Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Oil Change 2001 V6 Passat

1. 04-22-2007 01:53 PM #1
      I need to get a oil change on my 2001 volkswagen passat. It has a V6 engine about 72,00 miles. I am pretty new to volkswagen.. Does it really need synthetic oil? Also, can i bring it anywhere to get it changed like say a jiffy lube or do i have to bring it to the dealership. I hear its like 65 dollars for a oil change?!?! This may sound dumb... But this is first car i owned i had to go to the dealership to buy antifreeze... any help will be appreciated. thank you.

Vehicles
      2011 JSW TDI
      04-22-2007 03:17 PM #2
      Yes

Vehicles
      2005 Legacy GT Wagon 5MT w/overnight diffs from Japan; 2013 Mazda 2 5MT
      04-22-2007 03:18 PM #3
      Please don't take it to iffy lube or other quick lube places. They will likely do something wrong, esp with the belly pan, or they might drain the tranny fluid on accedent. Fun times.
      You probably don't "need" syn, but its a darn good idea, esp if you want to run 5000k ocis with urban driving and/or want to keep the car for a long time. If you do stick, with conventional, which i don't recommend, make sure its better stuff like Castrol GTX. Iffy lube and stuff will use cheap crap.
      This doesn't mean you have to take it to the dealer, find a local indy. I pay ~$50 at my indy for 6qts of Pentosynth 5w-50, Mann filter, and the change.
      The manual does say that you should use vw502.00 oil, which is all synthetic, and again, a darn good idea.
      Quote Originally Posted by Ducky TSX
      The Car Lounge likes to compare apples to llamas

4. 04-22-2007 07:42 PM #4