Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Results 1 to 25 of 86

    Thread: Microswitch behind Trunk Lid Logo (for opening power trunk) does not work [TOC, Photos done]

    1. 05-25-2007 09:23 PM #1
      Hello All.
      I have a problem.
      I have a 05 V8, 4 Seater, with the Technology package and Kesy.
      My dealer (VW Villa), Phaeton Hotline and VW Canada ALL HAVE TOLD ME THAT MY VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE THE EMBLEM MICROSWITCH FEATURE.
      This began when I asked VW Villa to repair the switch as it had not been operating for quite some time.
      I felt like I was in the twilight zone. I used it many times and ALL THESE PEOPLE ARE TELLING ME THIS FEATURE IS NOT AVAILABLE IN NORTH AMERICA.
      Thank god for this forum.
      I read the numerous posts about this feature and see that I don't need to see a psychiatrist.
      PLEASE: EVERYONE FROM NORTH AMERICA THAT HAS THIS FEATURE PLEASE RESPOND TO THIS POST WITH YOUR CONFIRMATION OF THE VW LOGO TRUNK OPENING FUNCTIONALITY AND WHERE YOU ARE FROM.
      THANKS.


      Modified by brutus13 at 6:25 PM 5-25-2007

    2. Member Paldi's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 4th, 2004
      Location
      Malvern, PA, USA
      Posts
      4,878
      Vehicles
      2004 Phaeton V8
      05-25-2007 09:44 PM #2
      My 2004 V8 has it and it works. I'm from Eastern Pennsylvania and living in a Twilight Zone.


      Modified by Paldi at 11:09 PM 5-25-2007

    3. 05-25-2007 09:57 PM #3
      Indianapolis here - mine works fine.

    4. 05-25-2007 10:16 PM #4
      Check!

    5. Moderator Prince Ludwig's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2007
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      1,786
      Vehicles
      2005 Phaeton V6 TDI, 2003 Mercedes CL55K, 2002 Passat W8
      05-25-2007 10:33 PM #5
      I'd start taking the name and details of each person who tells you that the car doesn't have the boot button since anyone who does so is either trying to get rid of you or can't be bothered to check their facts. Either way...

    6. 05-25-2007 10:56 PM #6
      Just for your information, I spoke with the manager of customer service for all of Canada who had one of his staff call me. They were adamant that the vehicle did not have the feature. Their exact words were" no North American vehicles ever had this feature".

    7. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 1st, 2006
      Location
      Minnesota
      Posts
      371
      Vehicles
      04 Phaeton
      05-25-2007 11:27 PM #7
      Mine works too.

    8. Member chrisj428's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 26th, 2005
      Location
      Vernon Hills, IL
      Posts
      7,140
      Vehicles
      '15 Ford C-Max Energi
      05-25-2007 11:42 PM #8
      Mine works like a champ. You just need to have a firm push -- it's all about the follow through.
      --Chris

    9. Junior Member vhs's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2006
      Location
      Beaconsfield, England
      Posts
      67
      Vehicles
      Phaeton 3.0 V6 Diesel 2006 Luna Blue / Sunny Beige
      05-26-2007 06:07 AM #9
      Have you unlocked ALL central locking by pushing the key fob twice? My boot button wouldn't work if I only unlocked the driver's door with the single button press.
      Now I've had the unlock reprogrammed (see elsewhere in this forum) to free all doors and boot with one push, I'm much happier.
      Hope this helps.
      Viv

    10. Member
      Join Date
      May 29th, 2004
      Location
      East Haddam, CT
      Posts
      2,599
      Vehicles
      More than I need
      05-26-2007 07:28 AM #10
      Even if the doors are locked and the alarm is armed and the door sill indicators blinking, if you have your key in your pocket the trunk will open pressing the VW micro switch. When you close the trunk the alarm will re-arm. Mine works, it's a NA '04 V-8 and has been trouble free. Print out these posts and show them to your dealer.
      RB

    11. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      05-26-2007 09:21 AM #11
      Hi Alex:
      I will be home in Toronto later this week (probably Wednesday) - I'll give you a call and we can arrange to meet up and figure out what the story on your trunk lid microswitch is.
      To the best of my knowledge, if a Phaeton has a power operated trunk lid (power opening and closing feature), it will have a microswitch behind the logo on the trunk lid, and if the Phaeton does not have a power operated trunk lid, it will not have a microswitch behind the logo. I am pretty sure this is how it is organized, but I'm not quite ready to bet the rent money on it. Anyway, wait till the middle of the week when I get back. For the next few days, I am concentrating on transmissions (I am in Germany, near Saarbrucken, which is where the 5 speed transmission used in the W12 is built).
      Michael

    12. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      05-26-2007 09:28 AM #12
      Quote, originally posted by brutus13 »
      PLEASE: EVERYONE FROM NORTH AMERICA THAT HAS THIS FEATURE PLEASE RESPOND TO THIS POST WITH YOUR CONFIRMATION OF THE VW LOGO TRUNK OPENING FUNCTIONALITY AND WHERE YOU ARE FROM.

      Alex:
      Relax already - jeez, there are 3,200 Phaetons in North America. I think about half a dozen responses should be sufficient to establish a consensus, you don't need to hear from everyone. Also, posting in ALL CAPS is gauche, folks will thing you are a lawyer or something like that...
      We're a pretty calm group of enthusiasts here, and we have excellent relations with VW tech support staff both in North America and in Germany - so no need to panic, we'll get it all figured out and working for you, that is for sure. Keep in mind that the Phaeton is a bit of a rarity - there are more Ferraris and Bentleys sold every year in NAR that there were Phaetons in the three years it was offered. So, it's not surprising that the dealer staff are sometimes not fully up on it. That's why the forum exists - so we can resolve glitches like this without creating any stress for anyone.
      Michael

    13. Moderator Prince Ludwig's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2007
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      1,786
      Vehicles
      2005 Phaeton V6 TDI, 2003 Mercedes CL55K, 2002 Passat W8
      05-26-2007 10:25 AM #13
      Quote »
      If the Phaeton does not have a power operated trunk lid, it will not have a microswitch behind the logo. I am pretty sure this is how it is organized, but I'm not quite ready to bet the rent money on it.

      In the UK (at least) my boot logo has the microswitch behind it. The only reason I could think of for not including the switch is to stop tea leaves opening the boot whilst stopped at the lights but since Phaeton owners are often unaware of the button...

    14. 05-26-2007 11:07 AM #14
      Thanks Michael. I am relaxed. It is just irritating when everybody I spoke to was telling me that I was mistaken and that the feature does not exist in NAR Phaetons. This included VW Canada.
      Wen I went to pick up my car today from VW Villa they continued to maintain that they have no information on the feature and that this has been confirmed by the area service rep.
      I thank all the people that responded to my post.


    15. 05-26-2007 12:37 PM #15
      Most Phaeton owners are not on this forum, so I would not expect any where near 3200 respnses.

    16. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      05-27-2007 11:25 AM #16
      The other 3,100 lurk.

    17. 05-27-2007 11:57 AM #17
      I was told my W12 didn't come with the trunk microswitch because it is the 1st generation PE even though it has all the other imaginable bells & whistles and since no one could confirm or disprove it, I chose to let it go as I have lived without it for a long while now.
      ________________________________________________
      VW Touareg | Range Rover HSE | Acura RL | W12 Phaeton (sold but no replacement yet )

    18. 05-27-2007 02:36 PM #18
      That doesn't really make sense since most of the responses are from 2004 Phaeton owners, which as far as I know is the first generation vehicle.
      However, based on my experience, I have no doubt that you were told that.


    19. 05-27-2007 04:04 PM #19
      Just about every car with the Keyless option I've seen also had the trunk micro-switch. I don't know if anyone has it wothout the Keyless feature. Anyone out there that does, let us know.

    20. Moderator Prince Ludwig's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2007
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      1,786
      Vehicles
      2005 Phaeton V6 TDI, 2003 Mercedes CL55K, 2002 Passat W8
      05-27-2007 05:24 PM #20
      One thing I'd imagine that supports the argument that the microswitch is present in every car is that there's no build code for cars with, or without, it.
      Harry

    21. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      05-27-2007 05:28 PM #21
      Quote, originally posted by maverixz »
      I was told my W12 didn't come with the trunk microswitch because it is the 1st generation PE...

      Malcolm:
      There were a very small number of 2004 W12 Phaetons imported into North America prior to the delivery of the big tranche of Premier Editions. These very early production 2004 W12s were, for the most part, press cars or VW executive vehicles. They did not conform to the build specification for the "Premiere Edition", all of which had exactly the same option fitment (and exactly the same colour scheme - black outside, beige inside).
      Have a look at your VIN - if it ends in a number below 8000, it is possible that you have one of these early production cars. Have a look at your trunk lid hinges as well - if you have the cast aluminum hinges, then you have a power trunk, and if you have a power trunk, then you have a microswitch behind the VW logo on the trunk lid (I will bet the rent money on that last sentence).
      Below is a picture of the cast aluminum trunk hinges
      Michael

      Last edited by PanEuropean; 04-12-2012 at 04:51 PM.

    22. 05-27-2007 05:43 PM #22
      Getting back to my original question, how is it the no one at VW Canada knows anything about the microswitch feature.
      Is it a "hidden" feature that they don't know is available on NAR models?

    23. 05-27-2007 06:56 PM #23
      Quote, originally posted by PanEuropean »
      Malcolm:
      There were a very small number of 2004 W12 Phaetons imported into North America prior to the delivery of the big tranche of Premier Editions. These very early production 2004 W12s were, for the most part, press cars or VW executive vehicles. They did not conform to the build specification for the "Premiere Edition", all of which had exactly the same option fitment (and exactly the same colour scheme - black outside, beige inside).
      Have a look at your VIN - if it ends in a number below 8000, it is possible that you have one of these early production cars. Have a look at your trunk lid hinges as well - if you have the cast aluminum hinges, then you have a power trunk, and if you have a power trunk, then you have a microswitch behind the VW logo on the trunk lid (I will bet the rent money on that last sentence).
      Below is a picture of the cast aluminum trunk hinges
      Michael

      Michael,
      My vin ends with 7533 and according to the Dealership (Alexandria Volkswagen, VA) where I bought it from, it is a PE which is what makes the whole thing weird and as per having the hinges, it has everything else like the polished hinges, auto trunk closure button besides the trunk hatch (that receeds when opened), internal driver side trunk release et al. Some of which can be seen in the pictures below.





      Modified by maverixz at 8:31 PM 5-27-2007
      ________________________________________________
      VW Touareg | Range Rover HSE | Acura RL | W12 Phaeton (sold but no replacement yet )

    24. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      05-27-2007 07:28 PM #24
      Malcolm:
      I'm positive that your Phaeton has a microswitch behind the VW logo on the trunk lid. I will bet the rent money on this.
      Go out to the car, press straight inwards (forwards) exactly in the middle of the logo (where the bottom of the V meets the top middle of the W), and listen for a tiny click. If you hear one, that's the microswitch.
      Michael

      Last edited by PanEuropean; 10-07-2012 at 07:51 PM.

    25. Senior Member PanEuropean's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2001
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      21,463
      Vehicles
      2015 Golf Highline
      05-27-2007 07:29 PM #25
      Quote, originally posted by brutus13 »
      ... how is it the no one at VW Canada knows anything about the microswitch feature?

      It probably has to do with the fact that VW only sold about 115 Phaetons in Canada during the entire 3 year period that the car was offered.
      Michael

    Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •