Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 41 of 73 FirstFirst ... 3137383940414243444551 ... LastLast
    Results 1,001 to 1,025 of 1817

    Thread: THE OFFICIAL X-FLOW SWAP POST!!!!!!

    1. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,765
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      10-27-2007 09:29 PM #1001
      i wouldnt call it going nuts if its ever happened to you. my advice is to just get a new gear, especially when you do a rebuild.

    2. 10-27-2007 10:24 PM #1002
      agreed man. I've seen it about 5 times in the past 3 months at the shop.

    3. Member _muppet_'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2004
      Location
      Clarion, PA
      Posts
      2,928
      10-28-2007 02:24 AM #1003
      I will check that out. I am not too familiar with the 02a so it is a bit harder for me to check the timing. Is the mark on the flywheel or the pressure plate? I can't find it in the sight hole. It really does sound timing related though so this may be my issue.

    4. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,765
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      10-28-2007 01:27 PM #1004
      its kinda weird to check timing with the flywheel, there is usually a notch on the crank pulley but generally the best way is screwdriver in cyl 1. find TDC. then mark flywheel with whiteout for next time. Use the notch for the cam, and make sure the dizzy is set to pointing at cyl1.

    5. Member _muppet_'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2004
      Location
      Clarion, PA
      Posts
      2,928
      10-28-2007 06:25 PM #1005
      I feel dumb, and happy at the same time. It is running, I had the plug wires in the right order, but not on the right plugs they were all one space too far clockwise. But she is running, I have my new c2 #42 software ordered, I think the lights are going to be a bit of a headache, I want to use the mkIII lighting harness. Then a bit of cleaning up, get the front end back on and she should be good to go.
      One more quick question, when you use the ac delete pulley on the water pump, is it still ok to have the v-belt on as well? Or will it burn up? I want to keep the power steering, I think I may need a shorter V-belt between the power steering pump and the crank pulley.

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,765
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      10-28-2007 07:00 PM #1006
      you can do the V belt either way, i generally use a shorter belt from crank to PS.
      as for the headlights, the mk3 everything will plug in as long as its not GTI dual chambers. if you have H4 you will need to change headlight connectors. banana, fogs, blinkers plug right in.

    7. Member _muppet_'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2004
      Location
      Clarion, PA
      Posts
      2,928
      10-28-2007 08:30 PM #1007
      I have the inpro dual chamber halos, and a headlight harness from a jetta gt with fogs, with no adaptors, so it might be kind of a pain.
      Any idea where to get the v-belt? I am not sure on the length.


      Modified by _muppet_ at 1:33 AM 10-29-2007

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,765
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      10-28-2007 09:33 PM #1008
      i think the dayco number is 15270. i have a 10x695 belt on the car and it is a little too long.

    9. Member abuthemagician's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 25th, 2002
      Location
      Maine
      Posts
      704
      Vehicles
      96 Passat VR6, 01.5 Passat V6 Wagon
      11-11-2007 03:48 PM #1009
      So I am swapping a 94 ODB1 into my 91 GTI and have some questions:
      I am using the following out of the 94:
      Rear Beam
      Gas Tank
      Fuel Pump (no more external pump)
      Engine and Headlight wiring harnesses
      Radiator Fan shroud
      K frame with PS
      Not using AC
      I am now down to wiring and have some questions:
      1. Do I need to run a different harness to the in tank fuel pump
      2. I have the following wires left over:
      Single wire connector - Black with white stripe (pin 64 on computer)
      Two wire connector - Grey with white stripe (pin 45 on CPU) and solid yellow (pin 21 on CPU)
      Single Wire Connector - Black with Yellow strpie (pin 4 on a 4 pin harness in engine bay)
      Two wire connector - Green w/ white stripe and solid green with solid yellow sliced together (green w/ white stripe goes to vacuum related thing near firewall in engine bay)
      3. Can I use a 16v Pressure Plate with the 2.0 and an A3 trans?
      also is there anything else i will need to do to make sure i will have no probs starting it? thanks in advance.

    10. 11-11-2007 05:31 PM #1010
      I don't understand why or how you plan on just running a transfer pump. It doesn't put out enough pressure.
      Mk2's came with in tank pumps from the factory, and are no different than mk3's

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,765
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      11-11-2007 06:48 PM #1011
      he clearly stated he is gonna use a mk3 tank. he will use just the mk3 tank/pump/lines/filter.
      you will need to wire up the new connector. it is pretty self explanitory.
      the two wire connector is for the obd port. the black w/ yellow stripe needs constant power. the green wire connectors is for AC.
      not sure on black with white stripe, i can check later.
      you can use the 16v PP as long as you use matching flywheel. and big spline clutch disc

    12. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 1st, 2007
      Location
      south carolina, for now
      Posts
      2,659
      Vehicles
      2000 audi s4 1988 e30 monstarrr
      11-11-2007 10:07 PM #1012
      Okay, I'm lazy and short on time TODAY..... but unfortunately I'm also as impatient as I am curious.
      I have a 89 CE2 Shell with a 16v harness in it
      Goals are to have an ABA16vT in it
      I want to use the Rado G60 Dash n Cluster I have, and would like it to be functional
      What all do I need?
      Someone, anyone, everone....
      make me a list so I can just get this shizz started
      There is a sore lack of respect for VeeDub in SC, and I'm bout to change that

      Side note, everything that is supposed to sit infront of the motor is MISSING as in non-existant
      Thanks in Advance

    13. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,765
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      11-12-2007 05:21 PM #1013
      ask questions and people will answer. not what do i have to do. every single thing you wanted to know can be found on this forum.

    14. Member abuthemagician's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 25th, 2002
      Location
      Maine
      Posts
      704
      Vehicles
      96 Passat VR6, 01.5 Passat V6 Wagon
      11-13-2007 09:02 AM #1014
      Thanks for the help. According to http://www.selenengineering.com/xECUPinouts.aspx the only black with white stripe goes to the Idle Air Control Valve. However that still doesn't really help me.
      Quote, originally posted by bonesaw »
      he clearly stated he is gonna use a mk3 tank. he will use just the mk3 tank/pump/lines/filter.
      you will need to wire up the new connector. it is pretty self explanitory.
      the two wire connector is for the obd port. the black w/ yellow stripe needs constant power. the green wire connectors is for AC.
      not sure on black with white stripe, i can check later.
      you can use the 16v PP as long as you use matching flywheel. and big spline clutch disc

    15. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 1st, 2007
      Location
      south carolina, for now
      Posts
      2,659
      Vehicles
      2000 audi s4 1988 e30 monstarrr
      11-13-2007 11:01 AM #1015
      Quote, originally posted by bonesaw »
      ask questions and people will answer. not what do i have to do. every single thing you wanted to know can be found on this forum.

      I asked for a parts list, not step by step directions, you have PM reguarding your comment.
      Can someone please list the parts since apparently it has changed several times since the Original Post
      Has there been a cheaper and easier solution found to the whole pulley system? Bahn Brenner is a bit on the crazy side with their prices, and changing cranks causing the need to machine stuff is a bit beyond what I had in mind FOR NOW.
      Thanks in advance for anyone willing to help


      Modified by GermanRob at 8:11 AM 11-13-2007

    16. Member _muppet_'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2004
      Location
      Clarion, PA
      Posts
      2,928
      11-13-2007 01:05 PM #1016
      There is an aba 16v sticky with a parts list at the top of this forum.
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=1535079

    17. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 1st, 2007
      Location
      south carolina, for now
      Posts
      2,659
      Vehicles
      2000 audi s4 1988 e30 monstarrr
      11-13-2007 01:11 PM #1017
      yeh, I'm reading that one too....
      guess it would've made more sense to post in both eh?
      Lemmie go fix that
      quick edit for a quote from bonesaw:

      if the car is ce2, get a mk3 instrument cluster harness. plug the cluster in. everything should work. depending on what you did with the engine harness there should be a plug for the VSS that will have to be reinstalled. gas gauge may not be as accurate. I beleive you can mail it out to reset the mileage.
      One down several to go.... thanks dude



      Modified by GermanRob at 10:57 AM 11-13-2007

    18. Member Motorwerks's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 6th, 2002
      Location
      Roseville, CA
      Posts
      5,258
      Vehicles
      07 F150
      11-13-2007 02:29 PM #1018
      Im sure its in here some place BUT do I need the Gauges for an OBD2 swap? I want to swap this into a 91 Passat.
      Maybe we should chug on over to mamby pamby land where maybe we can find some self confidence for you, you jack wagon!- R. Lee Ermey

    19. Member The Hater's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 23rd, 2003
      Location
      Dirrrrty Dirrrrty Jersey
      Posts
      3,971
      11-14-2007 02:53 PM #1019
      Quote, originally posted by GermanRob »
      quick edit for a quote from bonesaw:

      if the car is ce2, get a mk3 instrument cluster harness. plug the cluster in. everything should work. depending on what you did with the engine harness there should be a plug for the VSS that will have to be reinstalled. gas gauge may not be as accurate. I beleive you can mail it out to reset the mileage.
      One down several to go.... thanks dude


      Modified by GermanRob at 10:57 AM 11-13-2007

      i dont get it?
      Does anyone know who bought the FK 5x100 25mm spacers off of me at Spring Show and Go? I found the hardware, please have him contact me!!!!

    20. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2003
      Location
      Bay Area CA
      Posts
      2,286
      Vehicles
      1985 ABA MK2 Golf
      11-16-2007 09:07 PM #1020
      Zing!
      Finally got my ABA in today! i gotta get a few small parts and then finish up some wiring and I'll be good to go..


    21. Member _muppet_'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2004
      Location
      Clarion, PA
      Posts
      2,928
      11-16-2007 11:17 PM #1021
      Quick question for the rado guys, when using the 02a with the mkIII cluster what VSS do you need? Will a VR6 sensor work? I have the cluster with the correct mileage for the motor and would like to run it. The g60 uses a cable.

    22. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2003
      Location
      Bay Area CA
      Posts
      2,286
      Vehicles
      1985 ABA MK2 Golf
      11-16-2007 11:41 PM #1022
      I'd just play it safe and get an Mk3 aba VSS

    23. Member _muppet_'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2004
      Location
      Clarion, PA
      Posts
      2,928
      11-17-2007 12:35 AM #1023
      I have one, but it doesn't fit the 02a. At least I don't see how it does, if it does.

    24. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,765
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      11-18-2007 11:04 AM #1024
      any 02a VSS

    25. Member _muppet_'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2004
      Location
      Clarion, PA
      Posts
      2,928
      11-18-2007 01:19 PM #1025
      Awesome, you are a wealth of knowledge. [IMG]http://**********************/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    Page 41 of 73 FirstFirst ... 3137383940414243444551 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •