Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Help with EPC warning light

1. 10-13-2005 07:15 AM #1
      Hi guys, my 1st post here

I'm new to cars so apologies if I come off as a newbie

My car: VW Golf IV 1.6S, year 2000, manual 4dr.

Ok, my EPC warning light is always coming on. It used to come on every now and then but now it seems more permanent. I don't really notice any major differences with the driving, except the gas pedal feels 'less smooth' when it's on (this could be my imagination).

The weird thing is the light will go off when I fill up with petrol and then come on when the tank is nearing empty again. This isn't always the case (sometime I fuel up and EPC stays on ) but it has happened a few times, so not sure if there is a relation.

Can anyone suggest any ideas, or experienced anything similar. I have a fault with the alarm/central locking that I will detail if anyone thinks it's relevant. It sucks cos I just lost my job and I don't have money to get diagnostics test for the time being. Should I stop driving it 'til then?

Thanks for any help.

2. 10-13-2005 08:37 AM #2
      1 - Check your brake lights (brake light switch a known issue)
      2 - if its not brake light switch run a vagcom on it.

3. 10-13-2005 09:10 AM #3
      Hi, thanx for replying.

When I press down on the brakes the lights do come on if this is what u mean by brake light switch.

Unfortuantely, I don't have access to a vagcom and no money to tke the car to a garage.

Before this whole EPC incident, I had an issue where the Exhaust Emission warning light came on (the one with the lightning bolt thru it). The car subsequently gave problems starting.

I took it to the garage and they ran the diagnostics and told me that there were issues with the air filter (i think) and the throttle. He said the throttle was xpensive so they fixed the air filter only and the light has gone since.