretch of interstate.
      Is it sat. info beamed to system or does pressing "alternate route" always take you around six miles of the road you're on?
      I agree that the map itself is pretty lousy ( and not for just leaving off street names- many others don't give you all the street names ). The nav part of the system, though, is OK. It idi it's job when I really needed it and wasn't just testing it.
      Allen

    23. 04-15-2005 09:36 AM #23
      That is a great question. It certainly would be nice in Hotlanta for sure. Did it get downloaded info about immediate traffic problems in order to know how to redirect you? That is a good question. I seem to doubt it but it would be great if it were that intelligent. Next time this happens, let us know if the same thing happens again.

    24. 05-27-2005 05:48 AM #24
      I found that while the headup nav display is active on the display (infront of the driver) and you press the whell on the steering wheel, the voice commands are activated so as a driver you can hear instructions about the next turn without looking down-the voice commands are usually only played by the system when it wants to-this way you can force the instruction on command

    25. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      05-27-2005 10:55 AM #25
      Excellent tip, David, thanks for sharing that one. I did not know you could do that.
      Michael

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •