Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 26 to 50 of 53

    Thread: Homemade Homelink Son!

    1. Member terje_77's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2005
      Location
      SF, CA
      Posts
      10,700
      Vehicles
      2009 TT, 2008.5 A3
      11-17-2008 12:51 PM #26
      Quote, originally posted by brungold »
      ^ i want to make love to your garage button, and always have!

      Ok. But I hope you don't mind sloppy seconds

    2. Member krazyboi's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 19th, 2004
      Location
      NoVA
      Posts
      14,783
      Vehicles
      2006 A3 3.2T
      11-18-2008 07:27 PM #27
      good stuff son!
      722 pages, 25255 posts, and 1,015,739 views later... R.I.P. LoL Bump thread 03/27/2008 ~ 02/16/2011.
      Link to my build: Audi A3 3.2 VR6 BT
      CleanAudi.com feature

    3. Member terje_77's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2005
      Location
      SF, CA
      Posts
      10,700
      Vehicles
      2009 TT, 2008.5 A3
      11-18-2008 09:23 PM #28
      Quote, originally posted by krazyboi »
      good stuff son!


    4. 11-09-2010 05:26 PM #29
      bump anyone know if where red goes?
      hirro

    5. Member brungold's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 8th, 2007
      Location
      Los Angeles
      Posts
      2,903
      Vehicles
      2008.5 A3 TSI Ibis White 6MT S-line
      11-09-2010 06:30 PM #30
      dammit i should have gotten this from terje before his car went byebye

    6. Member Rob Cote's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 6th, 2006
      Location
      Beverly, MA
      Posts
      8,231
      Vehicles
      06A3 & 97TJ
      11-10-2010 03:56 PM #31
      Quote Originally Posted by Accidental L8 apex View Post
      If you truly believe this, the terrorists did indeed already win. Freedom, 'murica, NFL, Wal-Mart and V8s.

    7. Member BoraPimpin's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 23rd, 2003
      Location
      South FLA
      Posts
      874
      12-21-2010 10:05 PM #32
      keeping this alive...

      just picked up my 11' A3 sportback...

      cant belive they totally did away with homelink... looks like i will be doing this mod.. any tips guys?

      i need to do 2 buttons, 1 for gate, one for garage door..

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 16th, 2001
      Location
      Rochester, NY
      Posts
      427
      Vehicles
      06 A3, 07 EOS, corvette, some BMWs
      12-21-2010 11:27 PM #33
      wow... this is pretty cool. but are people really spending > $50 just for a switch? there must be a cheaper way?
      2008 Corvette C6
      2007 VW EOS 2.0T, APR stage 2
      2006 Audi A3 2.0T DSG, sport, winter, APR stage 2
      1989 BMW 325i 5spd, M50 motorswap, stripped for track duty

    9. 12-22-2010 01:52 PM #34
      I bought the switch for the my 2010 A3 from CarStyle4you and it did not fit. After sending pictures of my switch setup to CarStyle4you I got an email back stating

      "I have bad news for you
      It’s not possible to fit the pushbutton in the new model 2010! Only the covers are possible!!"


      CarStyle4you would not send a call tag to ship the switch back. I did not want to be out the money to ship the switch back just to have CarStyle4you decided not to refund my money. The email conversation we exchanged gave me the impression that this company may be a little flaky. To their credit it appears that CarStyle4you has now removed the option to buy this switch for this year of A3.

      It is possible with some customization to make the switch fit but it will require some cutting and a bracket being fabricated. So if you have a 2010+ this mod will be tricky.

      If anyone is interested in buying the switch off me let me know. It might fit a 2009 without any cutting or a newer A3 with some work. Here are the pic that I took so everyone can see what I am talking about.




    10. 12-22-2010 02:28 PM #35
      Quote Originally Posted by Jubal View Post
      I bought the switch for the my 2010 A3 from CarStyle4you and it did not fit. After sending pictures of my switch setup to CarStyle4you I got an email back stating

      "I have bad news for you
      It’s not possible to fit the pushbutton in the new model 2010! Only the covers are possible!!"


      CarStyle4you would not send a call tag to ship the switch back. I did not want to be out the money to ship the switch back just to have CarStyle4you decided not to refund my money. The email conversation we exchanged gave me the impression that this company may be a little flaky. To their credit it appears that CarStyle4you has now removed the option to buy this switch for this year of A3.

      It is possible with some customization to make the switch fit but it will require some cutting and a bracket being fabricated. So if you have a 2010+ this mod will be tricky.

      If anyone is interested in buying the switch off me let me know. It might fit a 2009 without any cutting or a newer A3 with some work. Here are the pic that I took so everyone can see what I am talking about.



      your linking gmail pics.. which cannot be linked. you need to upload it. and link it
      what side is it for?
      hirro

    11. Member terje_77's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2005
      Location
      SF, CA
      Posts
      10,700
      Vehicles
      2009 TT, 2008.5 A3
      12-22-2010 02:42 PM #36
      I miss my A3

    12. Member neu318's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 17th, 2003
      Location
      Coral Gables, FL
      Posts
      10,499
      Vehicles
      2003 Silverstone GTI 1.8t(Gone), 2006 Brilliant Red Audi A3 3.2Q
      12-22-2010 02:44 PM #37
      Quote Originally Posted by terje_77 View Post
      I miss my A3
      Buy another one. You know you want to.
      Mods:Unitronics Stage 1+ | UM DSG Tune | Magnaflow Catback | HPA SHS Coilovers | MODSHACK VTDA intake
      VRSociety #172

      Quote Originally Posted by Boost112 View Post
      Interests:Food being shoved in hot chicks faces.... and other stuff....

    13. 12-22-2010 03:23 PM #38
      Quote Originally Posted by terje_77 View Post
      I miss my A3
      You can come visit your APR DP/Catback/Exhaust, PSS10s and HPFP anytime.

    14. Member terje_77's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2005
      Location
      SF, CA
      Posts
      10,700
      Vehicles
      2009 TT, 2008.5 A3
      12-22-2010 04:21 PM #39
      Quote Originally Posted by drew138 View Post
      You can come visit your APR DP/Catback/Exhaust, PSS10s and HPFP anytime.
      Lol. I just might need to do that dude.

      And I am keeping a keen watch on what the new A3 will look like. If I like, I buy. If not, I'll by the last 8p quattro and turn it into an S3 like the rest of my S.F. brethren.

    15. 12-22-2010 04:36 PM #40
      Quote Originally Posted by terje_77 View Post
      I miss my A3
      get it and keep the tt as a weekend car!

    16. Member terje_77's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2005
      Location
      SF, CA
      Posts
      10,700
      Vehicles
      2009 TT, 2008.5 A3
      12-22-2010 04:57 PM #41
      Quote Originally Posted by TechnikSLR View Post
      get it and keep the tt as a weekend car!
      Yeah! a-weekend-when-I-don't-have-to-transport-anything car

    17. 12-22-2010 05:11 PM #42
      Quote Originally Posted by terje_77 View Post
      Yeah! a-weekend-when-I-don't-have-to-transport-anything car
      exactly!

    18. 12-22-2010 08:17 PM #43
      Oh sorry. The pictures work great when I look at them. But It makes since. Take two.




    19. Member BoraPimpin's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 23rd, 2003
      Location
      South FLA
      Posts
      874
      12-22-2010 08:52 PM #44
      oh i see what you mean, square peg in a round hole.. not good my friend..

      what position and side is that button for?

      i would buy it PM ME! ..

      is the bracket that holds the buttons in place plastic or metal? looks plastic in the photo.. if so a lil dremel and might be good to go.

      while you had it out, did you at-least check if there was a power hook up for it on the harness?

      did you check the other spaces to see if they were all the same? thats a middle space it looks like, might be different.
      Last edited by BoraPimpin; 12-22-2010 at 09:06 PM.

    20. 12-23-2010 12:49 AM #45
      The housing is plastic. It would be pretty simple to use a drimal and cut out the plastic. The problem would be to line up the switch and secure it so that it is at the same level as all the rest and make sure the gap around the switch is even. It will be a little work and probably a little frustrating. The other switch locations on the right side will require the same treatment. the front of each switch is a different shape so you need to get the correct one for each location. DONT try to pry out the switches individually from the front. The whole switch assembly unclips from the dash as you can kinda see from the pic. If you look close you can also see the pry marks I left on the blanks when I tried going in from the front

    21. Member BoraPimpin's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 23rd, 2003
      Location
      South FLA
      Posts
      874
      12-23-2010 12:55 AM #46
      what about the harness? is there still a extra plug in for it to at-least get it some power to it?

      Yea it would be dremel and prolly some epoxy or something to get it to stay could also cut it a lil to small then squeeze it in.. again, ill tell ya what it would be permeant.. so o well to the next owner would have a button that they have no clue about.. hah. o well.. its definitely going to need a bit of time to work on it.. i guess for the newer face lifted cars..

    22. Member BoraPimpin's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 23rd, 2003
      Location
      South FLA
      Posts
      874
      12-23-2010 01:03 AM #47
      i wonder could you just buy another hazard or ESP switch, then swap face covers, and tap the same wires for garage remote. then no mod would be needed. other then the face change. and its still a push button.. either the ESP or maybe another hazard?

      anyone know a pushbutton that would go there?> ESP, Hazard , anything else? gonna a have to call dealer tomorrow.. this might be a good plan for the 2009+ cars.

      the Tire set might be the perfect candidate for this..

      anyone wanna chime in if this would work?




      thank Jubal for pics..

      OK here is the updated new switch panels.. as you can see there using some kinda BUS set up.. so the switch would have to go on the other side of the hazard...

      Boy.. im out of ideas!...

      Last edited by BoraPimpin; 12-23-2010 at 01:53 AM.

    23. Member mtdoragary's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 7th, 2010
      Location
      Tennessee Valey
      Posts
      427
      Vehicles
      2013 Passat SEL TDI, 00 Corvette ragtop, 12 Canyon QQ 4WD v8
      12-26-2010 04:41 PM #48
      Ditto, but I need to do two for gates, and one for garage.

      Quote Originally Posted by BoraPimpin View Post
      keeping this alive...

      just picked up my 11' A3 sportback...

      cant belive they totally did away with homelink... looks like i will be doing this mod.. any tips guys?

      i need to do 2 buttons, 1 for gate, one for garage door..
      <>< 3:16
      2013 Passat SEL TDI
      2012 Canyon quad cab 4WD V8
      2104 Can Am Spyder RT Limited
      Looking at 03 Audi TT Roadster

    24. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 15th, 2009
      Location
      Melbourne. Australia
      Posts
      113
      Vehicles
      MY10 S3 Sportback
      05-09-2012 10:06 PM #49
      I'm reviving this old thread because Iv'e finally moved into a place where I can see myself for a while so am going to attempt this mod.

      My problem is that I have an MY10 car with the ne, 1 piece switches.

      To the right of the hazard where you have a bank of three blanks, is it possible to remove all 3 blanks and install 3 new switches?

      Has anyone done this on an updated button set-up?

    25. 03-15-2014 01:23 PM #50
      Super old post but age old problem. Has anyone added a button/switch for a garage door opener on a face lifted A3?

      In the pics, the garage door cover looks to be a different color/texture black plastic. Are the blank covers removable from the dummy switch too? I'd just as soon have a blank switch and know it's the opener.

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •