Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 7 of 64 FirstFirst ... 345678910111757 ... LastLast
    Results 211 to 245 of 2220

    Thread: SLR thread

    1. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      05-31-2009 04:28 AM #211
      http://www.staticice.com.au/cg...pos=1

      $1149 for 500D body only seems very good.

      http://www.techrific.com.au/ca...11ccd

      Just need to see if these Techrific guys are selling Australian stock or grey imports.


    2. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      05-31-2009 04:56 AM #212
      Ryda.com looks legit - $1230

      http://www.ryda.com.au/Canon-E...b.htm


    3. Member
      Join Date
      May 7th, 2005
      Location
      The Big Durian
      Posts
      4,988
      05-31-2009 06:36 AM #213
      Don't forget the 40D is still out there as body only. Many 500D reviews I've seen lately have complained about the pricing when the 40D is a much sturdier (and proven) tool, for very little extra over the 500D.

    4. Member
      Join Date
      May 7th, 2005
      Location
      The Big Durian
      Posts
      4,988
      05-31-2009 06:41 AM #214
      Quote, originally posted by TheHamofMam »
      What model is the ball head? I got the GT1278M which is super but way overkill for my compact needs. Would you be interested in it?

      It's a GH2750QR. POS IMHO.

      Not really interested in replacing a Gitzo head with another. The feel of this one has put me off. Want to check out the Acratech GV2 and any other ballheads I can find in US camera stores before I decide what to buy.


    5. Senior Member J-Tim's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 26th, 2000
      Location
      Kangaroo-infested Austria
      Posts
      31,666
      Vehicles
      German/American/French
      05-31-2009 08:27 PM #215
      Quote, originally posted by Kirium »
      Don't forget the 40D is still out there as body only. Many 500D reviews I've seen lately have complained about the pricing when the 40D is a much sturdier (and proven) tool, for very little extra over the 500D.

      You said "tool".... ugh huh huh huh

      Anyway, I am still happy with my "dinosaur", called 30D. Wish it produced less noise at speeds 1200 and above, but with good lens, it is still brilliant.

      The gloves are off, the wisdom teeth are out
      What you on about ?

    6. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-07-2009 08:36 AM #216
      I can get a 500D for a smidge over $1K if I go the Hong Kong route. Aussie Tex jury, what say you?

      http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBay...rdc=1
      http://www.digitalrev.com/ebay...l#tnc


    7. 06-07-2009 10:04 AM #217
      it looks like a good deal with intl warranty included

      edit: intl warranty, not provided by canon directly.. oops





      Modified by The Samaritan at 7:08 AM 6-7-2009


    8. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-07-2009 10:07 AM #218
      It's a bit of a mickey mouse warranty from what I can tell.

      And I think I would be up for duty and GST as the price is over AU$1000.

      Makes the Ryda.com.au pricing at $1230 look like a better option, maybe.
      http://www.ryda.com.au/Canon-E...b.htm


    9. 06-07-2009 10:19 AM #219
      ryda option ftw

    10. 06-07-2009 10:29 AM #220
      Third option: give Stu from Quality Camera Sales a call

      http://www.qualitycamera.com.au


    11. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-08-2009 12:56 AM #221
      I played it safe and went with Ryda.com.au - $1245 inc courier to my door.


    12. 06-08-2009 05:19 PM #222
      DPReview - errr... review the 500D:

      http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos500d/


    13. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-08-2009 06:55 PM #223
      Thanks for that.

      Will be a marked improvement on my 350D, that's for sure.


    14. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-09-2009 08:06 PM #224
      Quote, originally posted by minigolf »
      I played it safe and went with Ryda.com.au - $1245 inc courier to my door.

      The camera arrived at 9:10 this morning. Big ups to Ryda for their prompt delivery.

      I don't even have an SD card ready for it, haha, much less a lens at work today for playing around with.


    15. 06-09-2009 10:34 PM #225
      Liam I bought this from a place in Canberra, http://www.cheapchips.com.au/m....html Cheapest I could find.

    16. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-09-2009 10:45 PM #226
      Thanks FL00DY. I have an 8GB on order from HK via eBay. I've bought a few CF cards from them before. I think I only saved about $20 on your price though, haha.

      http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Genuine...%3A50


      Thanks for the link though, I'll pick one up at lunch as I imagine they will be cheaper than the Officeworks next door.


      Modified by minigolf at 12:49 PM 6-10-2009


    17. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-10-2009 12:15 AM #227
      Could have bought the same card as above from Harris Tech for the same price.
      http://www.ht.com.au/part/V393...l.hts

      I just picked up a SanDisk Ultra II 8GB from Cheap Chips for $39.


    18. 06-10-2009 12:32 AM #228
      Yeah I already had some II's, I wanted the 30mb/s

    19. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-10-2009 12:41 AM #229
      I have the 45mb/s Extreme IV CF cards for my 350D, I wonder why they don't make those in SD?

    20. 06-10-2009 01:17 AM #230
      SD's haven't been used as long as CF's for camera work. They're still the preferred memory, but the physical size of SDHC is a plus.

    21. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-10-2009 01:49 AM #231
      Any spare SD cards I have I can chuck a few MP3 tracks onto it and use it in the S3.

    22. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-10-2009 08:41 AM #232
      First pic was a quick point and shoot, but the 100% crop is kinda fun.


    23. Member
      Join Date
      May 7th, 2005
      Location
      The Big Durian
      Posts
      4,988
      06-10-2009 04:05 PM #233
      Ha. First photo with all the cameras I've ever owned was of one of my pets. Glad I'm not the only one that can't think of anything more interesting to shoot..

      Also, picked up a new ballhead on the weekend to replace the crap Gitzo BH that came with the legs. Acratech GV2. Like replacing a 1960 VW Beetle with a 997 Turbo.


      Modified by Kirium at 7:07 AM 6-11-2009


    24. 06-10-2009 06:18 PM #234
      Pics please, of the Arcatech.
      Read heaps about them...
      Quote Originally Posted by KGB View Post
      China's birthrate currently sits at 12/1000 = 18,000,000 this year, so your Rolex values are safe for now.

    25. Member
      Join Date
      May 7th, 2005
      Location
      The Big Durian
      Posts
      4,988
      06-10-2009 08:41 PM #235
      Didn't bring my tripod with me, so pics of it on the legs will be a week away. Otherwise, it looks pretty much like it does on their website.

    26. 06-13-2009 03:55 AM #236
      SLR Guru's I have a problem w/ my D90. There are occasions when I attempt to take a shot, it goes in focus makes the beep but does not release the shutter. It happens w/ the crappy 18-105 kit lens (plastic mount) and the shiny F1.8 50mm prime lens w/ metal mount. It happens more often w/ the kit lens. By the time I have a look (turn it upside down and just look at it) turn it back to the subject and it takes the bleeding photo. (It happens less w/ the 50mm than w/ the kit)

      Now that Giselle is making with the cute moments - missing them sucks. Please guru's of the tex help me!


    27. 06-14-2009 01:42 AM #237
      sounds like a repair shop problem.

      Have you tried removing all the batteries and resetting it?

      Different memory card?

      Get a Canon


    28. 06-14-2009 01:50 AM #238
      maybe the light is not good enough? Sometimes the camera will still be able to lock on for auto focus, but the light may be variable and it can't work out the rest if you have the camera on full auto?

      I think I use AV mode nearly all the time and the camera can struggle sometimes in low light.

      does the d90 have a built in pop up flash? if so does it ever do it with the flash on?

      or maybe it is just tech related? a good shop would know.


    29. 06-14-2009 03:17 AM #239
      It has inbuilt flash - that fires as you'd expect.

      I may try the flash card option, perhaps it's a dodgy one - had not thought of that.

      Otherwise - i'll be cleaning the contacts w/ metho as soon as I get some.


    30. Member
      Join Date
      May 7th, 2005
      Location
      The Big Durian
      Posts
      4,988
      06-15-2009 04:51 PM #240
      Never had such a problem with my D90. I use the 16-85, 70-300 VR and f1.4G 50 tho along with the Sigma 150mm macro.

    31. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-15-2009 09:28 PM #241
      Dylan, why did you go from Canon to Nikon, and are you glad you did?


    32. Member
      Join Date
      May 7th, 2005
      Location
      The Big Durian
      Posts
      4,988
      06-15-2009 11:31 PM #242
      Mainly for the handling. I just never felt 100% comfortable with the Canon ergonomics. Things felt more intuitive to me with Nikon after using a few different models over a period of time. The other thing was that the control layout changes in the Canon system between models, where to do one thing on a 450D means doing something totally different with different controls with new jog wheels ect on a 40D, 5D etc. Nikon is much more "standardised" for want of a better term, so I'm not adjusting as much if I move up in models. Another positive for me was AF. The D90 uses the D200 AF, which I've found works very well with fast moving subjects, and I feel I get a much higher hit rate with fast moving subjects than I ever did with Canon.

      Other little things like SWM on most lenses (where you usually need Canon L lenses to get full time manual focus) plus lens cases and hoods standard with all lenses are also nice to haves.

      Why the D90? D300 image quality in a lighter, smaller body. Happy with the switch.


    33. Senior Member Lima's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2002
      Location
      Canberra, Australia
      Posts
      30,442
      Vehicles
      MY10 Audi S3
      06-15-2009 11:35 PM #243
      Cheers.

    34. 06-16-2009 12:38 AM #244
      Not strictly a SLR, but this little camera looks like it will be popular.

      Micro 4/3, so it's half frame 12 mp. Being officially announced today in Japan.


    35. 06-16-2009 01:45 AM #245
      Mallie I don't have a D90 but what focus mode are you using? It should be showing in the top LCD, it sounds like maybe you are in AF-S mode I'd recommend using the AF-A mode.

    Page 7 of 64 FirstFirst ... 345678910111757 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •