Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 5 of 73 FirstFirst 1234567891555 ... LastLast
    Results 101 to 125 of 1817

    Thread: THE OFFICIAL X-FLOW SWAP POST!!!!!!

    1. Member
      Join Date
      May 28th, 2000
      Posts
      4,025
      Vehicles
      96 Jetta GLS, 92 Jetta GL
      10-26-2002 10:07 AM #101
      Wanting some more input on a '97 short block with a Digi head on my '92 Jetta. I don't want the full crossflow. I have heard one good report. Can anyone add more?
      Thanks.

    2. 10-26-2002 09:21 PM #102
      Hey Koni, what did you do? I run1 serp belt too, but its a wierd size. What pullies did you use and what size belt did you use?
      Ive heard only good things about the Hybrid digi/crossflow swap. Great tourque as well as an increase in HP I think Ive seen numbers in the area of 135 or so for HP and the tourque was supposed to be off tha damn chain! and if you use the Rabbit head with the big valves its supposed to be even better. Do it and lemme know what happens!
      P.S. Thanks for the props on the post- [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    3. 10-26-2002 09:22 PM #103
      Hey lets try to post some more pics of finished products, Im very interested in going turbo now so Im lookin for a few helpful pointers! and piping configurations

    4. 10-26-2002 11:17 PM #104
      yea man that was me. i was on my way to bap geon to get my distrubitor bushing. my motor is in but i am waiting on the upper radiator hose to come in. sorry i didnt see your post earlier or i would have dropped you a line. i'll be posting the pics as soon as she's running. i have been working on it for about 20 hours straight
      [Modified by 2b rally golf, 4:18 AM 10-27-2002]

      [Modified by 2b rally golf, 4:18 AM 10-27-2002]


      [Modified by 2b rally golf, 4:19 AM 10-27-2002]

    5. 10-26-2002 11:28 PM #105
      Hey Matt when you get that turbo, maybe you'll be ready for the RED ROCCO. HA HA. Have you gotten the new seats yet.
      Rodney

      HA HA

    6. 10-27-2002 01:48 AM #106
      Well hey, I workat Circuit City roadshop in Newport News, come by tomorrow and hello at a playa, we can go to your crib and check your swap out, I wanna see it!

    7. 10-27-2002 10:27 PM #107
      i have to work tomorrow (mon) but tues if i have off i will stop by your work if your working. the motor is in and ready except for the upper radiator hose which will be in tommorow. in theory everything will work out and the car should start right up but i dont know about reality. we will just have to see what happens. i am not going to post pics until its running

    8. Member IwannaGTI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 12th, 2001
      Location
      Philadelphia, PA
      Posts
      10,553
      10-28-2002 04:46 PM #108
      finished pic ehhh i started in may 2002...ended 2 weeks later...easy swap...but now I am going to go turbo soon....i want more power... I am changing from my 4k to an a3 tranny, a3 cluster. I now need to source the a3 speed sensor, cluster and a3 trans....anyone want a 4k trans??
      pics...only one i have of it in the car.....i will take better ones soon

      anyone know what i need to change in order to get the a3 cluster to work??

    9. 10-29-2002 01:55 AM #109
      Can somebody take some pictures around the head? Im curious about what was done with all those emissions/airflow/vacume tubes. I know it should be stockish, but mine is going to be more frankensteinish...

    10. 11-06-2002 04:40 AM #110

      Anybody want to detail X-flow into A1 chassis troubles?
      - Use of A1 mootor mounts?
      - Use of Alt & P/S brakets?
      - Use of K/S and ECU from non OBD-x?
      - It's a 10:1 compression motor, right?

      TBerk

    11. Senior Member vdubspeed's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 18th, 2002
      Location
      Valdosta, GA
      Posts
      20,918
      Vehicles
      I quit counting.
      11-06-2002 10:33 AM #111
      I have this saved in my notes for A1s. I'm always looking for good x-flow/A1 notes.
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=417855
      Jason
      Built > Bought
      58 Beetle | 79 Rabbit 20vT | 84 GTI TDI |84 GTI 16vT |12 Golf TDI ----89 325i | 99 QCSB Ram Cummins | 02 Burb 4x4 2500

    12. 11-06-2002 12:17 PM #112
      im in the prosess of looking for an engine and the 2L swap is looking to be the choice. but one question I have an 84 scirocco what would I do with the power steering pump....but I want to keep the nice belt

    13. Member 155VERT83's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 1st, 2000
      Location
      Alexandria, VA
      Posts
      6,278
      Vehicles
      '00/Audi/S4 6MT
      11-07-2002 02:09 PM #113
      Anybody have recommendations for trannies (besides the original A3 unit) that match the ABA torque/hp curves? I currently have the stock ACN tranny mated to the tall block.
      Signature blank...

    14. 11-11-2002 01:54 PM #114
      quote:
      finished pic ehhh i started in may 2002...ended 2 weeks later...easy swap...but now I am going to go turbo soon....i want more power... I am changing from my 4k to an a3 tranny, a3 cluster. I now need to source the a3 speed sensor, cluster and a3 trans....anyone want a 4k trans??
      Good move on going with the A3 TRanny Specially since you going boost. I recently had got rid of my AUG for a CHE and what a difference. The longer gearing helps nicely and dosent top out at 105mph
      quote:
      Anybody have recommendations for trannies (besides the original A3 unit) that match the ABA torque/hp curves? I currently have the stock ACN tranny mated to the tall block.
      besides the A3 Tranny i would go with a g60 tranny but that is more work involved. or stick with the ACN. If i am correct the ACN has a sweet 5th gear . I plan on putting in the ACN fifth on my CHE tranny sometime over the winter.
      As for pics this is my setup pre-turbo


    15. 11-15-2002 12:21 AM #115
      would it be that bad to use a 4k tranny.....or is it a pain, i would love to be able to keep the 4k i like the gearing

    16. Member dubweizer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 20th, 2001
      Location
      Johnson City TN
      Posts
      2,433
      Vehicles
      1991 VR6 COUPE
      11-15-2002 02:02 PM #116
      here is my question full a3 conversion dash and all,obd2 with a/c the lower rad hose is gonna be pinched by the comp. what is the fix? is there another rad that will work.because the a/c is staying.really after i went through the trouble of putting the dash and the a3 heater box in the car
      "IF you know more than I do then WHY did you ask me in the first place!"

    17. 11-15-2002 11:03 PM #117
      quote:
      here is my question full a3 conversion dash and all,obd2 with a/c the lower rad hose is gonna be pinched by the comp. what is the fix? is there another rad that will work.because the a/c is staying.really after i went through the trouble of putting the dash and the a3 heater box in the car
      ha ha, clearance IS a problem isn't it? I moved the rad/ac condensor out about an inch on the pass. side and made a bracket for the bottom rad peg. I used a hydro front mount and two washers on top of it that I made to fit, along with a "thinner" M10 1.5 thread pitch nut...that gave me enough clearance for the bottom rad hose....I had to get the high pressure line from condensor to compressot lengthened as well...convert to 134a (I used a G60 compressor) and I have been cool ever since....

    18. 11-17-2002 08:35 PM #118
      When you do a crossflow swap, does it matter what coil you use? I didnt get the one off the donar car, so I just have my digifant coil and a MSD blaster 3 and 6a. Will either of these work?
      ALso, I have a OBDII motor, but an OBDI wiring harness/ECU that I am going to use. MSD says you cant use their 6A ignition with a post 95 car (OBDII, basically) ANybody know why you cant use a 6A with a OBDII car? Because if its ECU/wiring related than I should be able to run it just fine...but if its something else...

    19. 11-17-2002 10:21 PM #119
      anyone know what would happen if i used a 4k tranny with a x- flow engine, if at all possible i would love to keep it

    20. 11-18-2002 11:52 AM #120
      4k tranny is fine, any 020 transmission is fine. 16v requires 16v clutch disc, 8v requires 8v clutch disc. IWANNAGTI has a 4k w/ .75 5th and a Peloquin kit..runs fine...tight gears....good for all motor...bad for boost...

    21. 11-18-2002 05:04 PM #121
      Im runnin an AUG right now....
      Its perfict for na with the 5th swaped to be longer.

    22. Banned
      Join Date
      Mar 24th, 2000
      Posts
      5,262
      11-18-2002 06:42 PM #122
      wish i wasnt blind or i would have posted in here first but
      can i use the digi1 setup on an aba swap into a rabbit, also the car its going into was carbed in addition to the digi1 setup, and the actual motor itself what else will i need to make this work i.e. aditional harnesses or parts of the fuel system. The reason i ask about the digi1 is because i am looking to turbo in the furture after i get the car up and running. and when getting digi! what all should i make sure i get?
      Thanks

    23. 11-20-2002 08:46 AM #123
      Excellent post BTW...
      Here's mine...

      After the paint job...


      1990 Corrado with a 1999 ABA. Upside down throttle body, etc blah blah blah.
      BTW: I'm using an A2 Power steering pump and bracket. It has AC but it doesn't work. For those interested you'll need a G60 compressor.


      [Modified by vw mofo, 8:47 AM 11-20-2002]

    24. Member dubweizer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 20th, 2001
      Location
      Johnson City TN
      Posts
      2,433
      Vehicles
      1991 VR6 COUPE
      11-20-2002 10:19 AM #124
      just want to say this is an awsome thread for all interested in this swap.i just finished mine,but i went the extra mile and did the dash swap and all the junk that goes along with that.i think maybe we should post some info on here for people who want to do that as well.i know there are probably easier ways to do it than i did,but my car is all a3 from headlight to tail light i used the heater box kneebar pedals and colum. and it all looks stock so if anybody would like info or if you have a better way let me know.i also have air and cruise.
      98 od2 swap
      BTW if doing this swap and using the dash and all the harness i do not reccommed using the stuff or a donor car that is a cabrio that is where mine was from and there is alot more crap to sort through due to the top and all that.just my 2 cents
      "IF you know more than I do then WHY did you ask me in the first place!"

    25. Senior Member vdubspeed's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 18th, 2002
      Location
      Valdosta, GA
      Posts
      20,918
      Vehicles
      I quit counting.
      11-20-2002 10:34 AM #125
      vw mofo-
      I'm not hating at all but why did you swap in an X-flow into your corrado. You already had EFI and could have used your digi1 for a turbo or something.
      In any case, it's the FIRST Corrado I've seen with an ABA. Congrats...
      Jason
      Built > Bought
      58 Beetle | 79 Rabbit 20vT | 84 GTI TDI |84 GTI 16vT |12 Golf TDI ----89 325i | 99 QCSB Ram Cummins | 02 Burb 4x4 2500

    Page 5 of 73 FirstFirst 1234567891555 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •