Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 5 of 52 FirstFirst 12345678915 ... LastLast
    Results 141 to 175 of 1810

    Thread: THE OFFICIAL X-FLOW SWAP POST!!!!!!

    1. 12-12-2002 06:05 PM #141
      replace your temp sensor and the O2 smokin man..they are VERY important sensors...and relatively cheap...

      unplug the coolant temp sensor, see if anything changes, if not, its probably bad. I would replace it and the O2 if you can scrape together a little (under $100) cash...

      The best is to use VAG-COM. Get the CEL's and work through it...otherwise its guesswork...


    2. 12-12-2002 11:45 PM #142
      So I've recently been looking into the x-flow swap. I have a 90 8v that I want to add some power to, but I need to keep the reliablity that I have now. I'm also a soon-to-be college student so money is an issue. I think that the x-flow swap is my best bet? What do you guys think? Also have a question its probably gonna sound dumb but what cars had the obd1 engine and what had the obd 2 and what are the major differences. Also what would I expect to pay for this swap if I did it with my father? And if you got a chance check out my project so far and tell me if you think my car is worthy of a new engine. http://www.printroom.com/ViewAlbum.asp?userid=BigJohnson50&album_id=115947

    3. 12-13-2002 12:41 PM #143
      Im sure its in this post somewhere, but OBDI was from 1993-1995.5 (if you get a "95" engine your arent 100% for sure going to have OBDI) OBDI was from 1996-1999.

      Whats the difference? OBDII has more diagnostic systems and a more anal computer. If you do significant mods to a OBDII car (cams, possibly intake/exhaust, turbo, etc) you will have to reburn the ECU. There are extra sensors that you have to hook up (all I know of is the extra O2 sensor)

      OBDI had some oil squirters in the block which also makes it more desireable.


    4. 12-15-2002 12:42 AM #144
      Can anybody answer my questions posted above?

    5. 12-15-2002 08:30 AM #145
      His name is Robert Bentley...

      Seriously, the A3 Bentley has diagrams that will allow you to trace any wire in the harnesses. The reason most of us don't get into specific wiring talk is that unless you take notes when you do it, you gotta go back into the Bentley and start reading diagrams, which is not much fun unless your doing it for YOUR car...not somebody elses...and discussing wiring gets VEERY wordy...

      I'll look em all up and label them for $5

      Maybe we should start a thread on reading the Bentley Wiring diagrams...they are INVALUABLE when swapping...

      BTW...I would not use the A3 interior harness in a rabbit, its got too much extra junk and the dash switches etc are different....use an A2 harness...see silvervdubs post about converting a rabbit to CE2...good luck!


    6. 12-16-2002 03:41 AM #146
      Has anyone called 1800vwparts to find out a complete pricing on a kit w/motor for a rabbit?

    7. 12-16-2002 05:30 PM #147
      Anyone who did the project. How long did it take you to pull your engine out and get the new one in and running?

    8. 12-16-2002 08:51 PM #148
      I started my swap on spring break it took roughly 2 weeks to do, The electrical stuff will kick your ass, (thats why I made the post). It was a while until I could get all of the bugs worked out. Have you started yet? Im going to post some pics in a few days. Pics are so cool!

    9. 12-16-2002 11:16 PM #149
      quote:
      His name is Robert Bentley...

      Seriously, the A3 Bentley has diagrams that will allow you to trace any wire in the harnesses. The reason most of us don't get into specific wiring talk is that unless you take notes when you do it, you gotta go back into the Bentley and start reading diagrams, which is not much fun unless your doing it for YOUR car...not somebody elses...and discussing wiring gets VEERY wordy...

      I'll look em all up and label them for $5

      Maybe we should start a thread on reading the Bentley Wiring diagrams...they are INVALUABLE when swapping...

      BTW...I would not use the A3 interior harness in a rabbit, its got too much extra junk and the dash switches etc are different....use an A2 harness...see silvervdubs post about converting a rabbit to CE2...good luck!


      Just for your information I looked all the wires up already that's why I made the above post of those plugs that areleft over or unclear from the swap. Also from what I was told a few of those wires need to be spliced together which I did not mention cause someone told me already but I wanted to double check it here incased i misled someone that is taking it down for their swap.

      I saw silverveedubs post but it doesn't answer my above questions.


    10. 12-17-2002 08:43 AM #150
      quote:
      I made the above post of those plugs that areleft over or unclear from the swap.

      with a multimeter and a Bentley, almost nothing is unclear or left over....

      have fun sorting it out..you'll be happy when your done





      [Modified by PAGTI91, 5:44 AM 12-17-2002]


    11. Member NefariousVW's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 21st, 2002
      Location
      San Diego
      Posts
      2,637
      12-17-2002 12:54 PM #151
      HELP!!!!

      I'm right in the middle of this swap and can't figure out how to use the A3 acc. with out using A/C... Is there a special bracket for the alternator?? somebody help me please. I really wanna finish this before christmas

      '11 Audi A6 Avant 3.0t
      '03 Golf TDI
      '02 Jetta Wagon VR6

    12. 12-17-2002 05:09 PM #152
      I think you use the vr6 non-a/c water pump pulley and thats it. Call up Tomas Tuning in the bay area and ask. I know they do this alot.

    13. 12-17-2002 11:18 PM #153
      quote:
      HELP!!!!

      I'm right in the middle of this swap and can't figure out how to use the A3 acc. with out using A/C... Is there a special bracket for the alternator?? somebody help me please. I really wanna finish this before christmas


      HO HO HO...

      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=176053


    14. Member NefariousVW's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 21st, 2002
      Location
      San Diego
      Posts
      2,637
      12-17-2002 11:47 PM #154
      quote:
      HELP!!!!

      I'm right in the middle of this swap and can't figure out how to use the A3 acc. with out using A/C... Is there a special bracket for the alternator?? somebody help me please. I really wanna finish this before christmas

      HO HO HO...

      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=176053


      Hmmmm... wonder why the search never showed me that thread. eh, oh well...

      Thanks

      '11 Audi A6 Avant 3.0t
      '03 Golf TDI
      '02 Jetta Wagon VR6

    15. Member quickyg60's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 21st, 2002
      Location
      long island ny
      Posts
      474
      Vehicles
      96 jetta/2004 a6 s line
      01-05-2003 12:32 PM #155
      i hope i dont see anymore x-flow corrados thats a step backwards
      nice car though

    16. 01-05-2003 12:47 PM #156
      quote:
      i hope i dont see anymore x-flow corrados thats a step backwards
      nice car though

      ha ha...you'll be seeing lots..with turbos...you won't think its a step back when your looking at tail lights...


    17. Member quickyg60's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 21st, 2002
      Location
      long island ny
      Posts
      474
      Vehicles
      96 jetta/2004 a6 s line
      01-05-2003 01:08 PM #157
      i ll beleive it when i see it

    18. Member quickyg60's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 21st, 2002
      Location
      long island ny
      Posts
      474
      Vehicles
      96 jetta/2004 a6 s line
      01-05-2003 01:12 PM #158
      working on a VR no 2.slow will ever beat

    19. Member IwannaGTI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 12th, 2001
      Location
      Philadelphia, PA
      Posts
      10,538
      Vehicles
      02 S2000, '68 Mini Pickup
      01-06-2003 06:52 PM #159
      do you want to make a wager? my xflow is getting a wee bit of boost soon

    20. Member
      Join Date
      Nov 9th, 2000
      Location
      San Diego
      Posts
      1,259
      Vehicles
      92 SLC, 90 GLI
      01-07-2003 11:36 AM #160
      Either clutch will work with this swap? Which kit should I buy? I see that the older sachs 8v kit does NOT come with throw out bearing, so should I use a 2.0l one? Thanks guys
      Derrick

    21. 01-11-2003 07:16 PM #161
      Hey guys I am doing a full 2.0 crossflow swap into a rabbit, I want to know what radiator, rad. fan, and rad. hose combination worked best for everyone that did this swap.

      Thanks,
      Nick


    22. 01-11-2003 09:54 PM #162
      I'm using the 16v rocco long rad and as for the hose I'm using the upper crossflow hose. As for the bottom hose I'm not sure yet cause my car is still a project.

    23. 01-11-2003 11:25 PM #163
      Are you just supposed to use A3 radiator hoses, or can I get away with generic radiator hose and bend it around to where it needs to be? In an A2


      [Modified by A2RicedGTI, 4:25 AM 1-12-2003]

    24. 01-12-2003 08:44 PM #164
      quote:
      Are you just supposed to use A3 radiator hoses,
      [Modified by A2RicedGTI, 4:25 AM 1-12-2003]

      YES.


    25. 01-14-2003 01:28 AM #165
      Im trying to avoid buying this new, if possible. And with the junkyards aroud here that means shipping it from somewhere, and I dont even know exactly what I need.


      $58 new. Upper radiator hose.


      [Modified by A2RicedGTI, 6:28 AM 1-14-2003]


    26. Member
      Join Date
      Nov 9th, 2000
      Location
      San Diego
      Posts
      1,259
      Vehicles
      92 SLC, 90 GLI
      01-15-2003 02:38 AM #166
      Ack.. another question from me. If I use a manifold from the Aba, will a regular dual downpipe fit ok? In first post you said you had no problem, but on TT's site it says
      quote:
      "If you are installing the engine in an A2 chassis (‘85-’92) get the ABA exhaust manifold and downpipe. You need the A3 downpipe or a TT downpipe in order to accomodate the taller block"

      so does this mean any new manifold along with any dual downpipe will work? Or MUST I use an A3 downpipe or TT downpipe? Kinda confusing.


      [Modified by BlauSlc92, 11:38 PM 1-14-2003]


    27. 01-15-2003 06:15 AM #167
      OK.. I've taken some time away from my car... It's been sitting in hiatus waiting for me to remotivate myself. I'm back. I am still tackling the rev limiter. I've tried a buncha different things.. HOW DO YOU DO AWAY with the rev limiter? Over 5k, it shuts down for a few seconds... Again.. 86 GTi. obd1 xflow with giac chip, 272 cam other stuff... thanks guys...
      Brian

    28. Member IwannaGTI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 12th, 2001
      Location
      Philadelphia, PA
      Posts
      10,538
      Vehicles
      02 S2000, '68 Mini Pickup
      01-15-2003 01:46 PM #168
      a3 cluster i have been told with a speed sensor...got sensor and cluster for under 100

    29. 01-16-2003 08:28 PM #169
      there has to be a way with the A2 cluster. I'm told there is. thanks..
      Brian

    30. 01-16-2003 11:40 PM #170
      Yes, you need to use the cruise control/MFA from a late model jetta/golf. the 3 pin version. Thats what ive heard but I have yet to do it.

    31. 01-17-2003 10:40 PM #171
      im going to be doing a crossflow in my 87 gli.. i plan on doing the a3 dash swap.. would using the a3 fusebox be easier than just getting the ce2 fusebox.. im kinda in the dark here and would prefer to know what im doing before i start(things go a bit smoother that way).. any info is greatly appreciated..thanks

    32. 01-18-2003 12:28 AM #172
      A3 fuse block is CE2...
      Brian

    33. 01-18-2003 12:45 AM #173
      ahh thanks

    34. Member dubweizer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 20th, 2001
      Location
      Johnson City TN
      Posts
      2,370
      Vehicles
      1991 VR6 COUPE
      03-25-2003 02:14 PM #174
      Thought i would bring this back from the dead.i hope somebody can help me out here 91 gti 98 obd2 a2 subframe it is all in and running but not that i changed the rear mount from braken to new the motor is sitting higher on the pass side and it is hitting the frame rail on hard acc.i am using the stock mounts from my a2.it worked fine with a bad rear mount so i know there is something as far as this mount goes i need to change and btw it is the p.s. pulley hitting
      "IF you know more than I do then WHY did you ask me in the first place!"

    35. 03-26-2003 12:08 AM #175
      I used the A3 subframe and the VR6 rear mount, fits a lt better, and let me use a stiffer mount (VR6) to take up some movement

    Page 5 of 52 FirstFirst 12345678915 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •