Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast
    Results 141 to 175 of 293

    Thread: DIY: 2.0L ABA Swap! New and Improved!

    1. 03-27-2011 07:04 PM #141
      its true everyone misses the red/yellow wire... it has a red plug on the end give it 12v and abracadabra you have fuel and spark...

      i'd love more info on the cluster stuff making the tac work people say neg site but the mk3 coil doesnt have a neg side? is it in the plug harness that plugs into it.

      and removing the rev limitor using the vss on a cruise control cluster...

    2. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      03-28-2011 02:24 AM #142
      Quote Originally Posted by buster_mk3gti View Post
      its true everyone misses the red/yellow wire... it has a red plug on the end give it 12v and abracadabra you have fuel and spark...

      i'd love more info on the cluster stuff making the tac work people say neg site but the mk3 coil doesnt have a neg side? is it in the plug harness that plugs into it.

      and removing the rev limitor using the vss on a cruise control cluster...
      Mk3 coil DOES have a negative side, there is a little flap that lifts up and has two male connectors on it, one is negative, check a few pages back and i'm sure you will see where I showed someone else. Doing my tach signal this way I never had a rev limiter issue, I burried the tach on 7k cluster and never floated valves.

      Also, I was running speedo cable and no vss
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    3. Member renngolf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 24th, 2005
      Location
      Burlington, ON
      Posts
      2,644
      Vehicles
      99 Acura 1.6El, 98 Jetta GT(gone), 91 Golf CL
      03-28-2011 02:48 AM #143
      Quote Originally Posted by buster_mk3gti View Post
      and removing the rev limitor using the vss on a cruise control cluster...
      You don't need a cruise control cluster. You need the VSS module from one however.
      Connect it to the back of your cluster, and you will get a signal output at W1 in the fusebox. Connect the blue/white wire to it. Sends signal to ECU.

      Some people run the signal directly from the VSS module to the ECU I believe.
      Quote Originally Posted by barry2952 View Post
      So, not recommended for '50s engines?
      Quote Originally Posted by KahviVW View Post
      I think they require fresh oil squeezed from a live dinosaur. It's the only way.

    4. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      03-28-2011 03:00 AM #144
      Quote Originally Posted by renngolf View Post
      You don't need a cruise control cluster. You need the VSS module from one however.
      Connect it to the back of your cluster, and you will get a signal output at W1 in the fusebox. Connect the blue/white wire to it. Sends signal to ECU.

      Some people run the signal directly from the VSS module to the ECU I believe.
      See above post
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    5. Member renngolf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 24th, 2005
      Location
      Burlington, ON
      Posts
      2,644
      Vehicles
      99 Acura 1.6El, 98 Jetta GT(gone), 91 Golf CL
      03-28-2011 01:29 PM #145
      Quote Originally Posted by boostedbastid View Post
      See above post
      Derp.
      Quote Originally Posted by barry2952 View Post
      So, not recommended for '50s engines?
      Quote Originally Posted by KahviVW View Post
      I think they require fresh oil squeezed from a live dinosaur. It's the only way.

    6. Member South_East_Vintage's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 21st, 2004
      Location
      Charlotte, NC
      Posts
      1,008
      Vehicles
      2014 GTI, 1995 Golf, 2005 Jetta, 1984 E30
      03-28-2011 05:39 PM #146
      Quote Originally Posted by 89VWdieselGolf View Post
      Theres a green wire coming from the back of the fuse panel (check out the CE2 wiring website) and trace the wire the controls the tach from the cluster to fuse panel, and then take the wire that goes from the fuse panel to ecu and cut splice it into the neg side of the ICM (ignition control module), NOT the coil. (that wire runs along the firewall right behind the coil so its very easy to splice)
      I'm trying to wire up my tach in a Mk2 CE2 cluster with OBD2 swap. Can someone take a photo or be slightly more descriptive about which wires to splice? I am not stupid. I tried splicing the tach into the wire at the fuse panel so I wouldn't have to run an extra wire into the bay, but it didn't work.

      Also, can anyone tell me which wire in the CE2 fuse panel is the K wire? I'm trying to wire up an OBD2 connector, and I've got the Mk3 and Mk2 wiring diagrams, and I'm still having trouble finding it.

      Everything else is working/running without issue. These are the last two wiring bits I need to solve. Thanks!

    7. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      03-29-2011 10:09 PM #147
      Quote Originally Posted by South_East_Vintage View Post
      Also, can anyone tell me which wire in the CE2 fuse panel is the K wire? I'm trying to wire up an OBD2 connector, and I've got the Mk3 and Mk2 wiring diagrams, and I'm still having trouble finding it.
      the single gray w/white wire to the right with brown connector is the obd2 signal wire from the ecu, the other wires on the obd2 connector are power and ground, unless the car you got it from had auto trans or abs.



      this is a pic of the tach signal wire
      Last edited by boostedbastid; 03-29-2011 at 10:24 PM.
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    8. Member South_East_Vintage's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 21st, 2004
      Location
      Charlotte, NC
      Posts
      1,008
      Vehicles
      2014 GTI, 1995 Golf, 2005 Jetta, 1984 E30
      04-04-2011 02:25 PM #148
      Quote Originally Posted by boostedbastid View Post
      the single gray w/white wire to the right with brown connector is the obd2 signal wire from the ecu
      Thanks a bunch. It was so easy to wire up... I took the connector out of a Mk3, so the gray wire with white tracer matched right up. I wired both grounds to a spare ground terminal next to the fusebox and wired the B+ to a B+ spade terminal on top of the fuse panel. Worked on the first try. If anyone in the future has any questions about this, feel free to PM me.

    9. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 29th, 2009
      Posts
      76
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      04-05-2011 12:32 AM #149
      Quote Originally Posted by boostedbastid View Post
      Sounds like that might be one of the ignition switch wires that tells the ecu to turn on, also try jumping the fuel pump directly at the plug on the pump and see if it does anything, just give it straight power and ground from the battery and post results here. Feel free to pm me directly
      Hey, When I jump the pumps they hum like they should. I was told that big red wire and the big red w/ black are just supposed to be connected. and just above the 30/30b plugs is where my red + yellow ign wire goes. I tried this and still no hum from the fuel pump. Cranks fine. Ideas? Anyone have a pic of their fuse block by any chance?
      Thanks,
      Quote Originally Posted by dilated1734 View Post
      Wow. You might save some time if you spoke directly out of your ass instead of using your keyboard as a middle man.

    10. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      04-05-2011 05:01 AM #150
      Quote Originally Posted by VoltronSBA View Post
      Hey, When I jump the pumps they hum like they should. I was told that big red wire and the big red w/ black are just supposed to be connected. and just above the 30/30b plugs is where my red + yellow ign wire goes. I tried this and still no hum from the fuel pump. Cranks fine. Ideas? Anyone have a pic of their fuse block by any chance?
      Thanks,
      Pm sent
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    11. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      05-02-2011 03:42 PM #151
      anyone know how to wire up the cel?
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    12. Member getamongst-it's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 5th, 2005
      Location
      Rockfall, CT
      Posts
      404
      Vehicles
      1987 Jetta Pirelli Edition Coupe
      05-15-2011 03:06 PM #152
      Quote Originally Posted by boostedbastid View Post
      Pm sent

      Originally Posted by VoltronSBA
      Hey, When I jump the pumps they hum like they should. I was told that big red wire and the big red w/ black are just supposed to be connected. and just above the 30/30b plugs is where my red + yellow ign wire goes. I tried this and still no hum from the fuel pump. Cranks fine. Ideas? Anyone have a pic of their fuse block by any chance?
      Thanks,


      We have the same issue. Can you share some insight?

      We have only had the fuel pump run when we put a mkIII relay in just to check but then it would not stop until I pulled the relay even with the key off/out so I'm guessing it was bad so it got stuck. The starter works properly but we have no spark and no fuel. We have the 30/30b plugged in with the red/yellow wire in it.
      -87 Pirelli Edition Jetta Coupe-

      Stance|Works_Gengstout_GetLow
      R.I.P. Alexi

    13. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2003
      Location
      Bay Area CA
      Posts
      2,279
      Vehicles
      1985 ABA MK2 Golf
      05-15-2011 03:33 PM #153
      What?

      Quote Originally Posted by boostedbastid View Post
      anyone know how to wire up the cel?

    14. Member South_East_Vintage's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 21st, 2004
      Location
      Charlotte, NC
      Posts
      1,008
      Vehicles
      2014 GTI, 1995 Golf, 2005 Jetta, 1984 E30
      05-16-2011 02:20 PM #154
      Quote Originally Posted by boostedbastid View Post
      anyone know how to wire up the cel?
      Check 4 posts above your post.

    15. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      05-16-2011 06:27 PM #155
      Quote Originally Posted by South_East_Vintage View Post
      Check 4 posts above your post.
      You mean where I explained how to wire the obd2 port? Because that's definitely the post 4 above the one you quoted...
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    16. Member South_East_Vintage's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 21st, 2004
      Location
      Charlotte, NC
      Posts
      1,008
      Vehicles
      2014 GTI, 1995 Golf, 2005 Jetta, 1984 E30
      05-17-2011 10:15 AM #156
      Yeah, I'm an idiot. It was a long day yesterday. Are you using a Mk2 or Mk3 cluster?

    17. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      05-17-2011 02:10 PM #157
      Quote Originally Posted by South_East_Vintage View Post
      Yeah, I'm an idiot. It was a long day yesterday. Are you using a Mk2 or Mk3 cluster?
      Mk2, I found a couple of seatbelt, brake, cel dash lights
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    18. Member getamongst-it's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 5th, 2005
      Location
      Rockfall, CT
      Posts
      404
      Vehicles
      1987 Jetta Pirelli Edition Coupe
      05-17-2011 10:10 PM #158
      bumping my own post. any ideas?

      Quote Originally Posted by MK2JettaGL View Post
      Originally Posted by VoltronSBA
      Hey, When I jump the pumps they hum like they should. I was told that big red wire and the big red w/ black are just supposed to be connected. and just above the 30/30b plugs is where my red + yellow ign wire goes. I tried this and still no hum from the fuel pump. Cranks fine. Ideas? Anyone have a pic of their fuse block by any chance?
      Thanks,


      We have the same issue. Can you share some insight?

      We have only had the fuel pump run when we put a mkIII relay in just to check but then it would not stop until I pulled the relay even with the key off/out so I'm guessing it was bad so it got stuck. The starter works properly but we have no spark and no fuel. We have the 30/30b plugged in with the red/yellow wire in it.
      -87 Pirelli Edition Jetta Coupe-

      Stance|Works_Gengstout_GetLow
      R.I.P. Alexi

    19. Member twinrado's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 23rd, 2005
      Location
      Roseville (St.Paul)
      Posts
      1,758
      Vehicles
      Corrado, Audi A6, Passat
      05-17-2011 10:20 PM #159
      This will help me with my g60 swap. So does everyone put the harness after the engine is in?
      There's no such thing as too much of anything but to little results in the need for more.

    20. Member IbisWhiteWolf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 9th, 2008
      Location
      Pickering ON
      Posts
      432
      Vehicles
      1990 VW Jetta \/ 1992 VW Jetta /\
      05-18-2011 07:46 PM #160
      I would plug in the harness while the engine is out, because you have much more room to work.
      VolksWagen: Bis Zum Bitteren Ende

      Quote Originally Posted by calyp_so_fine View Post
      dude the new hype is to not give a ****, so you sir are obviously out of style at this moment

    21. Member bretthbmx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2007
      Location
      Hancock, Maryland
      Posts
      1,714
      Vehicles
      MK2 Golf ABA
      06-01-2011 07:28 PM #161
      I'm doing this swap right now and do I need the ABA exhaust manifold with the mk2 downpipe? Or ABA exhaust manifold and mk3 downpipe? or mk2 exhaust manifold and mk2 downpipe?
      Legit- C.R.I.T.S., MK6spDiesel, KEDI, jason92300, Beetle.freak
      sure theres more, but I can't remember them.

    22. Member bretthbmx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2007
      Location
      Hancock, Maryland
      Posts
      1,714
      Vehicles
      MK2 Golf ABA
      06-03-2011 08:59 PM #162
      Also, do you use the mini fuse block thing from the MK3 for this or what do you use for this plug?

      Legit- C.R.I.T.S., MK6spDiesel, KEDI, jason92300, Beetle.freak
      sure theres more, but I can't remember them.

    23. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      06-04-2011 05:14 PM #163
      Mk3 manifold and 2 or 3 dp. That plug is for the fan control module
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    24. Member bretthbmx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2007
      Location
      Hancock, Maryland
      Posts
      1,714
      Vehicles
      MK2 Golf ABA
      06-04-2011 05:24 PM #164
      Quote Originally Posted by boostedbastid View Post
      Mk3 manifold and 2 or 3 dp. That plug is for the fan control module
      I know what it's for, do you need the module though?
      Legit- C.R.I.T.S., MK6spDiesel, KEDI, jason92300, Beetle.freak
      sure theres more, but I can't remember them.

    25. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 31st, 2007
      Location
      Far from anywhere worth noting, VA
      Posts
      7,670
      Vehicles
      Le Bomber.
      06-04-2011 08:02 PM #165
      Quote Originally Posted by bretthbmx View Post
      I know what it's for, do you need the module though?
      Only if you want AirCon
      Fifteen52's Official Facebook Page!

      Quote Originally Posted by rpmk4 View Post
      tl;dr = bitches be crazy
      If I have a post on here that has a dead pic PM me, I selfishly reorganized my photobucket in boredom.

    26. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      06-04-2011 08:06 PM #166
      Fyi if anyone wants to run ac on aba swap they will need corrado compressor and lines which i'm about to take out of my g60
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    27. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2003
      Location
      Bay Area CA
      Posts
      2,279
      Vehicles
      1985 ABA MK2 Golf
      06-04-2011 08:21 PM #167
      Soo.. If you dont have AC in the car, you can just unplug the control module and the cooling fans still work etc?



      Quote Originally Posted by ennui_delphian View Post
      Only if you want AirCon

    28. Member bretthbmx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2007
      Location
      Hancock, Maryland
      Posts
      1,714
      Vehicles
      MK2 Golf ABA
      06-04-2011 08:48 PM #168
      Quote Originally Posted by Satur9 View Post
      Soo.. If you dont have AC in the car, you can just unplug the control module and the cooling fans still work etc?

      That's what I'm wondering now. I suppose once I get the car running I could let it warm up and see but I'd rather know now.

      Also, I took both big harnesses out and there is also this smaller harness. What is it for and do I need it? Im guessing it has to do with the a/c too? It's the green plug and relay on the inside.

      Legit- C.R.I.T.S., MK6spDiesel, KEDI, jason92300, Beetle.freak
      sure theres more, but I can't remember them.

    29. Member bretthbmx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2007
      Location
      Hancock, Maryland
      Posts
      1,714
      Vehicles
      MK2 Golf ABA
      06-04-2011 08:52 PM #169
      Well I looked at a2 resource and it is the a/c harness. If I unhook it, will my blower still work?

      Also does anyone have a PDF file of the ce2 fuseblock from a2 resource? I think I had one a while ago, but lost it.

      It'd be nice to have on my iPhone.
      Legit- C.R.I.T.S., MK6spDiesel, KEDI, jason92300, Beetle.freak
      sure theres more, but I can't remember them.

    30. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      06-07-2011 06:53 PM #170
      Quote Originally Posted by bretthbmx View Post
      Well I looked at a2 resource and it is the a/c harness. If I unhook it, will my blower still work?

      Also does anyone have a PDF file of the ce2 fuseblock from a2 resource? I think I had one a while ago, but lost it.

      It'd be nice to have on my iPhone.
      I don't think the blower will still work, I picked up a non ac heater box and couldn't figure out how to wire it up, then I found a ce2 non ac car at the junkyard and the wiring was cake. Power for non ac comes from a black with red wire coming out of the fuse box then up around the column (there was only one) then into the blower switch, then the rest of the wires on the switch run to the blower, then blower has a ground. Hope that makes sense.

      I think i'm gonna start picking up this harness whenever I can from now on, seems like a lot of people use it
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    31. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      06-07-2011 06:54 PM #171
      Quote Originally Posted by MK2JettaGL View Post
      Originally Posted by VoltronSBA
      Hey, When I jump the pumps they hum like they should. I was told that big red wire and the big red w/ black are just supposed to be connected. and just above the 30/30b plugs is where my red + yellow ign wire goes. I tried this and still no hum from the fuel pump. Cranks fine. Ideas? Anyone have a pic of their fuse block by any chance?
      Thanks,


      We have the same issue. Can you share some insight?

      We have only had the fuel pump run when we put a mkIII relay in just to check but then it would not stop until I pulled the relay even with the key off/out so I'm guessing it was bad so it got stuck. The starter works properly but we have no spark and no fuel. We have the 30/30b plugged in with the red/yellow wire in it.
      Did you guys possibly hook up the battery with the key on?
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    32. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 31st, 2007
      Location
      Far from anywhere worth noting, VA
      Posts
      7,670
      Vehicles
      Le Bomber.
      06-08-2011 06:33 AM #172
      Links and pictures for you folks with fan wiring questions (both rad and blower motor)

      rad fan wiring when AC junk is removed



      Making a AC blower fan harness work on a non-AC heaterbox

      Quote Originally Posted by S4mig View Post
      Just one for the archives as I could not find this information anywhere within the forums.

      This setup assumes that you have replaced the A/C heater setup with one from a non A/C car. First thing you'll notice is that the non A/C blower is a three speed and does not use all the same connections as the A/C blower. These steps will allow you to use the factory A/C harness with the non A/C blower

      This procedure was done on a CE1 harness. CE2 should be similar but some harness colors may be different. A jeweler's screwdriver worked well for removing the pins from the connectors.

      First step is to get power back to the fan switch. To do this find the white three pin connector near the blower motor connector. This connector needs to be jumpered to allow the fan switch to get power.

      You'll jumper the Black and Red stripe wire to the Red and White stripe wire


      Test jumper installed

      Next step is to repin the section of harness that goes between the main heater harness and the blower motor. Stock harness shown

      This end goes into the motor. The individual wires that go to the A/C blower motor will be removed. The Brown wire will be completely removed, the Red with Black stripe wire gets cut underneath the heat shrink.

      Default wiring for the harness end connector.

      Modified harness end connector. Completely remove the brown wire, relocate the white wire to its location.

      Modified fan motor connector. The White wire is left in its place.
      Move the Red with Black striped wire to the top pin next to the white wire.
      Move the soild Yellow wire to the right where the Red with Black wire was.
      Move the Yellow with black stripe to where the solid yellow wire was below the white wire.

      Reconnect the modified harness to the new blower motor. The fan switch should now behave where starting from the far left position; off, low, medium, high

      Hope this helps someone in the future.

      Fifteen52's Official Facebook Page!

      Quote Originally Posted by rpmk4 View Post
      tl;dr = bitches be crazy
      If I have a post on here that has a dead pic PM me, I selfishly reorganized my photobucket in boredom.

    33. Member bretthbmx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2007
      Location
      Hancock, Maryland
      Posts
      1,714
      Vehicles
      MK2 Golf ABA
      06-11-2011 08:33 PM #173
      I just finished my wiring on my OBD2 swap and I noticed a lot of people said there is a red/yellow wire people miss with a red connector on the end, I don't see one anywhere?...

      Also, which side is the negative of the coil since the center is marked positive and the outside ones are negative..
      Legit- C.R.I.T.S., MK6spDiesel, KEDI, jason92300, Beetle.freak
      sure theres more, but I can't remember them.

    34. Member boostedbastid's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 31st, 2009
      Location
      portland oregon
      Posts
      2,079
      Vehicles
      few here, few there, big whoop wanna fight about it?
      06-14-2011 09:53 PM #174
      Quote Originally Posted by bretthbmx View Post

      Also, which side is the negative of the coil since the center is marked positive and the outside ones are negative..
      seriously dude? scroll up
      DubSaints Alpine White supremacist

    35. Member bretthbmx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2007
      Location
      Hancock, Maryland
      Posts
      1,714
      Vehicles
      MK2 Golf ABA
      06-14-2011 10:39 PM #175
      Quote Originally Posted by boostedbastid View Post
      seriously dude? scroll up
      Both of the outside ones are marked negative?
      Legit- C.R.I.T.S., MK6spDiesel, KEDI, jason92300, Beetle.freak
      sure theres more, but I can't remember them.

    Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •