Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 21 of 21

    Thread: Radon mitigation system; how often should it run, can a timer be used???

    1. Member zuren's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 26th, 2000
      Posts
      1,403
      Vehicles
      2004 VW Passat Wagon 1.8T 5M 4motion
      10-02-2006 12:52 PM #1
      I just bought a house in an area known for high radon, so it has a mitigation system installed. The way it is wired, it's only ON or OFF. Right now, it is running 24 hrs. a day, 7 days a week but I'm wondering if that is completely necessary. I could walk downstairs and flip the switch (if it's a good idea) but I've thought about installing a timer that will turn it on and off........why use the electric if I don't need too??

      Does anyone here have a mitigation system, and if so, does it run constantly or only for intervals?

      Thanks!


    2. Member deadguy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 13th, 2001
      Posts
      19,101
      Vehicles
      originR
      03-03-2008 02:23 PM #2
      I stumbled on this topic because I have the same question...

    3. Member Tornado2dr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 31st, 2001
      Location
      Split Pants, VA
      Posts
      12,158
      03-03-2008 02:36 PM #3
      In case anyone does not know what radon is or where it occurs.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radon


    4. Member jddaigle's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 30th, 2003
      Location
      Denver, CO
      Posts
      5,398
      Vehicles
      2008 Passat Wagon VR6 4motion, 2013 FIAT 500 Sport
      03-03-2008 07:53 PM #4
      Yeah, it needs to run all the time--the system was sized for your house with the assumption that it would always be running to move the air bearing the radon out on a continuous basis. If you turn it off radon will start building up again immediately and your levels will start going up again.
      - Jeff
      B6 Passat 3.6 & 4motion Resource Thread
      Now: 2008 VW Passat 3.6 4motion Wagon, 2013 Fiat 500 Sport
      Then: 1987 Volvo 745GLE, 1989 Volvo 740GL, 1994 Volvo 940T, 1995 Infiniti G20, 2000 VW Passat 1.8T, 2001 VW Jetta Wolfsburg Ed (x2), 2004 VW Golf TDI, 2006 Jetta TDI

    5. Member unimogken's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 19th, 2005
      Location
      South of Jazzydub, WA
      Posts
      5,385
      Vehicles
      6 Tap Kegerator
      03-04-2008 11:02 PM #5
      Dang, from reading that link posted above I would get the biggest fan I could get and run that thing 24/7!
      I really wish everyone would update their location in their profile!

      Someone buy my car already!!

      Always looking for free firewood to feed my hungry wood stove!

    6. Member deadguy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 13th, 2001
      Posts
      19,101
      Vehicles
      originR
      03-05-2008 09:59 AM #6
      I need to try and find a quieter pump then, they installed this one next to the master bedroom and you can always hear this fain rumbling from the motor.

    7. 03-07-2008 03:26 PM #7
      If you change the fan make sure you replace it with one that has the same specs...its been a couple of years since I got out of industry but I believe the two major factors are vacuum and cfm. It all depends on what type of soil conditions you have below the home. Is your fan mounted inside of the home or on the exterior? Also, you should retest after the new fan is installed...actually the EPA recommends you retest every 2 years.




      Modified by VeeDubbin16v at 12:29 PM 3-7-2008


    8. Member deadguy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 13th, 2001
      Posts
      19,101
      Vehicles
      originR
      03-07-2008 03:30 PM #8
      it is mounted exterior...

      and I don't even know why this house has one, because the neighbors don't have one... it's not like radon would be concentrated on my lot only


    9. 03-07-2008 03:33 PM #9
      and to answer the initial question, yes, you need to leave the fan running all the time. Constantly turning it on and off with lead to it breaking prematurely. The purpose of running the fan is not to "suck" the radon out of the home. The purpose of the system is to depressurize the subsoil conditions. Radon is not the only gas that is there...but if you can keep the pressure low enough than the gases will stay out.

    10. 03-07-2008 03:40 PM #10
      If it is mounted on the exterior of the home than it has to be fastened to the side...most likely with a clamp of some sort. You can take some heavy duty foam and stuff it between the clamps and pipe. http://www.dap.com/product_det...d=356

      Radon can be found in one home and not the next...there is no specific pattern.


      Modified by VeeDubbin16v at 12:43 PM 3-7-2008


    11. Global Moderator Dan Halen's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Dougal County
      Posts
      42,791
      Vehicles
      2008 Cayman S, 2006 GLI, 2008 Rabbit
      03-08-2008 07:46 PM #11
      From
      Quote, originally posted by Tornado2dr »
      In case anyone does not know what radon is or where it occurs.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radon

      "An open land test kit can test radon emissions from the land before construction begins."

      Is this something I should be considering? Construction of my house is to start in 30-45 days, and it's not something I've really considered until reading this thread and the wiki.

      Ride In: 2008 Signal Green Cayman S Sport 378/700 .:. 2006 Plat Grey GLI .:. 2008 Sage Green Rabbit
      Ride On: 2010 Trek 2.1 .:. 2011 Fisher Cobia


    12. Member Tornado2dr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 31st, 2001
      Location
      Split Pants, VA
      Posts
      12,158
      03-09-2008 08:00 AM #12
      Quote, originally posted by BRM10984 »
      From


      "An open land test kit can test radon emissions from the land before construction begins."

      Is this something I should be considering? Construction of my house is to start in 30-45 days, and it's not something I've really considered until reading this thread and the wiki.

      I would double check, but I don't remember Tenn. being a hotbed for radon. If the kit is cheap, yeah I would go for it. Either way I would check the area and you local building office to find out what problems, if any, exist.


    13. Member MofoG23's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 22nd, 2004
      Location
      Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts
      852
      Vehicles
      2010 CW 4dr GTI
      03-09-2008 08:59 AM #13
      Quote, originally posted by gintaras »
      it is mounted exterior...

      and I don't even know why this house has one, because the neighbors don't have one... it's not like radon would be concentrated on my lot only


      Have your neighbor's had the test? 90% of the test's occur for a sale....

      2010 VW GTI 4dr CW
      2012 Ford Fusion
      1976 Chevy K20 (SM465/NP205) "Big Red"

    14. 03-09-2008 09:36 AM #14
      Quote, originally posted by BRM10984 »
      From


      "An open land test kit can test radon emissions from the land before construction begins."

      Is this something I should be considering? Construction of my house is to start in 30-45 days, and it's not something I've really considered until reading this thread and the wiki.

      I dont see how this would work considering the fact that there is an average outdoor radon level...you wont know how it will be in the house until the house is built. You could always install a passive radon system. Check out http://www.radonaway.com/


    15. Global Moderator Dan Halen's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Dougal County
      Posts
      42,791
      Vehicles
      2008 Cayman S, 2006 GLI, 2008 Rabbit
      03-09-2008 11:16 AM #15
      Quote, originally posted by VeeDubbin16v »

      I dont see how this would work considering the fact that there is an average outdoor radon level...you wont know how it will be in the house until the house is built. You could always install a passive radon system. Check out http://www.radonaway.com/

      Yeah, it sounded a bit odd to me as well. I hadn't even put any thought into this before I read this thread, so I'll probably just wait until the house is built.

      Ride In: 2008 Signal Green Cayman S Sport 378/700 .:. 2006 Plat Grey GLI .:. 2008 Sage Green Rabbit
      Ride On: 2010 Trek 2.1 .:. 2011 Fisher Cobia


    16. Member mk4vdub's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 14th, 2001
      Location
      Dirty Jerz
      Posts
      1,787
      Vehicles
      01' Jetta & 08 A4 sLine
      03-09-2008 02:52 PM #16
      Quote, originally posted by zuren »
      I just bought a house in an area known for high radon, so it has a mitigation system installed. The way it is wired, it's only ON or OFF. Right now, it is running 24 hrs. a day, 7 days a week but I'm wondering if that is completely necessary. I could walk downstairs and flip the switch (if it's a good idea) but I've thought about installing a timer that will turn it on and off........why use the electric if I don't need too??

      Does anyone here have a mitigation system, and if so, does it run constantly or only for intervals?

      Thanks!


      I have one in my home which I just purchased in Sept. I just had my syetem checked by professionals, they also retested the radon levels. The major thing you want to be sure is that your guage never equals out. One side should always be higher then the other. Avoid debris from falling into the motor. When the previous owners had the roof done so much cramp got into the motor. Just the other day it started making this loud nose as a result of the crap that got in it.


    17. Member deadguy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 13th, 2001
      Posts
      19,101
      Vehicles
      originR
      03-10-2008 10:50 AM #17
      Quote, originally posted by MofoG23 »


      Have your neighbor's had the test? 90% of the test's occur for a sale....

      Good point, I know that the neighbors are original owners.. I am the 3rd owner, and the radon evac was installed when the 2nd owners moved in.


    18. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 28th, 2003
      Location
      BTV
      Posts
      1,802
      Vehicles
      2011 4Dr TDI, 07 CRV, 87 E30 Vert 5spd
      03-10-2008 02:40 PM #18
      Quote, originally posted by gintaras »
      it is mounted exterior...

      and I don't even know why this house has one, because the neighbors don't have one... it's not like radon would be concentrated on my lot only

      Actually radon can be that specific. I learned this from our State Dept of Health when I had our house tested before purchase. It seems weird, but one house can have high levels and the house next door can have very low levels. That is why you should always have a house tested and not relay on, "well the neighbor's house is fine."

      2011 4-DR TDI

    19. 03-10-2008 09:44 PM #19
      Quote, originally posted by VT1.8T »

      Actually radon can be that specific. I learned this from our State Dept of Health when I had our house tested before purchase. It seems weird, but one house can have high levels and the house next door can have very low levels. That is why you should always have a house tested and not relay on, "well the neighbor's house is fine."

      Yep. Glacial deposits can be highly variable in their composition over very short distances.

      Quote Originally Posted by 20aeman View Post
      No, the real enthusiast vehicle would be the RX8. It combines V12 Lamborghini gas mileage with Hyundai Genesis 4cyl. performance.

    20. Member quasil's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 23rd, 2003
      Location
      Maryland
      Posts
      1,915
      Vehicles
      2000 Jetta VR6
      06-27-2008 02:59 PM #20
      It appears the house we may be purchasing has a some high levels but currently has a mitigation tube I suppose for passive venting. The inspector told us that we need to have the fan/evac added to it. I asked him about sealing the concrete in the basement/garage and he said it is not as effective as people are led to believe, but it doesn't hurt.

    21. Moderator Arsigi's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 1st, 2003
      Location
      Weimar Republic, USA
      Posts
      35,124
      Vehicles
      '96 GTI 2.0, '00 Golf 1.8T
      06-30-2008 02:53 PM #21
      Quote, originally posted by gintaras »
      I need to try and find a quieter pump then, they installed this one next to the master bedroom and you can always hear this fain rumbling from the motor.

      My radon fan is in an attic space adjacent to the master bedroom, so I know about the annoying drone! The rigid piping was just lying on the sheetrock underneath, transferring the sound from the fan. I solved my problem by hanging up the fan and piping using a single spring-type hanging vibration isolator, like this:

      Works great! Perhaps you could find something similar to rig up.


      Modified by Arsigi at 11:55 AM 6-30-2008

      Ron a.k.a. Arsigi
      Spokane's Most Posted
      FlügenWeb. Späcecode. TwitZöne. Ass Möde.

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •