Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
    Results 36 to 70 of 226

    Thread: BFI PEM Software Upgrades for ABA & VR6

    1. 02-10-2009 08:37 PM #36
      no cat or sai will the cel still be on


      Modified by ytbaseball16 at 3:21 PM 2-11-2009


      Modified by ytbaseball16 at 3:22 PM 2-11-2009


    2. 02-11-2009 08:23 AM #37
      Quote, originally posted by adam@blackforest »
      None really, it had a cone filter and thats about it

      wow -- not a bad increase for just switching chips. Do you custom taylor the chip to whatever cam we tell you -- or is it just a generic "big cam" chip.....


    3. 02-13-2009 02:14 PM #38
      Quote, originally posted by ytbaseball16 »
      no cat or sai will the cel still be on


      Modified by ytbaseball16 at 3:21 PM 2-11-2009


      Modified by ytbaseball16 at 3:22 PM 2-11-2009

      If you are asking if there would be a cel because of that , then no it shouldnt for those items specifically


    4. 02-17-2009 11:21 AM #39

    5. 02-18-2009 03:30 PM #40
      Just installed the VR6 stage 2 and IMO it's the best chip one can provide for your DUB! Nice to have "current" software that performs as advertised I've tried all others over the years and this little power cube gets the job done extremely well and extra smooth - It's great when ****e works ..Thanks BFI

    6. 02-19-2009 06:44 PM #41
      What Cams do you have?

    7. 02-22-2009 04:56 PM #42
      i just bought a jetta VR6 98 my question is if put the stage two or stage 1 do i need to midify any my jetta is stock

    8. 02-24-2009 04:04 PM #43
      Our Stage2 PEM is only for cars with cams, so if you dont have cams then you would get the Stage1 PEM

    9. Junior Member rxi_rola's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 17th, 2005
      Location
      Auckland, New Zealand
      Posts
      63
      Vehicles
      2x 2000 VW Golf GTI MK4 5spd Manual; 2005 MK5 Golf GTI with many APR add-ons
      02-25-2009 04:13 AM #44
      Is it possible do get a Pem Stage 1, for and OBD1 VR6, but runs on OBD2 ECU? This is how the car came from factory.

    10. Member InTTruder's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 27th, 2006
      Location
      Dallas, GA
      Posts
      3,800
      Vehicles
      12 TT RS/00 TTQC/01 1.8 Avant TQMS/93 C4 uR A6
      02-25-2009 07:35 AM #45
      Guys-
      tghp is screaming for a new chip. Is this PNP: open the box, throw out the good, and in with the new?
      "The Spartans do not ask how MANY enemy there are. The Spartans merely enquire WHERE they are."

    11. 02-25-2009 03:47 PM #46
      Yep plug and play

    12. Member golfzex's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 28th, 2004
      Location
      Fallston, MD
      Posts
      5,884
      Vehicles
      01.5 S4 09 Touareg
      02-27-2009 01:20 PM #47
      what cam would you recommend for an OBDII VR6 to go with your stage2 chip? What gains should we see?
      "What?!? Whitney Houston is dead? Oh My God!!!......Hows Micheal Jackson taking it?!?" --- Rafi from "The League"

      Past: 88 16v GTI ** 02 TT 225Q ** 02 4d Golf ** 92 Jetta Coupe ** 98 Gti Vr6

    13. 02-27-2009 01:40 PM #48
      You tell them what cams you have when you order, check out the site.

      Now i have a question.
      Are the chips programmed differently for all the different cams? I ordered the stage 2 for 262's yesterday.


    14. Member golfzex's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 28th, 2004
      Location
      Fallston, MD
      Posts
      5,884
      Vehicles
      01.5 S4 09 Touareg
      03-02-2009 10:58 PM #49
      What gain would i get from a 268 cam and your 268 stage two chip?
      "What?!? Whitney Houston is dead? Oh My God!!!......Hows Micheal Jackson taking it?!?" --- Rafi from "The League"

      Past: 88 16v GTI ** 02 TT 225Q ** 02 4d Golf ** 92 Jetta Coupe ** 98 Gti Vr6

    15. 03-04-2009 03:43 PM #50
      Exact gains vary by car, but there is a dyno of the Stg2 cam file vs a GIAC cam chip on the first page of this thread

    16. Member DREWHALL's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2006
      Location
      SOMD
      Posts
      901
      Vehicles
      90 325is 79 Rabbit
      03-05-2009 09:30 AM #51
      Looks like power drops off early? I like the mid range but I want some top end too. Any chance you could dyno a VR w/ 268 cams and 268 chip?

    17. 03-05-2009 12:45 PM #52
      That dyno shows directly the diff between our PEM and GIAC on the same car, and that was the point of it. That actual car had a stock mk2 exhaust on it, as noted in the post, which obviously was restricting the power on the top end.

    18. Member chrisbmx68's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 14th, 2003
      Location
      Collegeville PA
      Posts
      11,668
      Vehicles
      1991 318is m50 swap, 1999 a4 avant
      03-22-2009 09:24 PM #53
      adam sent you an IM about some low rpm ping

    19. 03-23-2009 07:31 PM #54
      Replied

      And to all please let us know if you are running the MK4 head gasket before you order!


    20. Member chrisbmx68's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 14th, 2003
      Location
      Collegeville PA
      Posts
      11,668
      Vehicles
      1991 318is m50 swap, 1999 a4 avant
      03-23-2009 07:33 PM #55
      whoopsie

      bump for a good company!


    21. Junior Member pstvr6low's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 6th, 2009
      Location
      pa
      Posts
      40
      Vehicles
      97 a4 1.8t quattro, 97 passat vr6 bmp
      03-23-2009 11:02 PM #56
      does having the mk4 head gasket really make a big difference with the chip cause i recently bought a stage 2 chip for 262's online. i didn't know that i needed to inform you's about the head gasket still putting the car together so i have not installed the chip yet.

    22. Member chrisbmx68's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 14th, 2003
      Location
      Collegeville PA
      Posts
      11,668
      Vehicles
      1991 318is m50 swap, 1999 a4 avant
      03-24-2009 08:07 AM #57
      I'm running the regular file on 93 octane with the mk4 head gasket and experiencing some pinging issues at low rpm especially when hot. This doesn't really surprise me but I figured I would try it out. Apparently Jeff has a modified file on hand with less timing aimed at the mk4 gasket mod.


      you might be ok with your current chip since the more lift/duration/overlap the cams have the more the static compression is lowered


    23. Member motvatedub's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Minnesota
      Posts
      422
      Vehicles
      to many to list
      03-26-2009 08:40 PM #58
      I didnt see an answer to the question if there will be a obd1 (2.0)version available anytime soon. cheers

    24. 03-27-2009 08:22 PM #59
      No, no eta or definite plans for OBD1 at this time

    25. Member motvatedub's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Minnesota
      Posts
      422
      Vehicles
      to many to list
      03-28-2009 10:01 AM #60
      thanx! BFI still awesome cheers

    26. Member Suter's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 28th, 2005
      Location
      VA
      Posts
      1,492
      Vehicles
      24v Fast, 2L low and slow
      04-02-2009 12:35 AM #61
      Ive got to figure out what I have laying around here that I can sell to get one of these

    27. Member chrisbmx68's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 14th, 2003
      Location
      Collegeville PA
      Posts
      11,668
      Vehicles
      1991 318is m50 swap, 1999 a4 avant
      04-07-2009 08:25 AM #62
      got the chip back with the high compression file on it, put a few hundred miles on it and it runs just as awesome as before but no ping whatsoever now!

      great customer service and tuning!


    28. 04-20-2009 03:19 PM #63
      Thanks

    29. 04-21-2009 02:49 PM #64
      Quote, originally posted by adam@blackforest »

      And to all please let us know if you are running the MK4 head gasket before you order!

      So if we have the MK4 headgasket, you select high compression, correct?


    30. Member chrisbmx68's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 14th, 2003
      Location
      Collegeville PA
      Posts
      11,668
      Vehicles
      1991 318is m50 swap, 1999 a4 avant
      04-21-2009 03:07 PM #65
      Correct! works awesome

    31. 04-21-2009 03:25 PM #66
      i've been looking for new software over my current GIAC chip for my Future N/A build.... I think I just found it. Thanks guys!

    32. 04-23-2009 07:24 PM #67
      I have a 98 GLX with the VF stage II with 268 cams. Can you offer me something better then what VF/GIAC has? I'm tired of running pig rich and the CEL!!!

    33. Member golfzex's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 28th, 2004
      Location
      Fallston, MD
      Posts
      5,884
      Vehicles
      01.5 S4 09 Touareg
      05-06-2009 08:08 PM #68
      Just got my BFI Stage II 262 chip today, cant wait to get it put in with the new cams next week.
      "What?!? Whitney Houston is dead? Oh My God!!!......Hows Micheal Jackson taking it?!?" --- Rafi from "The League"

      Past: 88 16v GTI ** 02 TT 225Q ** 02 4d Golf ** 92 Jetta Coupe ** 98 Gti Vr6

    34. Member ackinum6910's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 7th, 2004
      Location
      Kent,WA
      Posts
      122
      Vehicles
      1996/VW/ Passat VR6
      05-14-2009 08:03 PM #69
      I wanted to order the Stage II chip for my 96 passat. Can I use the one for the mkIII jetta or do I have to use a passat specific file...

    35. Member redzone98's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 10th, 2004
      Location
      Cape May NJ
      Posts
      9,380
      Vehicles
      90 Cabby, CRoutan
      05-18-2009 02:06 PM #70
      Quote, originally posted by adam@blackforest »
      No, no eta or definite plans for OBD1 at this time

      boo

      #projectcabby

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •