Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 28 of 28

    Thread: DIY cam positioning sensor (hall sensor)

    1. 05-31-2008 12:35 PM #1
      A few people have asked me how to do this. So i'll make a short write-up. This is very simple to do. Shouldn't take more than 10minutes. I was throwing a cam positioning sensor fault code, this fixed it.

      1. Remove engine cover, and remove timing belt shield, there are two tabs.

      2. Notice the bolts, i think they are 13mm. Also pull the clip out of the electrical sensor making sure not to drop it.

      3. Remove/replace, install in reverse order.


    2. Member kaipyroami's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 21st, 2008
      Location
      Moorpark CA
      Posts
      1,318
      Vehicles
      2001 VW GTI 1.8T
      06-02-2008 04:44 PM #2
      cool

    3. Member ruetzal's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 17th, 2007
      Location
      Wisco
      Posts
      3,151
      Vehicles
      '13 WRX, 2009 A3 sold, '03 GTI sold
      06-13-2008 12:47 PM #3
      save just in case.. pulled this code after my timing belt and waterpump were replaced and started with not everything back together, so cleared the code and we will see if it comes back

    4. 06-13-2008 01:16 PM #4
      For the connector, you don't have to remove the clip, you can actually push it in to release and it'll stay attached to the connector.

    5. 06-13-2008 01:32 PM #5
      that sensor have my initials on it?

      nice write up.


      Modified by mirror at 10:38 AM 6-13-2008


    6. 06-13-2008 04:13 PM #6
      Quote, originally posted by mirror »
      that sensor have my initials on it?

      nice write up.


      Modified by mirror at 10:38 AM 6-13-2008

      the one coming out did


    7. Member jettaturbokid30's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 30th, 2004
      Location
      ABQ, NM
      Posts
      189
      Vehicles
      2008 VW GTI
      06-13-2008 07:29 PM #7
      I'm getting code related to Cam Positioning Sensor. My local shop wants close to 1k to replace both the sensor and hydraulic unit.

      When I asked them to replace the sensor first, they insist that both parts are sold as one from VW ($399 to $450 alone for the two parts) ...is that true?

      I'm dying to give this a shot.


    8. 06-13-2008 08:26 PM #8
      Quote, originally posted by jettaturbokid30 »
      I'm getting code related to Cam Positioning Sensor. My local shop wants close to 1k to replace both the sensor and hydraulic unit.

      When I asked them to replace the sensor first, they insist that both parts are sold as one from VW ($399 to $450 alone for the two parts) ...is that true?

      I'm dying to give this a shot.

      not true, i bought the sensor from mjm autohaus for like 80 or so.


    9. 06-13-2008 09:38 PM #9
      Quote, originally posted by jettaturbokid30 »
      I'm getting code related to Cam Positioning Sensor. My local shop wants close to 1k to replace both the sensor and hydraulic unit.

      When I asked them to replace the sensor first, they insist that both parts are sold as one from VW ($399 to $450 alone for the two parts) ...is that true?

      I'm dying to give this a shot.

      your getting hosed. I know because this is the work I do.

    10. Member jettaturbokid30's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 30th, 2004
      Location
      ABQ, NM
      Posts
      189
      Vehicles
      2008 VW GTI
      06-13-2008 10:42 PM #10
      Luckly, I have not committed to having my car fixed by them. BTW, how difficult is it to swap out the hydro unit?

    11. 06-14-2008 12:29 AM #11
      depends on who does it. Lets just say it cam be done removing only one cam. Most won't do it that way though. I would say 2.5-3 hrs would be fair shop time on that

    12. 06-14-2008 12:49 AM #12
      I think you may have re-installed the 2 bolts backwards.

    13. Member CamaroSS's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 17th, 2009
      Location
      Severn, Maryland
      Posts
      244
      Vehicles
      2001 GTI 1.8T, 2001 Camaro SS
      07-28-2009 07:26 PM #13
      Just bought a 01 gti 1.8t. It has a light on and the code is for the cam sensor. Is this the same procedure for replacing it? How would i reset the light in the dash?

    14. 07-28-2009 07:30 PM #14
      Quote, originally posted by Rippinralf »
      I think you may have re-installed the 2 bolts backwards.

      Yeah, the 2 bolts are 10mm, and the single bolt holding the actual wheel on the camshaft is a single 13mm bolt.

      I'm sure whoever is doing the install can figure that out though.


    15. Member CamaroSS's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 17th, 2009
      Location
      Severn, Maryland
      Posts
      244
      Vehicles
      2001 GTI 1.8T, 2001 Camaro SS
      07-28-2009 07:33 PM #15
      Ill be doing the install. Im just asking because the vw dealer said it would take 2 to 3 hours to replace at 100 bucks an hour plus 170 for the sensor. if all it takes is 20 min of my time i see no reason to pay a vw dealer to bend me over and have their way. how do i reset the light?

    16. Member CamaroSS's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 17th, 2009
      Location
      Severn, Maryland
      Posts
      244
      Vehicles
      2001 GTI 1.8T, 2001 Camaro SS
      07-29-2009 12:11 PM #16
      how do i reset the light?

    17. 07-29-2009 12:51 PM #17
      Quote, originally posted by CamaroSS »
      how do i reset the light?

      vag-com


    18. Member CamaroSS's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 17th, 2009
      Location
      Severn, Maryland
      Posts
      244
      Vehicles
      2001 GTI 1.8T, 2001 Camaro SS
      07-29-2009 06:27 PM #18
      if i dont have vag-com. how can i reset it?

    19. Member alleghenyman's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 20th, 2003
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      5,456
      Vehicles
      Worship the volcano or else!
      09-21-2009 11:18 PM #19
      You can reset it if you take it to autozone and scan the code - they will let you use the code scanner for free.
      "You see, I am for the great loves and the great hates."
      -Enzo Ferrari

    20. Member Ltownhockey17's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 27th, 2007
      Location
      Concord, NH
      Posts
      1,351
      Vehicles
      2001 TT 225 6MT, 2005 Kawasaki Z1000
      09-24-2009 01:35 PM #20
      watching. im also throwing a code for a cam postiion sensor

    21. Junior Member Aldeezy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Miamiii
      Posts
      25
      Vehicles
      '02 GTI 1.8T
      05-15-2011 11:45 PM #21
      same code comes up for me; i've been looking for this FOR A WHILE! had no idea it was right there lmao thanks man, idk what i'd do w/o everyones write ups and VWVORTEX!!!

    22. Member G-Shock's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 14th, 2002
      Location
      Chandler, Arizona
      Posts
      1,403
      Vehicles
      2002 Relex Silver 1.8T VW GTI
      12-05-2011 11:01 PM #22
      Thanks for the write up finally going to get that code fixed.

    23. 12-16-2011 10:48 PM #23
      My engine doesn't look like the one pictured above, I have an 01 GTI Vr6. Yesterday I put octane boost in the tank for the first time, and today the engine made a different sound, and threw a code for camshaft position sensor. I'm wondering, a) are the two related? and b) where is the sensor??? I've heard that it is near the timing belt (left side of engine) and I've heard its on the distributor side (right side of engine.)

      Any help would be much appreciated.

      Jen

    24. Member 20vnick's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 27th, 2011
      Location
      Kitchener, Ontario
      Posts
      160
      Vehicles
      Jetta 1.8T, Honda s2000
      03-10-2012 05:26 PM #24
      take offf the ground!!!!

    25. 10-15-2012 09:34 PM #25
      I recently bought a 2003 Gti. The previous owner had the camshaft position sensor as well as the timing belt and some other work done totaling over 3k. However it is still throwing this code for camshaft position sensor.

      I took it to Pep Boys and they cleared the code only to have it return about 25 driving miles later.

      Any thoughts?

    26. Banner Advertiser doug@frankenturbo.com's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2009
      Location
      Westchester County, New York
      Posts
      2,754
      10-16-2012 12:06 AM #26
      A usual suspect would be the timing registrations among crank, belt, exhaust cam & intake cam. Odds are that when the t-belt was done, a tooth got missed somewhere. It's a common mistake and easily remedied by a competent tech.
      www.frankenturbo.com
      Let's Do This

    27. 03-06-2014 07:49 PM #27
      Sorry, guys Im not the best at navigating the site. But it sounds like a lot of people that know about these things have replied to this thread, so please HELP! I have a 3.6 2006 Passat and we just replaced this sensor (after getting the engine code/the only code) from the diag. tool at AutoZone. We replaced the sensor with one off Amazon and now engine won't start. It turns over, but wont start. What should we do next?

    28. Banner Advertiser doug@frankenturbo.com's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2009
      Location
      Westchester County, New York
      Posts
      2,754
      03-06-2014 10:55 PM #28
      Disconnect the sensor from the harness and attempt to start. Repeat the attempt a couple of times until the motor starts. The ECU needs a couple of tries at guessing the camshaft(s) position but will catch on quickly. If it doesn't start with the sensor disconnected you have an issue elsewhere in the motor.
      www.frankenturbo.com
      Let's Do This

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •