Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 15 of 15

    Thread: How to reset the ECU

    1. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 5th, 2000
      Location
      Starkville, MS
      Posts
      586
      Vehicles
      2006 CW GTI, 2012 CW Tiguan, 1982 Rabbit Convertible
      11-27-2007 12:14 AM #1
      There's currently a discussion on the B6 forum about how the cars drive better after the OY update, but it appears that the imporovement is really just due to the tech resetting the ECU to defaults as part of the update process. Obviously, disconnecting the battery will reset the ECU, but is there another way?

      For example, when I replaced the battery in my son's 2001 Audi A4, there was some procedure I read about on the web where I switched on the ignition (but didn't crank the engine) and then floored the accelerator for 30 seconds or something to reset the ECU. Is there a similar trick for the MKVs?


    2. Member User_In_Hiding's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 26th, 2003
      Location
      Philadelphia, PA
      Posts
      2,650
      Vehicles
      '91 Ecodiesel, 2009 BMW 328i
      11-27-2007 12:47 AM #2
      Your confusing a throttle body alignment and resetting the ECU.

      To reset the ECU you can unhook the battery and touch the + and - (not on the battery obviously), the ECU will also reset if you clear your DTC's with a VAG-COM.

      For a TBA you can do it without a VAG-COM but some will argue it's not as effective. To do it without a VAG turn the key on but don't start the car, dont touch the throttle let it sit for around 60 seconds. To do it with a VAG-COM read here.

      http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-c....html

      Nick @ BlownEuros

    3. Member User_In_Hiding's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 26th, 2003
      Location
      Philadelphia, PA
      Posts
      2,650
      Vehicles
      '91 Ecodiesel, 2009 BMW 328i
      11-27-2007 12:48 AM #3
      Forgot to add any time you unhook the battery you should do a TBA
      Nick @ BlownEuros

    4. Member Idleone's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2nd, 2006
      Location
      SudLager, Vilseck, Germany
      Posts
      286
      11-27-2007 01:12 AM #4
      Got a question for you:

      If you reset the ECU or unhook your battery, will the changes you made via VAG com disappear? Such as no seatbelt warnig, disable DRL, windows open / close via fobs, etc...


    5. 11-27-2007 01:57 AM #5
      just perform a basic settings on the ecu..

    6. Member rysskii3's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 18th, 2006
      Location
      SoCal
      Posts
      9,308
      Vehicles
      MKII Race Car
      11-27-2007 02:59 AM #6
      Quote, originally posted by Idleone »
      Got a question for you:

      If you reset the ECU or unhook your battery, will the changes you made via VAG com disappear? Such as no seatbelt warnig, disable DRL, windows open / close via fobs, etc...


      NO. to reset ecu all u do is unplug the batter for few min and thats it. all ur vag com setting will stay there
      OIF 06-07: Hospital Corpsman FMF. Al Habbaniyah, Al-Anbar Province, Iraq.
      Mk2 Performance and OEM parts for sale.
      Project Гольф Мк2 (R1 Carbed)
      Carbs wiring diagrams

    7. 11-27-2007 04:42 AM #7
      edit.....


      Modified by oakley75 at 8:24 PM 11-29-2007

    8. Member User_In_Hiding's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 26th, 2003
      Location
      Philadelphia, PA
      Posts
      2,650
      Vehicles
      '91 Ecodiesel, 2009 BMW 328i
      11-27-2007 10:16 AM #8
      Quote, originally posted by oakley75 »
      I guess I should to a TBA via vag-com. I followed the link but I'm not sure which procedure to follow. Anyone have any ideas? I have a 2006 Jetta TDI.
      Thanks

      It should be the last one.

      "Turn the key on but do not start the car.

      [Select]
      [01 - Engine]
      [Basic Settings - 04]
      Group 060
      [Go!]
      It should say "Basic Settings: OFF" on the top of your screen.
      Click [ON/OFF/Next] to turn on Basic Settings.
      It should now say "Basic Settings: ON" on the top of your screen.
      Once you do this you will see the top right display say ADP RUN. The TB adaptation is being done as soon as you switched basic settings on. You will see the values change and hear the TB cycle for the first few seconds then it will stop. Leave it in Basic Settings for about 30 seconds.
      Click [ON/OFF/Next] to turn off Basic Settings.
      It should now say "Basic Settings: OFF" on the top of your screen
      Click the [Done, Go Back] button and you're all set.

      Be sure not to touch the accelerator and make sure the engine is NOT running when you do this!"

      Nick @ BlownEuros

    9. 11-27-2007 11:59 AM #9
      from the same link you posted:

      "This should be obvious but TDI's do not have throttle bodies."

      and below is where the person you replied to clearly states he has a TDI.

      Quote, originally posted by oakley75 »
      I guess I should to a TBA via vag-com. I followed the link but I'm not sure which procedure to follow. Anyone have any ideas? I have a 2006 Jetta TDI.
      Thanks




      Modified by MostWanted at 11:07 AM 11-27-2007

    10. Member User_In_Hiding's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 26th, 2003
      Location
      Philadelphia, PA
      Posts
      2,650
      Vehicles
      '91 Ecodiesel, 2009 BMW 328i
      11-27-2007 12:23 PM #10
      Ha I guess thats what I get for not ready his entire post Didnt see he had a TDI
      Nick @ BlownEuros

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 5th, 2000
      Location
      Starkville, MS
      Posts
      586
      Vehicles
      2006 CW GTI, 2012 CW Tiguan, 1982 Rabbit Convertible
      11-28-2007 01:06 AM #11
      Quote, originally posted by User_In_Hiding »
      Your confusing a throttle body alignment and resetting the ECU....snip...

      You are correct. Actually, it occurred to me this morning that I didn't really mean the ECU, I was really thinking about just resetting the adaptive transmission to defaults. I could swear I had read (years ago) that there was a procedure to reset the adaptive trans in MKIVs that didn't involve unhooking the battery. If I find out for sure one way or the other, I will repost. Thanks


    12. 11-28-2007 02:00 AM #12
      you need vag-com to reset the ecu, or tcm.

    13. 11-28-2007 01:12 PM #13
      i think you are referring to this:

      http://wiki.ross-tech.com/inde...ation

      kick down section specifically.


    14. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Bronx NY
      Posts
      2,699
      Vehicles
      2015 GTI
      11-28-2007 01:38 PM #14
      wat purpose does a TBA serve?

    15. 11-28-2007 01:51 PM #15
      if you look over the following link originally posted by user_in_hiding it gives you a quick run down on why its useful/needed.

      http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-c....html


    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •