Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 8 of 52 FirstFirst ... 45678910111218 ... LastLast
    Results 246 to 280 of 1810

    Thread: THE OFFICIAL X-FLOW SWAP POST!!!!!!

    1. 08-02-2003 01:59 AM #246
      I need some wiring help! I swapped in a 94 obd I into my 91 gti and the sh*t won't start! I can start it if I jump it at the starter, but it won't turn over with the key.

      Thanks,
      Andy K.


    2. 08-04-2003 01:45 PM #247
      I've searched the tex and come to the conclusion that for CIS-E cars, the best bet is to use the ABA block and the original head. Otherwise, extensive wiring and other work is needed.

      I'll be installing a '96 ABA block with my 85 GTI head. From what I understand, this is all I need to do the work. Please confirm, or add info. that I'm unaware of..

      1.) ABA block
      2.) 85 GTI head
      3.) Distributor adapter for GTI dist. + 2.0 dist. gear
      4.) PVC Block of plate for front of block.
      5.) Use the ABA exhaust manifold and downpipe.
      6.) 2.0 16v clutch
      7.) Techtonics Head gasket
      8.) ABA timing belt
      9.) Mod. front stress bar for clearance

      If there is anything I'm missing for this swap, please give me some input.
      The engine is arriving in about a week so I want to be ready to hammer this out (wait, will I need a hammer as well... )

      Thanks much!!


    3. 08-04-2003 02:13 PM #248
      Quote, originally posted by d'sdub »
      I'm working on a 91' GTI. The powertrain, harness and ECU are installed. I can get the engine to turn over, but I have no fuel. I was told that the wiring to the ECM was just a matter of plugging the new connections in where the old ones were. What am I missing? I already missed waterfest, and I don't want to miss the Bugout. Any suggestions?

      I'm having similar problems! You need to use an mk3 fuel pump relay. Good luck


    4. 08-05-2003 09:27 PM #249
      Quote, originally posted by wHiTeGti »

      I'm having similar problems! You need to use an mk3 fuel pump relay. Good luck

      no you don't...


    5. 08-08-2003 03:49 PM #250
      Quote, originally posted by PAGTI91 »

      no you don't...

      worked for mine. I talked to a coupla people that said that as well, but it's probably a bunch of b.s.


    6. 08-14-2003 09:03 AM #251
      there is a anti theft short to the starter made into the wiring harness on aba's i cant remember what color it is but it is a two prong female plug with heavy gauge wiring. put a fuse in it, that should fix your problem with the starter not woring with the switch. also the fuel pump will not come on unless the engine is being started.

    7. 08-14-2003 02:58 PM #252
      Quote, originally posted by volksport1987 »
      there is a anti theft short to the starter made into the wiring harness on aba's i cant remember what color it is but it is a two prong female plug with heavy gauge wiring. put a fuse in it, that should fix your problem with the starter not woring with the switch. also the fuel pump will not come on unless the engine is being started.

      One wire is red with a black stripe and the other is just red. I had a hell of a time figuring this out.


    8. 08-15-2003 03:28 PM #253
      OK - I don't see it mentioned here - do I need to keep the radiator from my MK3 donor for this swap... ?????

      just wanted to check before I sell her.


    9. 08-15-2003 03:50 PM #254
      no you dont need the radiatior because it is too tall. do keep the dual fan shroud, you can cut about an inch and a half off the bottom and it will bolt right up to your old radiator. its a nice upgrade.

    10. 08-17-2003 12:29 AM #255
      2 gel pack batteries?

      Quote, originally posted by X-FlowA2 »

      Modified by X-FlowA2 at 4:07 PM 6-30-2003


    11. 08-17-2003 12:40 AM #256
      Well I got the engine and tranny in today... it's on a slant, higher on the passenger side then the drivers. Any one else have this issue in a MKII? Hood clears the evap canister connection by about the width of a finger. Im using the MKII subfram and mounts.

      Second, I don't have A/C. Is there a surp belt small enough on the market to go from the crank just to the alt?


    12. 08-17-2003 01:07 AM #257
      here are some pics fellas

      vr water pump pulley



      Modified by volksport1987 at 2:42 PM 8-26-2003

    13. 08-17-2003 01:13 AM #258
      here is my wiring harness after surgery, it is 97 obdII into a 87 gl non ce2.
      my cat helping with the swap



      Modified by volksport1987 at 8:21 PM 8-26-2003

    14. Member Kierowca's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 27th, 1999
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      7,305
      Vehicles
      85 Scirocco, 2013 GTI
      08-17-2003 08:12 PM #259
      I just figured I would get in on this as well. Here is the x-flow I am working on right now. Its for my sisters '89 coupe. It's a relatively motor low mileage from a local wrecker . We decided to tear the head off to make sure everything is ok. While at it we decided to clean everything up as well. It's got all new seals, gaskets, techtonics valve springs and 268 cam. Still need to get the alternator for it and adapt the throttle switches since we'll be running digifant. It will be paired up with a 4k tranny and a lightened flywheel.

      I have another x-flow with a neuspeed supercharger ready to go in my '89 golf. That project has been put of until the winter. It's sitting under the sheet in the picture.



    15. Member dubweizer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 20th, 2001
      Location
      Johnson City TN
      Posts
      2,407
      Vehicles
      1991 VR6 COUPE
      08-17-2003 10:06 PM #260
      i wanted to post this.may not be what everyone thinks id the way to go about this but i thought it was a clean way to solve an obd2 swap issue and i have had no adverse issues as far as the way it runs no torque or hp losses as far as i can tell and if so i relly don't care
      "IF you know more than I do then WHY did you ask me in the first place!"

    16. 08-17-2003 10:57 PM #261
      dude that pic sucks...

      you have another pic? For those using the stock intake thats a cool idea...


    17. Member dubweizer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 20th, 2001
      Location
      Johnson City TN
      Posts
      2,407
      Vehicles
      1991 VR6 COUPE
      08-18-2003 07:23 AM #262
      hope this i better
      "IF you know more than I do then WHY did you ask me in the first place!"

    18. 08-18-2003 10:52 AM #263
      VR water pump pulley - is this a regular VR pulley or a non A/C VR - ?

      does the year matter ??

      thanks, I have a 1997 to put into my 91 coupe.


    19. 08-18-2003 04:41 PM #264
      glad to see alot more a2 crossflows coming out good work fellas. I haven't kept up on this post in a while and it is pretty far back since i last posted....Did anyone ever give a really good/clear exsplaination on wiring the tach? been about 2+ years for me and i haven't had a tach working yet if anyone can take pics /be very decriptive as to what it is that needs to be done to get it to work I am not good with all this wiring stuff at all.

      P.S. if anyone needs any ABA parts just send me an im with what you need i can get just about anything for the aba


    20. 08-18-2003 04:46 PM #265
      Quote, originally posted by ALpHaMoNk_VW »
      P.S. if anyone needs any ABA parts just send me an im with what you need i can get just about anything for the aba

      I am gonna need pullies to remove the A/C and P/W steering

      is there a vendor for these ? aluminum by chance ????

      still curious about the VR6 H2O pump pulley mentioned above


    21. Member Kierowca's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 27th, 1999
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      7,305
      Vehicles
      85 Scirocco, 2013 GTI
      08-18-2003 05:13 PM #266
      The non a/c water pump pulley part number for the ABA is 028121031k, its about $15 from the dealer. The Vr6 parts number is very almost exact except the k is replaced with an a (021121031a) so it should work as well.



    22. 08-19-2003 01:12 PM #267
      I'm running digifant, on a 2.0L head/block. Do I use the IAC from my 1.8L digi, or the 2.0L. Also, How do I wire up the TPS?

    23. Member Kierowca's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 27th, 1999
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      7,305
      Vehicles
      85 Scirocco, 2013 GTI
      08-19-2003 01:22 PM #268
      IAC? The TPS switches..... You use your exsiting ones. You'll need to make up custom brackets for them. I have yet to try this. I'll post pics once I get them on.

    24. 08-19-2003 01:31 PM #269
      I was talking about the Idle Air Control valve. Do I use the 2.0L or the unit from the 1.8L? There's a 3-pin connect on the 2.0L and a 2-pin on the 1.8L TPS. Where dose the 3rd lead connect?

    25. Member Kierowca's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 27th, 1999
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      7,305
      Vehicles
      85 Scirocco, 2013 GTI
      08-19-2003 01:35 PM #270
      Gotcha, I refer to it as the idle stabilizer so it didn't ring a bell right away. You want to use your existing 1.8 unit.


      Quote, originally posted by d'sdub »
      I was talking about the Idle Air Control valve. Do I use the 2.0L or the unit from the 1.8L? There's a 3-pin connect on the 2.0L and a 2-pin on the 1.8L TPS. Where dose the 3rd lead connect?

    26. 08-19-2003 03:33 PM #271
      A3 instrument cluster doesn't work? You'll need to run a jumper from pin D8 to E2 on your fuse box.

    27. 08-19-2003 03:37 PM #272
      Here are some pics of the swap. I finished it up a couple weeks ago, but I found out I bent some valves when I put the cam in. DOH! I have a new head and some better valves ready to go in this week.

    28. Member typeSLone's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 7th, 2002
      Location
      Dirty Jersey
      Posts
      3,394
      Vehicles
      91 GTI VR6, 92 Jeep Cherokee, 06 A4Q 2.0T
      08-24-2003 01:52 PM #273
      hey, does anyone know what strut bar (autotech, omp, eibach???) will work for a mk2 with a crossflow swap. I need one for my jetta. I have the mk3 subframe (tilts the motor forward a littlee) and no a/c soo they are no lines in the back to worry about. anybody know???????????
      91 GTI VR6 - the all motor mess
      06 A4Q 2.0T - the luxury daily with added boost
      92 JEEP CHEROKEE - lifted, loud, filthy and extremely missed
      Lugtronic
      Caste Systems Performance

    29. 08-26-2003 03:43 AM #274
      Hey volksport... You're not afraid of running the VR serp pulley with no AC? I put that pulley on my xflow, but only because the AC compressor is right there and I know it keeps the belt on the water pump... I'm also working on a G60 now. It's got the AC removed and I'm removing power steering... so I need a serp pulley for the water pump. Just real scared to use the smooth one. Only other options I see are to A: pay bahn brenner 160? for the euro G60 ribbed serp pulley? or B: have a pulley made locally. Anyone know of any other options? Thanks
      Brian

    30. 08-26-2003 01:38 PM #275
      no, not afraid really. well i never really woried about it. ive got three xflow swaps under my belt and two are still on the road. both using the vr water pump pulley. mine has never had a problem and it has over 10,000 miles since the install. oh and the first swap i did (pictured above) got totaled thats the one thats not on the road.

    31. 08-26-2003 11:40 PM #276
      hrmmm.... just scares the PISS out of me to be smooth and on the bottom if you know what I mean then having so far to travel to the alt.. Looks like slipping off would be oh so easy... Anyone else using this setup now? Thanks.
      Brian

    32. Member Kierowca's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 27th, 1999
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      7,305
      Vehicles
      85 Scirocco, 2013 GTI
      08-31-2003 06:52 PM #277
      The the guys wanting to use digifant....

      I finally got the throttle switches worked out this weekend... Picked up
      a spare set of switches at the wreckers so I could get it done with the
      engine out. The idle switch bracket is just a piece
      of 1/8 aluminum angle. I tapped one hole into the intake manifold... Turns out
      my location was a bit off and the head of the 1/4-20 button-head i used hit
      the throttle stop screw... I ended up shortening the stop screw a tiny bit ,
      fits great now. The full throttle set-up may not be the prettiest but its
      sturdy and effective as well. I used a part of the bracket that came with
      the switch and some flat stock I had lying around.... The black spacers are
      abs plastic
      There also a shot. belt set-up. I used the existing alt
      bracket that had the a/c compressor. When I tried to use a non ac belt it
      was too short so I asked for one 2 inches longer at Pep Boys. Looks to fit
      great now.

      BTW, to the person concerned the serpentine belt slipping off. The pulley I am using came on non-ac cars 2.0 from the factory. I wouldn't worry about slippage.





      Modified by Kierowca at 7:04 PM 8-31-2003


    33. 09-08-2003 12:41 AM #278
      well, over the last few days, I have been moving my crossflow form my 4 door jetta over to my coupe. Today was the day to install the new wiring. I had the entire engine up and running in the 4 door (92) for about 4-5 years now, so I know it all worked.

      My only issue with the wiring is that in my old INTERIOR harness, there were 2 more wires going into the fuse block than there are in my coupe (91). In the U1 plug (again, this is the interior harness, meaning there is a slight difference in how the cars were wired) there is an extra wire and one of the others is in a different location.

      The green wire in U1 is in a different spot, and there is also a green/white stripe wire in this plug, which doesn't exit in my new car (coupe) I believe this plug is for the instrument cluster, but I do not know what it does. Also, the maiin reason I am concerned with this, is that there was a single wire tapped into the grren wire in U1 that went to a terminal on the coil. It's been so long since this engine was done that I don't remember what they are for (tach signal maybe?)

      If anyone could look at there U1 plug and show me what it looks like (which color wires/which locations, etc) that would be awesome. I am just tryin to figure out whether this s going to cause a problem, or if I can just plug it in and forget about it


    34. 09-10-2003 01:01 PM #279
      Hey guys...I need an official Neuspeed (or other CARB legal air intake) for my car to pass smog with the smog ref. He didnt like the K&N on a stick that much...So which one do I use? A2 P-Flo, or A3?

      Also, can anybody tell me anything about my AA code ECU? Is it california? Is there a list somewhere?


    35. 09-12-2003 10:28 PM #280
      Hey I just aquired a new <10k crossflow block and head no valve cover or intake manifold I just finished my super blingy 16v 2.0 swap and wonder if theres a market for a very unused crossflow or shall I buy anouther dub and drop it in what do you think?

    Page 8 of 52 FirstFirst ... 45678910111218 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •