Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 70 of 73 FirstFirst ... 20606667686970717273 LastLast
    Results 1,726 to 1,750 of 1817

    Thread: THE OFFICIAL X-FLOW SWAP POST!!!!!!

    1. Member FLYGTI216's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 19th, 2003
      Location
      Cleveland my Friend
      Posts
      484
      Vehicles
      03 GLI VR6, 1985 GTI chump car racer!!
      09-20-2011 08:28 PM #1726
      I figured it out. VR6 water pump pulley. With a 41 inch belt!!! DUH he he

    2. Member FLYGTI216's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 19th, 2003
      Location
      Cleveland my Friend
      Posts
      484
      Vehicles
      03 GLI VR6, 1985 GTI chump car racer!!
      09-30-2011 02:39 AM #1727
      with the chump car event a week away the motor is ready to drop, just waiting on TT for the cam. WOOOT

    3. Member ShotgunFacelift's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Houston, TX 77019
      Posts
      4,746
      Vehicles
      92 GTI ABA (sold), 09 Passat 2.0T, 91 535i/5
      11-04-2011 03:33 AM #1728
      Ok, I attempted to read through the entire thread but it's a bit overwhelming and there is a bunch of different info for different setups. So, here I am asking about my specific situation.

      I have a '92 GTI, Digi2 8v, no power options, no MFA, ps, a/c. I'm swapping a '98 OBD2 ABA, only using the OBD2 engine harness, keeping Mk2 trans. What is the simplest way for me to go about wiring this up? I should have the VSS but not sure. Will I even need it with an MFA cluster? Also, will my PS lines and A/C lines hook up to the Mk3 accessories? A quick walkthrough would really do wonders for me right now. The motor is showing up in a day or so and I need to have this running by Monday...

      Thanks in advance, fellas
      Last edited by ShotgunFacelift; 11-04-2011 at 03:35 AM.

    4. Member TheArtfulDubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 18th, 2004
      Location
      Brawltimore, Murderland
      Posts
      1,717
      Vehicles
      '90 Golf GL ABA-T, '03 Dakota, '07 Ducati Monster
      11-04-2011 11:33 AM #1729
      You SHOULD have a cable speedo, not a VSS sender so in theory you should need to add the Hall generator (part #321-907-345-B) on the back of your cluster. The wiring tag should be there, just a matter of attaching the board to the generator then the signal will be available at W1. If you buy an MFA cluster it will already have the generator, but you won't be able to use the MFA functions without adding the stalks, sensors, and the correct wiring. The write-up on adding it is here: http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...-your-aba-swap

    5. Member ShotgunFacelift's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Houston, TX 77019
      Posts
      4,746
      Vehicles
      92 GTI ABA (sold), 09 Passat 2.0T, 91 535i/5
      11-05-2011 04:03 AM #1730
      Thanks for the input. Currently I have all electrical disconnected and have the motor almost ready to come out. I just have to deal with the exhaust, unbolt the shift linkage, pull PS lines, remove the mounts and pull the motor. The front bumper is still on as the last bolt I got to was completely rounded off (assuming by PO). I tried to start pulling wires but I'm not sure if I'm going to get the lighting harness or not. :\

    6. Member ShotgunFacelift's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Houston, TX 77019
      Posts
      4,746
      Vehicles
      92 GTI ABA (sold), 09 Passat 2.0T, 91 535i/5
      11-05-2011 11:32 AM #1731
      Ok, so the everything is here. Well, almost...

      I'm starting to feel like I'm getting in over my head here. I need a Mk3 wiring diagram and about 5 friends. The old motor still isn't out, the front bumper is stuck on the car, the new motor needs more than I thought I would (serp belt, oil, filter, other sh!t). Need to grab a thermoswitch from the junkyard. Looks like another case of seems easier than it is...

      What do I do about the FCM? Bypass it? Hide it somewhere else? Any tips on pulling the wiring harness? I'm leaving the lighting but I need the Mk3 wiring for the fans so that should be fun (they're in the same loom as lighting).

    7. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 31st, 2007
      Location
      Far from anywhere worth noting, VA
      Posts
      7,686
      Vehicles
      Le Bomber.
      11-05-2011 04:55 PM #1732
      Quote Originally Posted by ShotgunFacelift View Post
      Ok, so the everything is here. Well, almost...

      I'm starting to feel like I'm getting in over my head here. I need a Mk3 wiring diagram and about 5 friends. The old motor still isn't out, the front bumper is stuck on the car, the new motor needs more than I thought I would (serp belt, oil, filter, other sh!t). Need to grab a thermoswitch from the junkyard. Looks like another case of seems easier than it is...

      What do I do about the FCM? Bypass it? Hide it somewhere else? Any tips on pulling the wiring harness? I'm leaving the lighting but I need the Mk3 wiring for the fans so that should be fun (they're in the same loom as lighting).
      Best way to handle the FCM is run a2 lights and radiator controls...
      Fifteen52's Official Facebook Page!

      Quote Originally Posted by rpmk4 View Post
      tl;dr = bitches be crazy
      If I have a post on here that has a dead pic PM me, I selfishly reorganized my photobucket in boredom.

    8. Member ShotgunFacelift's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Houston, TX 77019
      Posts
      4,746
      Vehicles
      92 GTI ABA (sold), 09 Passat 2.0T, 91 535i/5
      11-05-2011 08:23 PM #1733
      Quote Originally Posted by ennui_delphian View Post
      Best way to handle the FCM is run a2 lights and radiator controls...
      The only issue with that is the connector for my Mk2 rad controls were brittle and fell apart when taking them off. I may be able to figure something out I suppose. Still looking for an OBD2 wiring diagram. I'd rather not buy a Mk3 Bentley just to do the wiring.

      *EDIT: found one online. So could you guys recommend the easiest way to go about dealing with all this wiring. I f*cking HATE automotive wiring. It just looks so daunting that it is disheartening and demotivating...
      Last edited by ShotgunFacelift; 11-06-2011 at 01:59 AM.

    9. Member ShotgunFacelift's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Houston, TX 77019
      Posts
      4,746
      Vehicles
      92 GTI ABA (sold), 09 Passat 2.0T, 91 535i/5
      11-06-2011 01:28 PM #1734
      Have almost the whole engine harness out, but there are 2 wires going into the fuse box area. Any thoughts as to what they are/what they go to? I'm working without a Bentley (I know, I know) and just trying to pull the engine harness while leaving the lighting. Also, how did you guys go about wiring up the ABA with an OBD2 harness? Where did you put your ECU and FCM?

      Sorry for the 20 questions, I'm pretty much working blind here...

    10. Member ShotgunFacelift's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Houston, TX 77019
      Posts
      4,746
      Vehicles
      92 GTI ABA (sold), 09 Passat 2.0T, 91 535i/5
      11-15-2011 09:57 PM #1735
      Disregard my last post. Here is where I'm at (cross-post from other ABA swap thread):

      Super-specific question here...


      OBD2 ABA going into CE2 Mk2. I'm keeping the lighting harness but replacing the engine harness and fan wiring (Mk3 thermoswitch on Mk2 radiator and fans) with Mk3 wiring. No A/C whatsoever. I'm in the process of pulling out the wiring harness from the engine bay and have the whole harness to the ECU taken out. Which wires going to the fuse box need to come out and do the Mk3 plugs just go in the same locations? What (if anything ) needs to be jumped? I'm just trying to get the bare minimum to get the car running. I have a Mk2 Bentley at my disposal but no Mk3

      Any help is appreciated.

    11. Member getfocked's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 6th, 2007
      Location
      manchester CT
      Posts
      360
      Vehicles
      MK2 scirocco, 2.0 golf cart
      11-25-2011 09:55 AM #1736
      Hey I have a mk1 with a aba do I really need the fuel accumulator ? is anyone else running it ? I know my mk3 doesn't have one

    12. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 5th, 2010
      Location
      New Hampshire
      Posts
      811
      Vehicles
      I think I own a German car. Maybe!
      11-26-2011 12:14 AM #1737
      Just so people know, there is absolutely no need to rewire your cars when doing this swap. All you have to do is rework the Fuel Injector Harness(20 mins) and you are all set. Change your distributor window(20 mins) and i will fire up. If you want to run ISV just plumb it into the intake and call it good. There are way too many people changing wiring. This swap is the easiest swap ever(not ****ting on people with questions, seriously) and there is no need to complicate it. Its all plug and play. The swap should take an experienced guy 5 to 6 hours if they have removed an engine in a MK2 before. Anyone needs info on how to wire OBD1 ABAin MK2 PM me!

    13. Member B4S's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 16th, 2003
      Location
      Marionville, Ontario, Canada
      Posts
      8,345
      Vehicles
      2002 Forester S, 1987 GTI 16v
      11-28-2011 09:17 AM #1738
      This isn't a thread about ABA swapping with stock Mk2 wiring though . It's about how to swap an ABA into anything.

      Digi-2 is acceptible, but for the most part, the wiring is brittle, old, and none of the connectors were weather-sealed...so any not in a permanently-snow-free climate are going to be less than perfect.

      Me personally, I would (and am going to) run the ABA OBD1 wiring. It's a 4-wire job (two switched 12v, one 12v constant, and the three grounds on the front of the block), so it's simple to do. I'm swapping it into a Mk1, so no CE2 to make it plug and play...but 4 wires aren't really that hard to work with .
      1987 GTI 16v, no build thread.

    14. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 5th, 2010
      Location
      New Hampshire
      Posts
      811
      Vehicles
      I think I own a German car. Maybe!
      11-28-2011 06:03 PM #1739
      Ya I hear ya but 90% of the people in this forum swap into MK2. I agree it is just as easy to swap wiring but for people who havent done a swap B4 I would say keep it simple until you get ur skills up to swap a harness out.

    15. Member ShotgunFacelift's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Houston, TX 77019
      Posts
      4,746
      Vehicles
      92 GTI ABA (sold), 09 Passat 2.0T, 91 535i/5
      12-02-2011 12:25 PM #1740
      I could REALLY use some help here...

      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...on-wiring-help!!

    16. Member TheArtfulDubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 18th, 2004
      Location
      Brawltimore, Murderland
      Posts
      1,717
      Vehicles
      '90 Golf GL ABA-T, '03 Dakota, '07 Ducati Monster
      01-04-2012 03:35 PM #1741


      The black/yellow wire in the section marked #2 - where are most people getting switched ignition power for that wire?

    17. Semi-n00b
      Join Date
      Feb 17th, 2012
      Location
      York Pa
      Posts
      16
      Vehicles
      86 vw golf
      02-18-2012 12:52 PM #1742
      i have a 86 golf that im doing a 2.0 swap form a 97 jetta and i need to know how to wire it up with the extra fuse box????? i got the old engine pulled in about 3hrs and got the new one in with no problem. just looking for a friend to help out on this one

    18. Member iamdurkee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 5th, 2007
      Location
      Daytona Beach, Florida
      Posts
      747
      Vehicles
      97 golf.
      08-22-2012 06:30 PM #1743


      Can anyone tell me what the three of these are?

      I trimmed my harness back but can't figure out what these three go to.

    19. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,764
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      08-22-2012 06:45 PM #1744
      Blue is speed input to ecu. Connect to w1. Brown is obd port. Green is ac

    20. Member iamdurkee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 5th, 2007
      Location
      Daytona Beach, Florida
      Posts
      747
      Vehicles
      97 golf.
      08-22-2012 11:48 PM #1745
      Funny part to that is that after going through this thread and seeing responses i almost pm'ed you to ask you personally.

      Thank you.

    21. Member iamdurkee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 5th, 2007
      Location
      Daytona Beach, Florida
      Posts
      747
      Vehicles
      97 golf.
      08-23-2012 12:01 AM #1746
      On the blue connector to w1. Does that still get done if its a speedo cable and mk2 cluster? Also I wanted to ask you about the ghost "rev limiter at 4500-5500" what is supposed to be bypassed?

    22. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,764
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      08-23-2012 01:13 AM #1747
      This happens because the ecu does not see vehicle speed. That wire needs to see vehicle speed. W1 is an output from the electronic speedometer of mk3. If you use mk2 cluster you need to find other way. Ive heard something about mfa cluster or possibly a chip

    23. Member CodeMan's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 12th, 2006
      Location
      Denverish
      Posts
      7,841
      Vehicles
      Scirocco 16v, E34 540i
      08-23-2012 11:54 AM #1748
      Bonesaw, or anyone else for that matter, do you have any insight on this? I posted it in the mk2 forum to no avail.

      Quote Originally Posted by CodeMan View Post
      I haven't had any issues with the VSS since my swap 3 years ago, it's an OBD1 engine with the stock AUG trans and Mk2 cluster. The cluster's hall sender is wired right to the ECU. It goes right up to redline at reasonable speeds.

      However, I found myself out in the middle of nowhere last week and thought it the perfect opportunity for a top speed run. I was disappointed when the ECU killed the fun at 108 mph / 5400 RPM, with 1000 RPM to go. Is this expected behavior, or do I have something hooked up incorrectly?
      The blues ain't nothin' but a good man feelin' bad.

      Tschüß Gilda, Hallo Birgit

    24. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,764
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      08-23-2012 01:04 PM #1749
      Ecu is not seeing vehicle speed

    25. Member CodeMan's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 12th, 2006
      Location
      Denverish
      Posts
      7,841
      Vehicles
      Scirocco 16v, E34 540i
      08-23-2012 03:02 PM #1750
      Quote Originally Posted by bonesaw View Post
      Ecu is not seeing vehicle speed
      I thought that would cause a premature fuel cut in every gear, not just 5th. I will double check the wiring nonetheless. Thanks.
      The blues ain't nothin' but a good man feelin' bad.

      Tschüß Gilda, Hallo Birgit

    Page 70 of 73 FirstFirst ... 20606667686970717273 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •