Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 35 of 227

    Thread: BFI PEM Software Upgrades for ABA & VR6

    1. 12-10-2008 03:48 PM #1

      Introducing Black Forest Industries' latest release for the VW community, the new PEM or Performance Enhancement Module. Developed with C2 Motorsports exclusively to Black Forest Industries specifications for the ABA, the PEM is programmed, stocked and shipped in-house from BFI. The PEM is a collaborative success between two of the leading aftermarket names in the industry.

      The PEM is designed specifically to not only increase power and throttle response, but to also smooth out the power as it is delivered throughout the RPM range. Additionally , the PEM does not require a secondary oxygen sensor reading for mapping, nor is it affected by secondary air injection.

      Carefully mapped adjustments to the fueling and timing allow the most to be extracted from VW's bulletproof powerplant. All tuning was dyno-tested to ensure real world increases in performance and power. This file is tuned on 93 octane, however the ECU will pull enough timing if you had to run 91 or even 89.

      Available for both ABA and VR6 OBD2 motors in Stg1. Camshaft specific Stg2 files are also available for both motors as well.

      ABA Stage1 - Click Here
      ABA Stage2 - Click Here
      VR6 Stage1 - Click Here
      VR6 Stage2 - Click Here

      *In stock and ready to ship

      ABA Stage1 vs Stock

      ABA Stage2 vs Stock





      Modified by adam@blackforest at 3:01 PM 12-12-2008


    2. 12-12-2008 03:02 PM #2
      Last week we had the chance to do back to back runs on the same car on the dyno to get a comparison with our ABA Stg1 PEM vs Nuespeed which was in the car:


    3. 12-12-2008 03:14 PM #3
      any dyno results for the VR?

    4. 12-12-2008 03:45 PM #4
      As for VR6 specific dyno, we did just have the chance to do a back to back comparison on a mk2 vr6 swap with our Stg2 PEM and the GIAC cam file chip that was in the car already:

      The overall numbers seem a bit low, as the car still had the MK2 8v cat and catback exhaust on it. But the gains of the PEM can still clearly be seen.


    5. Member VWn00b's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 4th, 2005
      Location
      Dallas, Tx
      Posts
      6,130
      Vehicles
      1997 Jetta
      12-12-2008 07:01 PM #5
      Is there anything that can be done with regards to the evap system? I seem to have misplaced mine...

    6. 12-18-2008 11:18 AM #6
      Sorry not from us

    7. Member autotragik b3attlewagen's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 24th, 2003
      Location
      Norcross, Ga
      Posts
      12,397
      Vehicles
      03' Mazda Protege5 / 02' Passat Wagon 5-speed! / 97' Honda Civic beater/ 85' KLR600 / 01' YZF600R
      12-18-2008 12:33 PM #7
      for a obd2 VR, does this chip ignore the SAI pump?

      I have a failed pump, and looking at deleting the system and plugging the hole. If the software doesn't use the pump, I could avoid the CEL from "incorrect flow"


      I have to laugh when someone calls me an a*****e. I've been called far worse than that.
      - Gordon Ramsay

    8. 12-18-2008 01:09 PM #8
      Yes both motors' PEM dont require SAI to function fully

    9. Member autotragik b3attlewagen's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 24th, 2003
      Location
      Norcross, Ga
      Posts
      12,397
      Vehicles
      03' Mazda Protege5 / 02' Passat Wagon 5-speed! / 97' Honda Civic beater/ 85' KLR600 / 01' YZF600R
      12-18-2008 01:26 PM #9
      Quote, originally posted by adam@blackforest »
      Yes both motors' PEM dont require SAI to function fully

      W/ Software, no CEL from SAI delete?!?!!? :yippee:

      I have to laugh when someone calls me an a*****e. I've been called far worse than that.
      - Gordon Ramsay

    10. 12-19-2008 01:06 PM #10

    11. 12-21-2008 02:00 AM #11
      off topic but adam do you guys have rear bilstein sport shocks in stock for a mk3 vr dont think vr6 matters. i am looking to order a pair asap lol

    12. 12-21-2008 02:02 AM #12
      also want to say i have the c2 chip on my ob2 vr not sure if its the same its stage 1 and ill tell you the idle is perfect, car pulls good even with 242k and best thing is no need for a rear o2 or sai and still passes emissions . definitly the best chip out i think

    13. 12-22-2008 11:31 AM #13
      Quote, originally posted by KnightRider200sx »
      off topic but adam do you guys have rear bilstein sport shocks in stock for a mk3 vr dont think vr6 matters. i am looking to order a pair asap lol

      Yes they are available on our website



    14. Member SuperchargedA4's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 19th, 2007
      Location
      Augusta GA
      Posts
      3,846
      Vehicles
      16vt Corrado, MKII GTI, Harlequin
      12-30-2008 06:17 PM #15
      OBDII ABA swap into a MKII. Not going to run into any problems right?

    15. 12-31-2008 12:49 PM #16
      The PEM's are for MK3 ECU's and harnesses, so as long as its a full swap with the MK3 set up yes no problems

    16. Junior Member aquanutt's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 29th, 2008
      Location
      Brandon, FL
      Posts
      63
      Vehicles
      81 Rabbit Convertible
      01-02-2009 10:06 AM #17
      What kind of performance numbers should be expected with an autotech 270 cam on an OBD1 ABA?

    17. 01-02-2009 04:10 PM #18
      We only offer software for OBD2 at this time

    18. 01-06-2009 04:45 PM #19

    19. 01-07-2009 03:34 PM #20
      THOROUGHLY impressed with this chip!

      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=4190677


    20. 01-09-2009 04:52 PM #21

    21. 01-11-2009 06:02 PM #22
      Do you ever plan on making an obd1 chip?

    22. Member golf3737's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 28th, 2007
      Location
      Balorado
      Posts
      2,562
      Vehicles
      91 Geo Storm R Series, 88 Plymouth Horizon Hatch, Wagon Queen Family Truckster in metallic pea
      01-12-2009 04:17 PM #23
      I see that you state that it requires 93 octane, but can pull enough timing to run 91 or 89. I have a 97 vr and would be interested in running this chip, but out here in CO, you can only find 91 at the pump. There are specialty places that sell 93, but few and far between. What do you suggest?
      ~I love thunder red!!!~

    23. Member 8project4's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 23rd, 2006
      Location
      Louisville KY Area
      Posts
      468
      Vehicles
      98 gti VR
      01-15-2009 03:39 AM #24
      yes you can run 89 or 91 octane. its in BFI's first post.

    24. 01-16-2009 12:12 PM #25
      Correct

    25. Member steve-o 16v GLI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 25th, 2005
      Location
      Lancaster PA
      Posts
      2,359
      Vehicles
      04 Audi TT 225 Roadster
      01-16-2009 07:53 PM #26
      i purchased a giac cam chip a while back and it caused bucking issues that where never solved even with a replacement chip i was sent.if i would try your chip would i be able to return it if it doesnt work either.
      It's his right to go off on whoever he wants. Etiquette isn't a requirement in America. It's his right as an American to be a douchebag. :-) You don't hate America, do you?

    26. 01-22-2009 11:44 AM #27
      Sounds more like there is an issue with your specific car, than the software. We check all our PEM's before they go out to make sure they were flashed properly and fully functional

    27. 01-22-2009 12:12 PM #28
      Quote, originally posted by steve-o 16v GLI »
      i purchased a giac cam chip a while back and it caused bucking issues that where never solved even with a replacement chip i was sent.if i would try your chip would i be able to return it if it doesnt work either.

      You probably had an issue with your car that was independent of the chip. I experienced an issue when I installed my PEM....after speaking with Adam and trouble-shooting, turns out it was the MAF I replaced last August that was the culprit. Car ran 100% once I fixed the MAF issue.


    28. Member stukyl28's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2007
      Location
      Quakertown PA
      Posts
      1,003
      02-02-2009 12:28 AM #29
      were does the chip go in the ecu exactly? i have your pem just cant figure it out. i know it most likely is super easy to install, i just dont wanna mess up my ecu!!!
      Quote Originally Posted by V_W4me5707 View Post
      what if i give you a hj and buy you ?

    29. 02-02-2009 03:30 PM #30
      It replaces the stock ECU's EPROM chip, which when you open up the ECU looks like the square chip thats inset on the top of our PEM

    30. 02-04-2009 02:28 PM #31

    31. Member stukyl28's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2007
      Location
      Quakertown PA
      Posts
      1,003
      02-04-2009 04:07 PM #32
      your the man thank you very MUCH!!!
      Quote Originally Posted by V_W4me5707 View Post
      what if i give you a hj and buy you ?

    32. Member 3WheelnGTi's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 19th, 2008
      Location
      Colordao
      Posts
      1,138
      Vehicles
      98 GTI VrT_SOLD , 20th IY #1100 , 2010 Jetta 2.5
      02-05-2009 03:54 PM #33
      is there a difference between the c2 chip u guys sell vs the c2 chip reflex tuning sold awhile back?
      #1100 Garrett 50 trim-IE rods-Gen II 630s-Eurojet FMIC

    33. 02-07-2009 11:11 AM #34
      Quote, originally posted by adam@blackforest »
      Last week we had the chance to do back to back runs on the same car on the dyno to get a comparison with our ABA Stg1 PEM vs Nuespeed which was in the car:

      what other mods on car??? just wondering


    34. 02-10-2009 11:06 AM #35
      None really, it had a cone filter and thats about it

    Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •