Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: '98 VW GOLF MKIII HEATER BLOWER-BLOWN?!? PLEASE HELP.

1. 09-02-2008 03:03 AM #1
      GREETINGS,

MY 98 VW GOLF - 4CYL. HEATER FAN STOPPED WORKING TODAY FOR NO APPARENT REASON. IT WAS WORKING ON THE WAY HOME FROM WORK YESTERDAY AND NOT WORKING ON THE WAY TO WORK TODAY.
      I CHECKED THE #6 FUSE FOR THE BLOWER FAN, AND IT'S FINE.
      THIS LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THAT THE BLOWER MOTOR OR THE RESISTER HAS DIED.
      I HAVE NOTICED OVER THE LAS FEW MONTHS, THAT AFTER WASHING THE CAR, WATER GETS INTO THE BLOWER FAN PASSAGES...TO THE POINT WHERE WATER HAS COME OUT OF THE AIR VENTS TO DRIVERS AND FRONT PASSENGERS FEET WHEN FLOOR VENTS ARE SELECTED AND THE FAN IS BLOWING.
      MY CAR IS NOT EQUIPPED WITH AIR CONDITIONING.
      I DON'T KNOW WHERE TO LOOK FOR THE FAN OR THE RESISTOR...NOR DO I KNOW HOW TO GAIN ACCESS TO THEM.
      I AM HANDY WITH A WRENCH, BUT I AM NOT A MECHANIC BY ANY MEANS...ANY ASSISTANCE OR GUIDANCE WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

THANKS,
      DAVE

(ps -forgive me for having the caps lock on...I am not trying to yell or come across as rude. I'm just not a very good typest and don't want to retype it all.)

2. 09-02-2008 03:08 AM #2
      1. Stop yelling.

2. The resistor is usually bad when the fan blows at the same speed, whether you are on 1, 2, 3, etc.

Sounds like the motor went.

It's up, under the dash on the passenger side.

Get into the passenger footwell, and you should see it. Should look something like this.

3. 09-02-2008 04:35 AM #3
      Thanks for your help.

Can you tell me how to remove the blower motor? Is it behind the plastic pannels or is it in plain sight under the passenger footwell?
      Are there anything precautions I should take before undertaking the job...(does the negative terminal need to be disconnected first for example)?