Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: ANY COMMON PROBLEMS WITH A 2002 JETTA 1.8T GLS - automatic/tiptronic

1. 12-22-2005 04:49 PM #1
      I'm new to VW and new to the forums. On the virge of purchasing a 2002 Jetta 1.8T but would like to know if there any known issues with this model/yr. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Gonna test drive it on x-mas eve..if its as good as they say, its mine!

12-22-2005 04:53 PM #2
      I'll post. They are good cars, dubs have a lot of issues, but if you don't dog it, it might be ok. As you can see, I have an 04, with a tippy. Its pretty quick, make sure you upgrade the dv.

12-22-2005 04:59 PM #3
      the main problem is that its a tiptronic! seriously though you shouldnt have any problems if you maintain it religiously and dont mod it.

4. 12-22-2005 04:59 PM #4
      Sorry bro, really new to forums and VW, don't know the terminology - whats the dv? What happens to the rims if you're an aggressive driver?

12-22-2005 05:10 PM #5
      Quote, originally posted by 187proof »
      On the virge of purchasing a 2002 Jetta 1.8T but would like to know if there any known issues with this model/yr.

Well, beyond the basic window regulators, coil-pack cracks, and misc accessories fading in and out. What is really a red-flag (in most of the MK4 owners) is the automatic transmission. VW's black-hole is the MK3 & MK4 auto trannys since they have a high failure and service rate.

Believe me, you'll want a 5-speed over the automatic. Yeah, it might be a pain in traffic... But, the automatics have a very high failure and service rate in relatively low mileage trends (only 50K miles or so). If you're planning to by a used VW, make sure it's a manual; it's easier and more cost effective in the long run.

whats the dv?

It's a Diverter Valve. It's the valve that recirculates boost back into the intake tract when you let off the gas pedal.