Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 104 123451151101 ... LastLast

Thread: The 'official' running thread.

Vehicles
      List your car(s) owned here
      04-24-2008 01:13 PM #1
      so i've been having some great conversations in other threads about running, everything from starting out to equipment to experienced runners... but those conversations tend to spring up in threads about other topics.

i know there's runners in here, whether they speak up or lurk... so being that there is no running forum i thought i would start a thread specific to running and see how it goes. just please keep it OT.

let's see what happens.

I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job. I'm your average white, suburbanite slob.

You could not pay me enough to own another Ford or another hybrid ever again. http://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/203834.png

Vehicles
      04-24-2008 01:18 PM #2
      i'll get it going... i'm a newbie runner. played baseball and hockey in h.s. so endurance is something new to me. i'm running my first 5k next weekend as a base time, and then i will begin my real training.

after i run the 5k i will begin the real program to try and build my endurance and drop my time. i plan on 10k's being my next stop, but i want to see how the progress actually goes with the 5k.

my intial program is going to be:

Mon: Off
      Tue: Tempo run of 2-4 miles
      Wed: Something sprint/speed based
      Th: Tempo run of 3-4 miles
      Fri: Off
      Sat: Slow 2 miles
      Sun: Slow long run, starting at 4, thereafter either 5 or 6.

it's a slight tweak (on Tues.) to this program http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_4/142.shtml with a little elaboration based on a program i found at runnersworld.com... my own hybrid.

would love some input from the experienced folks in here.

I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job. I'm your average white, suburbanite slob.