VWVortex.com - Insurance Question
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Insurance Question

1. 05-14-2007 10:47 AM #1
      I recently bought a house, so I needed to start a homeowner's insurance policy. I contacted the company that I insured/financed my car with to start homeowners coverage. They call me back later that day to inform me that they are denying coverage and will not renew my auto policy at the end of the 6 month period because I was receiving a (good student) discount that I didn't qualify for. I graduated from college in '05, but I was aware that many insurance agencies allow drivers to receive the discount after they graduate. My insurance company's website even said I was eligible for the discount until my 25th birthday, which is in 2008. I've contacted them a few times to clarify the miscommunication, but they won't give me the benefit of the doubt. An underwriter I spoke to said that their website was relatively new and they were still working out the "bugs." I promptly paid off my car that day too because they were willing to continue to finance my car, but they wouldn't insure it. [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthdown.gif[/IMG] My family has been a customer of this company for over 35 years, if that's of any value.
      I'd have no problems with changing insurance companies, but my current premium (~$780/6 mo) is very low compared to other companies' quotes (~$1300/6 mo). Do I have any recourse in this situation or should I just switch and call it a day?

2. 05-14-2007 11:59 AM #2