Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 49 of 52 FirstFirst ... 394546474849505152 LastLast
    Results 1,681 to 1,715 of 1810

    Thread: THE OFFICIAL X-FLOW SWAP POST!!!!!!

    1. Member ChunkyPeanuts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 2nd, 2010
      Location
      Marlboro MA
      Posts
      2,834
      Vehicles
      FSI GTI / B7 2.5 /MK4 VR
      11-20-2010 04:05 PM #1681
      wow im retarded i jumped the seatbelt harness and it runs. thank you so much guys

    2. Member T-redmk2ABA's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 9th, 2009
      Location
      .....here and there
      Posts
      1,300
      Vehicles
      90 GLi wolfsberg ABA
      11-28-2010 12:15 AM #1682
      So I'm doing obd2 were do all the stupid single wire conetioncs go that don't to into the fuse box or do I need them ( 92 gti ) ? Also is it better to swap in the headlight harness aswel. Is the car not going to start because not havung a seat belt harness or a clutch pedal harness
      if you can't find mk2 parts PM me I can find whatever you need
      I also make custom parts like grilles PM me with what you would want ie integrated aftermarket fogs and such like that

    3. Member T-redmk2ABA's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 9th, 2009
      Location
      .....here and there
      Posts
      1,300
      Vehicles
      90 GLi wolfsberg ABA
      11-29-2010 08:25 PM #1683
      ok i need help with these plugs, only ones left took care of seat belt inter lock, is it only in drivers door?, took care of everything else but these, also how do i jump D8 to E2 when tere arent any plugs in them?

      help me please

      picture A

      both of these want the same port, the mk3 is on the left and mk2 has the think red wires in it, they go to the rad

      picture B

      were do these two wires on my finger go (there cut) its in L , there is a wire same color on a relay with a 53 on it (stock mk2) that has think red wires that go to the plug in picture a

      picture C

      idk mk2

      picture D

      comes off L ,mk2

      picture E

      comes off J mk2

      picture F

      mk3 harness what is this for were does the little black wire go and the red/yellow

      picture G

      what is this mk3 harness

      picture H

      mk3 cluster harness were do these go
      if you can't find mk2 parts PM me I can find whatever you need
      I also make custom parts like grilles PM me with what you would want ie integrated aftermarket fogs and such like that

    4. Member JWelty's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 7th, 2003
      Location
      Tampa, FL
      Posts
      3,242
      Vehicles
      2006 MkV GTi
      11-30-2010 12:06 AM #1684
      Quote Originally Posted by laurent345 View Post
      When I'm driving and I want to stop, I depress the clutch but sometimes the revs drop too low and the engine stalls. Take note that I didn't have an O2 sensor for that little drive. Also, no EGR but both holes are plugged. Maybe the ECU is giving too much fuel and floods the engine.
      did you ever get this figured out>? i just picked up a mk2 xflow obd1 and its having the same issue stalling out when pushing the clutch in sometimes. let me know!
      UroTuning - OEM and Performance Parts Store - www.urotuning.com

      FixxFest #10 - Nov. 23rd, 2013 - THE Biggest EURO event in Florida - www.fixxfest.com

    5. Member T-redmk2ABA's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 9th, 2009
      Location
      .....here and there
      Posts
      1,300
      Vehicles
      90 GLi wolfsberg ABA
      12-01-2010 09:13 AM #1685
      Someone help with my earlyer post
      if you can't find mk2 parts PM me I can find whatever you need
      I also make custom parts like grilles PM me with what you would want ie integrated aftermarket fogs and such like that

    6. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2010
      Location
      ct
      Posts
      91
      Vehicles
      71 SQ 84 Rocco 87 Jetta 88 K10 92 Cabbie 91 Jetta rip 84 944 rip 02 Passat rip
      12-05-2010 08:32 PM #1686
      can some one explane this to me like im a 3 year old pictures would help my tach wont work what wire off the coil do i need and i dont have maf functions on my guage cluster any help would be great
      1991 Jetta Calypso Green Carat

    7. Member Rocambolesque's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 18th, 2010
      Location
      MTL, QC
      Posts
      857
      Vehicles
      nine-deuce w/ trunk 'n' 2 litah
      12-11-2010 10:06 PM #1687
      for your tach, you need to run a wire from the coil's negative terminal. Its under that little plastic cap. Its the lower one. You run it to the tach's pin on the fusebox. I don't remember which one it is.

      Now I have a question. When using the new style coil, how do you attach the wire? These is no studs and nuts like the old coil. I thought about soldering a piece of wire with a connector on the terminal and connecting the wire to that.

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 31st, 2007
      Location
      Far from anywhere worth noting, VA
      Posts
      7,670
      Vehicles
      Le Bomber.
      12-14-2010 06:23 AM #1688
      I would solder it and call it done.
      Fifteen52's Official Facebook Page!

      Quote Originally Posted by rpmk4 View Post
      tl;dr = bitches be crazy
      If I have a post on here that has a dead pic PM me, I selfishly reorganized my photobucket in boredom.

    9. Member regendub's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 22nd, 2009
      Location
      Taco Ma Wa
      Posts
      803
      Vehicles
      86 GLI, 66 Bug, 65 bug, 94 GLS
      12-14-2010 10:46 AM #1689
      Quote Originally Posted by Rocambolesque View Post
      for your tach, you need to run a wire from the coil's negative terminal. Its under that little plastic cap. Its the lower one. You run it to the tach's pin on the fusebox. I don't remember which one it is.

      Just out of curiosity, why do you have to run it to the coil's negative terminal? Why cant I just ground it out under the dash? Wouldn't that be doing the same thing?
      Need to know about your a2? Click Here

      Build Thread: Check It

      Quote Originally Posted by ennui_delphian View Post
      I set my mk2 on fire weekly, just to remind it who is boss

    10. Member vwpat's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2000
      Location
      ATL
      Posts
      6,467
      12-14-2010 11:06 AM #1690
      no, the coils negative "pulse" is what triggers the tach.

    11. Member regendub's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 22nd, 2009
      Location
      Taco Ma Wa
      Posts
      803
      Vehicles
      86 GLI, 66 Bug, 65 bug, 94 GLS
      12-14-2010 04:20 PM #1691
      ah, ok. Thanks for cleaning that up for me.
      Need to know about your a2? Click Here

      Build Thread: Check It

      Quote Originally Posted by ennui_delphian View Post
      I set my mk2 on fire weekly, just to remind it who is boss

    12. Member simon-says's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 20th, 2007
      Location
      Portland,Oregon
      Posts
      1,973
      Vehicles
      1978 Miami Blue 16v Rabbit on side drafts, 1980 Jetta Coupe,1988 Vanagon Wolfs., 2003 TDI Golf, and,
      01-15-2011 06:49 PM #1692
      It gets hot here sometimes, and I like AC. And out of all you douches, not one has shown an AC install. In this saying, SHOW ME ONE! I for one will be doing an AC/ Power steering install.


      SHOW ME ONE.
      VW&AUDI Performance Maintenance Repair.
      http://doublejmotorwerks.com/
      Northwest Premiere UnitedMotorsport Software Dealer
      APR Dealer. TDTuning Dealer. VAG-COM.

    13. Member CodeMan's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 12th, 2006
      Location
      Denverish
      Posts
      7,633
      Vehicles
      Scirocco 16v, A2 ABA, '03 Tyke Hauler GLS, E34 540i
      01-16-2011 12:20 PM #1693
      The blues ain't nothin' but a good man feelin' bad.

    14. Member simon-says's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 20th, 2007
      Location
      Portland,Oregon
      Posts
      1,973
      Vehicles
      1978 Miami Blue 16v Rabbit on side drafts, 1980 Jetta Coupe,1988 Vanagon Wolfs., 2003 TDI Golf, and,
      01-18-2011 10:39 AM #1694
      ****-for brains??? Your lousy at making friends.

      I did see that set up and its way to much work to swap all of that stuff in. I'm using the MK3 ac pump and then the MK3 PS pump.

      Here is the AC at the pump lines that I made.


    15. Member CodeMan's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 12th, 2006
      Location
      Denverish
      Posts
      7,633
      Vehicles
      Scirocco 16v, A2 ABA, '03 Tyke Hauler GLS, E34 540i
      01-18-2011 10:59 AM #1695
      Quote Originally Posted by simon-says View Post
      ...WIMPS...douches...
      Quote Originally Posted by CodeMan
      ****-for-brains

      Quote Originally Posted by simon-says View Post
      ****-for brains??? Your lousy at making friends.
      My heart bleeds for you. If you can't take it, don't dish it.
      The blues ain't nothin' but a good man feelin' bad.

    16. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2004
      Location
      raleigh, nc
      Posts
      4,828
      Vehicles
      98 audi a4, 83 jetta
      01-28-2011 07:52 PM #1696
      any ideas on these? trying to get the last bit buttoned up.

      79 scirocco w/ full ce2 swap (original switches, cluster, etc spliced in)
      97 aba obd2

      below are guesses..

      thanks in advance



      1 - white plug, 1 wire brown/red - to rear wiring harness - trunk light switch? (not used)
      2 - yellow plug, 1 wire yellow/blue - to rear wiring harness - DRL
      3 - black plug, 1 wire brown/yellow - to rear wiring harness - park brake
      4 - red plug, 2 wires brown/yellow, blue/yellow - to rear wiring harness - DRL
      5 - brown plug - ground - what does this connect to? - to fan/radio harness



      1 - fuse holder in wiper harness, to S1
      2 - yellow plug, 1 wire black/yellow - to engine harness (wrapped with blue/white) - fan module (not used)
      3 - yellow plug, 1 wire yellow green - to rear harness
      4 - black plug, 1 wire black - to E2
      5 - blue plug, 1 wire blue/white - to engine harness (wrapped with black/yellow) - a/c switch (not used)

      and there was another one i missed
      6 - white plug, 1 wire brown/yellow - to rear harness - ??
      Last edited by the kevin; 01-29-2011 at 12:38 AM.

    17. Member naitsyrkk's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      hamilton NJ
      Posts
      772
      Vehicles
      92 golf aba, BMP IV R32
      02-01-2011 01:38 PM #1697
      i swapped in an aba out of a 96 jetta into my 92 golf but i cant get any spark out of the coil

    18. Member mark memory's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 12th, 2005
      Location
      513
      Posts
      514
      Vehicles
      98 Jetta TDI
      02-11-2011 12:00 AM #1698
      I am in the same boat here. I have a 94 ABA into a MK1 Jetta. We have power coming into the box, but no power going to the ECU. I am using the 2-fuse box trick, so maybe I missed something? I have the #1 and #3 relays plugged in, that's all I need for the ECU and Fuel pump right? I have F G1 and G2 plugged in tight. I can hear the fuel pump prime, but no spark. I traced that back to no power to the coil, then I traced that to no power to the ECU. Then back to the fuse box, I have no power coming out. Any help would be great. Thanks.

      Forgot to mention that I do have the starter lock-out jumped with a fuse. It cranks, but gets no spark for the fuel.

    19. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2010
      Location
      ct
      Posts
      91
      Vehicles
      71 SQ 84 Rocco 87 Jetta 88 K10 92 Cabbie 91 Jetta rip 84 944 rip 02 Passat rip
      02-18-2011 12:48 PM #1699
      ok so i been driving my mk2 with the aba swap for a little while but i still have some issues. one some times she runs pretty rough at idle and i know it has to do something with the way i hooked the vacume lines up. can i get some detailed pics of the way some of you guys routed yours.

      the second thing is if im coasting down the road and lightly put my foot on the gas she miss fires not real bad but i can hear it though my obnoxious exhaust... is it cause i dont have enough back pressure... idk but i drive her every day again and i love it
      1991 Jetta Calypso Green Carat

    20. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2010
      Location
      ct
      Posts
      91
      Vehicles
      71 SQ 84 Rocco 87 Jetta 88 K10 92 Cabbie 91 Jetta rip 84 944 rip 02 Passat rip
      02-18-2011 12:54 PM #1700
      crap and i for got that she obd2...
      1991 Jetta Calypso Green Carat

    21. Member MattP's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 14th, 2002
      Location
      Andover, CT
      Posts
      1,960
      Vehicles
      Mk1 Coupe, '12 Frontier, Mk3 GTI diesel
      04-04-2011 02:47 PM #1701
      In the past, I converted a mk1 Jetta to CE2 to run the ABA. That worked great. Long story short, beat the hell out of it and loved the swap, but the car was a rotbox. I also hated the mk2 stalks/mk3 cluster stuffed in the dash.

      I am now back with a better Mk1 Jetta Coupe. West coast car with a clean, proper functioning CE1 system. I'm about 80% done with the swap now - the biggest obstacle being time and wiring. I am not interested in messing with the good CE1 system.

      I know, "all the info is out there, use the search" - but it isn't. The majority of the information available now (2011) is in reference to obd 1 swaps, ce2 plug in jobs, or my least favorite... "piggybacking the CE2 fusebox". All the info that looks like it would lead somewhere is now a dead link - not even cached in google.

      I am looking for info on this:
      OBD2 aba spliced into CE1 fusebox.
      The Brit posted a really good thread similar to what I'm looking for, but using an OBD2 engine/harness/ecu. http://forums.fourtitude.com/showthr...ABA-2.0-to-run

      My questions is this: What is the minimum needed to run an OBD2 motor? Basically just looking to power up the ECU, and boot up the fuel pump, and subsequently strip down the obd2 harness to the bare minimum.

      I am about 80% confident in getting this done myself, but it can't hurt to ask.
      Last edited by MattP; 04-04-2011 at 08:35 PM.

    22. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 18th, 2009
      Location
      LANCASTER PA
      Posts
      168
      04-04-2011 09:22 PM #1702
      Quote Originally Posted by MattP View Post
      In the past, I converted a mk1 Jetta to CE2 to run the ABA. That worked great. Long story short, beat the hell out of it and loved the swap, but the car was a rotbox. I also hated the mk2 stalks/mk3 cluster stuffed in the dash.

      I am now back with a better Mk1 Jetta Coupe. West coast car with a clean, proper functioning CE1 system. I'm about 80% done with the swap now - the biggest obstacle being time and wiring. I am not interested in messing with the good CE1 system.

      I know, "all the info is out there, use the search" - but it isn't. The majority of the information available now (2011) is in reference to obd 1 swaps, ce2 plug in jobs, or my least favorite... "piggybacking the CE2 fusebox". All the info that looks like it would lead somewhere is now a dead link - not even cached in google.

      I am looking for info on this:
      OBD2 aba spliced into CE1 fusebox.
      The Brit posted a really good thread similar to what I'm looking for, but using an OBD2 engine/harness/ecu. http://forums.fourtitude.com/showthr...ABA-2.0-to-run

      My questions is this: What is the minimum needed to run an OBD2 motor? Basically just looking to power up the ECU, and boot up the fuel pump, and subsequently strip down the obd2 harness to the bare minimum.

      I am about 80% confident in getting this done myself, but it can't hurt to ask.
      let us know your findings on this because Im interesred in a doin a swap on an mk1 .......
      my idea is
      1.8 16v block
      1.8t pistons and rods (for compression)
      ABA head
      OBD! or OBD2 management

    23. Member MattP's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 14th, 2002
      Location
      Andover, CT
      Posts
      1,960
      Vehicles
      Mk1 Coupe, '12 Frontier, Mk3 GTI diesel
      04-06-2011 09:49 AM #1703
      Quote Originally Posted by anlxn View Post
      let us know your findings on this because Im interesred in a doin a swap on an mk1 .......
      my idea is
      1.8 16v block
      1.8t pistons and rods (for compression)
      ABA head
      OBD! or OBD2 management
      I've thought about that setup too. Definately would be fun.
      I like the reliability, fun, and economy of the straight aba swap. OBD2 runs nice and smooth. Its not too bad with a cam and chip either. add a gti trans and we are good to go. If and when I turbo the motor all I'd need is a chip and it will run mint too. That's a plus.

      As far as the wiring goes - I will document what I do, try and get some real obd2 anti piggy back info out there. It will at least be useful to the CE1 folks. (German mk1, cabby, scirocco, some mk2)

    24. Member Big CADDY's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 28th, 2001
      Location
      Mt. Holly Springs, PA
      Posts
      10,629
      04-09-2011 03:51 PM #1704
      49 pages of people telling you to use Terminal #1 for a tach signal and no one tells where to find Terminal #1. Bently says it's a Red/Black wire. which does nothing for a CE1 Cluster.

      Route it right to your cluster tach wire



    25. Member raymondlee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 7th, 2008
      Location
      Columbus, GA
      Posts
      2,833
      Vehicles
      2009 Gli, 2000 Cabrio
      04-23-2011 07:34 AM #1705
      obd2 aba into an 91 jetta

      i am not gettin spark. what gives?

    26. Member raymondlee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 7th, 2008
      Location
      Columbus, GA
      Posts
      2,833
      Vehicles
      2009 Gli, 2000 Cabrio
      04-23-2011 08:50 PM #1706
      anything?

    27. Member regendub's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 22nd, 2009
      Location
      Taco Ma Wa
      Posts
      803
      Vehicles
      86 GLI, 66 Bug, 65 bug, 94 GLS
      04-23-2011 09:42 PM #1707
      Did you make sure you looped the alarm system?
      Need to know about your a2? Click Here

      Build Thread: Check It

      Quote Originally Posted by ennui_delphian View Post
      I set my mk2 on fire weekly, just to remind it who is boss

    28. Member raymondlee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 7th, 2008
      Location
      Columbus, GA
      Posts
      2,833
      Vehicles
      2009 Gli, 2000 Cabrio
      04-24-2011 10:41 AM #1708
      i put a fuse in 1 plug. some places say they are 2. i only see 1.

      the crank this morn for like 4 secs then died out and now gettin the same no spark.

    29. 05-04-2011 11:55 PM #1709
      Just trying to make sure I have this correct.

      I jump u1/06 directly from the cluster to negative side of coil for tach signal?

      Do I mess with g1/12 too, or is that only if you don't do the above?

    30. Member mark memory's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 12th, 2005
      Location
      513
      Posts
      514
      Vehicles
      98 Jetta TDI
      05-05-2011 08:46 AM #1710
      Quote Originally Posted by MattP View Post
      In the past, I converted a mk1 Jetta to CE2 to run the ABA. That worked great. Long story short, beat the hell out of it and loved the swap, but the car was a rotbox. I also hated the mk2 stalks/mk3 cluster stuffed in the dash.

      I am now back with a better Mk1 Jetta Coupe. West coast car with a clean, proper functioning CE1 system. I'm about 80% done with the swap now - the biggest obstacle being time and wiring. I am not interested in messing with the good CE1 system.

      I know, "all the info is out there, use the search" - but it isn't. The majority of the information available now (2011) is in reference to obd 1 swaps, ce2 plug in jobs, or my least favorite... "piggybacking the CE2 fusebox". All the info that looks like it would lead somewhere is now a dead link - not even cached in google.

      I am looking for info on this:
      OBD2 aba spliced into CE1 fusebox.
      The Brit posted a really good thread similar to what I'm looking for, but using an OBD2 engine/harness/ecu. http://forums.fourtitude.com/showthr...ABA-2.0-to-run

      My questions is this: What is the minimum needed to run an OBD2 motor? Basically just looking to power up the ECU, and boot up the fuel pump, and subsequently strip down the obd2 harness to the bare minimum.

      I am about 80% confident in getting this done myself, but it can't hurt to ask.
      I started out wanting to do it this way, but the car I was working on had way too many wiring issues. I ended up stripping the ce1 box out and swapping in the ce2 one. It was a ton of work and thought, but it turned out really clean.

    31. Member MattP's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 14th, 2002
      Location
      Andover, CT
      Posts
      1,960
      Vehicles
      Mk1 Coupe, '12 Frontier, Mk3 GTI diesel
      05-10-2011 03:08 PM #1711
      I am now very close to running. Biggest obstacle is still simply time.

      OBD2 into CE1 Mk1
      Thinned out the harness and have some track 30 and 15 hookups mainly from plugs G1 and G2. Z1 as well. Using a Painless aux. fusebox to provide some fresh power sources... seems to work pretty good.

      The ecu powers up, I can read codes off of it, and the throttle body makes the adaptation noise. Also, the fuel pump primes as it should in an A1 car. Using the Ce1 fuel pump relay. Off the top of my head, I connected G1/3 to e14 to trigger the fuel pump. is this right? I don't know yet, as the car cranks but doesnt start. I will have a better idea tonight when I get my hands on it again. I need to run a ground from the trans to the body and tie up some loose ends. I'm optimistic that it will start this week.

    32. Member MattP's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 14th, 2002
      Location
      Andover, CT
      Posts
      1,960
      Vehicles
      Mk1 Coupe, '12 Frontier, Mk3 GTI diesel
      05-11-2011 07:04 AM #1712
      ITS ALIVE!

      Turned out that I was powering my ecu with a switched power source that dropped off on the start cycle.

      ECM requires 12v @ key on AND key start.
      Now to button this little piggy up and shred some unavailable 175/50-13's

    33. Member MattP's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 14th, 2002
      Location
      Andover, CT
      Posts
      1,960
      Vehicles
      Mk1 Coupe, '12 Frontier, Mk3 GTI diesel
      05-14-2011 07:58 PM #1713
      Anti "piggy back the box" swap
      Anti "convert to ce2" swap
      Got it running strong today.



      I posted something from someone a page or 2 back, and that is more or less what I did for the wiring. Had to run a mk3 fuel pump relay. Everything else can be handled through the ce1 fusebox. Now to reassemble everything.

    34. 05-23-2011 03:50 AM #1714
      i swapped a aba into a mk2 gti ce2 fuse box, it plugged straight in,
      i did not see any ground wires in the harness to plug onto the main ground area under the dash, and no wires that attached to the negative battery cables.
      i figured maybe it didnt need it, so i jumped the two black plugs with 15 amp fuses and turned the key on and the two fuses instantly popped, any ideas?

    35. Member docterelliott's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 28th, 2007
      Location
      covington, wa
      Posts
      1,185
      Vehicles
      mk1 diesel caddy, mk2 16vT gti, mk3 glx, mk4 337, mk5 R32, mk6 jetta tdi, E36 M3
      06-26-2011 06:14 PM #1715
      what coolant temp sensor?

    Page 49 of 52 FirstFirst ... 394546474849505152 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •