Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
    Results 141 to 175 of 229

    Thread: BFI PEM Software Upgrades for ABA & VR6

    1. Member KESET's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 1st, 2001
      Location
      Spokane
      Posts
      6,100
      Vehicles
      98 VR GTi
      03-23-2011 10:45 PM #141
      i purchased the race file with the 268 cams and high compression profile - car runs super smooth now. idle is rock solid at 800. CEL is gone (im running a test pipe). everything just seems smoother now
      Bubengropen OG

    2. Member
      Join Date
      Nov 22nd, 2009
      Location
      Templeton, MA
      Posts
      112
      Vehicles
      '97 Jetta, '96 Golf
      03-27-2011 05:57 PM #142
      Just installed my BFI ABA Stg. 1 PEM. The main reason I purchased the chip was to delete my SAI system. I was however pleasantly surprised at how smooth the powerband has become, and how hard it pulls. I've run stock, Neuspeed, and TT eproms, and the BFI PEM takes the cake.

    3. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 23rd, 2009
      Location
      Long Island, NY
      Posts
      142
      Vehicles
      95' gti vr6, 96' golf vr6
      04-14-2011 10:09 PM #143
      Hey guys, i just installed my stage 1 yesterday on my 96 vr. it is awesome. no sai and no cat = no cel. i have a question though, i am about to buy cams, i should've waited to order the chip, do you guys have an upgrade discount or something?

    4. 04-27-2011 01:52 PM #144
      Not sure if we covered this with you via email, but we can get you a new "upgrade" chip for $25. You keep your original module, and swap out the square plcc chip for one with the upgraded file.

    5. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 23rd, 2009
      Location
      Long Island, NY
      Posts
      142
      Vehicles
      95' gti vr6, 96' golf vr6
      04-27-2011 05:56 PM #145
      awesome, thanks for the response, you guys are great!


    6. Member cleanmk2gti's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 27th, 2009
      Location
      Emmaus, Pa
      Posts
      6,531
      Vehicles
      MULTIPASS
      05-05-2011 02:26 AM #147
      Exactly how easy is this install? I just want a little more umph out of my 2.slo. Will this achieve what I want?
      Black 2010 GTI MT, DXD Stage 2 Endurance Clutch, Stage 1 APR, lower tq mount insert, 20% tint all around, APR Carbonio Stage 1 Intake
      Black 2010 PaCCat Sport MT, beluga racing downpipe, stage 2 lower tq mount insert, DieselGeek Sigma 6-Speed SSK, Stage 2 APR, Injen Intake
      Black 1991 GTI with Stage 4+ G60 Rallye Golf Swap

    7. 05-05-2011 05:27 PM #148
      Very easy to install, and yes, it will achieve the desired results.

    8. Member MKwhatever's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 10th, 2006
      Location
      Coral Springs, Florida
      Posts
      105
      Vehicles
      96 VW GTI
      05-06-2011 12:36 PM #149
      Hey. Got my cam specific chip for my 268 cam around January and the difference is ridiculous. My car never ran so smooth. Talk about bringing a 2.0 to life. Haha. And super quick shipping.

    9. 05-06-2011 04:39 PM #150
      Quote Originally Posted by MKwhatever View Post
      Hey. Got my cam specific chip for my 268 cam around January and the difference is ridiculous. My car never ran so smooth. Talk about bringing a 2.0 to life. Haha. And super quick shipping.

    10. 05-12-2011 10:23 AM #151
      hey im running obd 1 trying to run spray,cams and a chip is there anythingout there aviable ifnot for obd1 maybe for obd 2

    11. 05-16-2011 01:55 PM #152
      Quote Originally Posted by Baked GLX View Post
      hey im running obd 1 trying to run spray,cams and a chip is there anythingout there aviable ifnot for obd1 maybe for obd 2
      There are options out there for OBD-1, but we do not offer one. We do however have OBD-2 options.
      Last edited by black forest ind; 05-16-2011 at 02:03 PM.

    12. Member
      Join Date
      May 23rd, 2010
      Location
      Somewhere in the 610
      Posts
      354
      Vehicles
      97 2.slow RIP, 97 vr jetta SOLD, daily 98 vr jetta
      06-01-2011 06:39 PM #153
      If I'm running JE forged pistons 8.5-1 with 262 autotech cams, which chip should I use for my SAI delete and for the low compression pistons.? The car idles around 650-700rpms( sometimes lower) and that's when the car has been driven. On a cold start, it will only hold an idle unless my foot is on the gas for a few mins. It's been fully rebuilt top and bottom but this is my only problem. Any advice?

    13. Junior Member chrismacuser's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 27th, 2011
      Posts
      36
      Vehicles
      Audi B6 1.8T
      06-20-2011 03:33 AM #154
      Just ordered the BFI PEM Stage II High Compression chip to go along with the 262 cams and MK4 headgasket I ordered.

      I'll let you know how I like my new setup when it arives

      Anyone know about how long does BFI usually take for shipping?

      P.S. BFI, what is the difference between "stock" and "high compression" on your website??


      X2 I have the same question

    14. Member ia13x's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 17th, 2007
      Location
      Toms River NJ
      Posts
      2,292
      Vehicles
      03 GLI 24v VR6
      06-22-2011 11:12 PM #155
      I just got a 96 VR6 obd2, the P/O claims its has 268 schrick cams but I'm unsure how to tell if it really does. So now im stuck, i want to chip it but idk what way to go. if I go with the stage 2 and it really doesnt have the cams will it hurt my car? or vice versa, if i go with the stage 1 and i do have the cams. i think i need help with this
      LoW-N-SloW

      **Don't forget your rubbers!**
      Wheel and Tire mounting and balancing services available.
      PM for more Info

    15. Member less.than.jeff's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 1st, 2008
      Location
      PNW
      Posts
      187
      Vehicles
      '97 Black GLX
      06-24-2011 05:02 PM #156
      I still have the BFI PEM chip in my car. I'm extremely satisfied with it! I've been CEL free for a year now and the powerband is AWESOME!

      I *think* high compression is if you are running a MK4 headgasket (not positive)

    16. Member ia13x's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 17th, 2007
      Location
      Toms River NJ
      Posts
      2,292
      Vehicles
      03 GLI 24v VR6
      06-24-2011 11:28 PM #157
      Ok so I did a little research. Which meaning spent a good 30mins on the phone with BFI technical support trying to find the answer to my question. He gave me alot of good information so I felt the need to share it for the others that may run into this dilemma. If you're unsure about what cams you have in your VR and don't have the means and/or time to find out, the stage one chip is the way to go. It wont do any damage. And let's say later down the road you find out that you do have cams or your ready to have cams installed, BFI has a service to take that stage one chip and turn it into a stage two with all the information you give them for 25$. Pretty sick I'd say.
      LoW-N-SloW

      **Don't forget your rubbers!**
      Wheel and Tire mounting and balancing services available.
      PM for more Info

    17. 07-03-2011 12:24 PM #158
      pm seeeeeeeeeeeeeeennnnnttttttt

    18. 07-11-2011 03:01 PM #159
      I have a '97 GTI 12v Vr6. Engine is pretty stock, aside from a cone filter.

      Stage 1 vs Stage 2? Explain it to me like im a 5 year old...

    19. 07-12-2011 12:56 AM #160
      Stage 1=stock cams....stage 2=not stock cams....that's pretty basic dude lol

    20. 07-12-2011 01:07 AM #161
      Quote Originally Posted by gtiswapped96 View Post
      Stage 1=stock cams....stage 2=not stock cams....that's pretty basic dude lol
      What can I say, I'm a pretty basic dude.

      Thanks for the clarification though!

    21. 07-12-2011 07:20 AM #162
      Very nice ::said with borat accent::

    22. 07-12-2011 02:21 PM #163
      Quote Originally Posted by IT Guy View Post
      I have a '97 GTI 12v Vr6. Engine is pretty stock, aside from a cone filter.

      Stage 1 vs Stage 2? Explain it to me like im a 5 year old...
      So Timmy, you see here, theres a SCROLL bar.

      Now if you use that SCroll bar to, SCROLL UP...

      you'll see that your question was THOROUGHLY explained ALREADY!!

      I'm a jerk...

    23. 07-16-2011 09:37 PM #164
      OK here's my question i just recently bought/installed your 268 cam and stage 2 chip(cam specific) and new Tbelt and tensioner(mech timing and ignition timing are spot on) and it
      keeps throwing Code when rev-ed over 4500-5500rpm (DTC) P0327 Knock Sensor Circuit Fault .....why ? any insight? we tried n
      a new knock sensor ,then we used a spacer kit o
      for the knock sensor, cleaned MAF, ran 91 octane with an octane booster
      anyone....


      could it be the my ignition timing is still off slightly????If it were a wiring issue, the CEL would come on immediately after starting the car, right? I thought we set the ignition timing correctly but maybe not , But it needs be at running temp, and no CEL on when the timing is being set so the ECU dosent set it itself. Will the ignition timing being off, set off the knock sensor?
      Last edited by bluntman220; 07-16-2011 at 11:34 PM.

    24. 07-18-2011 11:27 PM #165
      Quote Originally Posted by bluntman220 View Post
      OK here's my question i just recently bought/installed your 268 cam and stage 2 chip(cam specific) and new Tbelt and tensioner(mech timing and ignition timing are spot on) and it
      keeps throwing Code when rev-ed over 4500-5500rpm (DTC) P0327 Knock Sensor Circuit Fault .....why ? any insight? we tried n
      a new knock sensor ,then we used a spacer kit o
      for the knock sensor, cleaned MAF, ran 91 octane with an octane booster
      anyone....


      could it be the my ignition timing is still off slightly????If it were a wiring issue, the CEL would come on immediately after starting the car, right? I thought we set the ignition timing correctly but maybe not , But it needs be at running temp, and no CEL on when the timing is being set so the ECU dosent set it itself. Will the ignition timing being off, set off the knock sensor?



      NM it ended up being one broken wire on the car side of the knock sensor wire which caused the ecu to advance timing and trow a code and the car into limp mode...works A-1 now

    25. 07-19-2011 08:17 AM #166
      Just installed my 270 cam and stage 2 pem right before waterfest and she was haulin assssss...good thing I didnt catch on fire cause I didn't inst the injectors all the way after rep the head....faaaaaiiilllll!!!! But no CEL with no cat means passing inspection so kudos to you BFI!!!! BTW where was ur booth at wf? Couldn't find it at all prob cause I'm blind tho lol anyways sick module

    26. Member cm123's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 3rd, 2010
      Location
      Westchester/Long Island NY
      Posts
      957
      Vehicles
      98 mkIII Jetta Wolfsburg(sold), 2005 Volvo s60R
      08-26-2011 12:55 PM #167
      The stage1 chip for the ABA is the street or race file?

    27. Member Vagilia's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 24th, 2010
      Location
      Elderburgggggg
      Posts
      800
      Vehicles
      1998 Ginster yellow Gti, 2001 1.8t jetta, 1998 t-red gold 2.oL, 97 black 2.0l jetta
      09-11-2011 03:38 PM #168
      It just plugs right into the computer.. once taken the stock one out right? no saudering
      [B][

    28. Forum Sponsor pete@blackforest's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 18th, 2011
      Location
      Raleigh, NC
      Posts
      5,442
      Vehicles
      VW/Audi/BMW
      09-13-2011 01:45 PM #169
      Quote Originally Posted by cm123 View Post
      The stage1 chip for the ABA is the street or race file?
      Sorry, this slipped through the cracks.. Stage I is a street file. Stage II is cam specific.

      Quote Originally Posted by Vagilia View Post
      It just plugs right into the computer.. once taken the stock one out right? no saudering
      Yeah, OBD-II cars plug right in.

    29. Forum Sponsor pete@blackforest's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 18th, 2011
      Location
      Raleigh, NC
      Posts
      5,442
      Vehicles
      VW/Audi/BMW
      09-15-2011 12:41 PM #170

    30. Member cm123's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 3rd, 2010
      Location
      Westchester/Long Island NY
      Posts
      957
      Vehicles
      98 mkIII Jetta Wolfsburg(sold), 2005 Volvo s60R
      09-15-2011 02:12 PM #171
      If the front o2 sensor goes bad, will that cause the car to shut off on me while driving/idling? I've changed the ignition coil distributor and spark plugs and front o2 sensor within the last year.
      Also I'm not getting any codes at all regarding the front o2 sensor.. Only code im getting is P0172.

    31. Forum Sponsor pete@blackforest's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 18th, 2011
      Location
      Raleigh, NC
      Posts
      5,442
      Vehicles
      VW/Audi/BMW
      09-15-2011 06:11 PM #172
      Quote Originally Posted by cm123 View Post
      If the front o2 sensor goes bad, will that cause the car to shut off on me while driving/idling? I've changed the ignition coil distributor and spark plugs and front o2 sensor within the last year.
      Also I'm not getting any codes at all regarding the front o2 sensor.. Only code im getting is P0172.
      Have you checked your MAF?

    32. 09-15-2011 10:05 PM #173
      hey i just wanna drop my 2 cents about the famous p0172 dilema...ive been chasing it since waterfest..

    33. Member cm123's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 3rd, 2010
      Location
      Westchester/Long Island NY
      Posts
      957
      Vehicles
      98 mkIII Jetta Wolfsburg(sold), 2005 Volvo s60R
      09-15-2011 10:12 PM #174
      Quote Originally Posted by pete@blackforest View Post
      Have you checked your MAF?
      wouldnt a code come up for that MAF if there were a problem with it?
      ill take out the MAF and clean it.

    34. 09-15-2011 11:06 PM #175
      i swapped in a brand new bosch maf and still got the code

    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •