Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 24 of 24

    Thread: is there an aux input in the monsoon deck?

    1. 01-26-2009 03:45 PM #1
      just as the title says. i just bought an 04 GLI and was wondering if there was any way of plugging in an mp3 player (not i-pod) into the stereo. all i need is a simple audio aux hookup. i hate using the cheap tape adapter. thanks in advance

    2. Moderator Mr. Rictus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 24th, 2004
      Location
      Buchanan, NY
      Posts
      17,535
      Vehicles
      2.9L 24v twin turbo VR6 on a stand, 2002 S6 Avant
      01-26-2009 03:46 PM #2
      No.
      Driversport Will Never Die|| Dub Cult PM me for all your Fragola Fittings and Billy Boat Exhaust Needs!!!

      The Elite 24v VR6 Club: Member #4

      My Dead Build Thread

    3. Senior Member bluebora20v's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 14th, 2001
      Location
      Bay
      Posts
      31,456
      Vehicles
      2000/VW/MK4 Jetta
      01-26-2009 03:46 PM #3
      No.

      Check enfig.com


    4. Member tamorgen's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 1st, 2003
      Location
      Columbia, MD
      Posts
      1,508
      Vehicles
      2001 VW Jetta Wolfsburg 1.8t (RIP), 2007 VW GLI 2.0T
      01-26-2009 03:51 PM #4
      IIRC there is an adapter that will let you convert the input for the CD changer (the blue plug) into an RCA input. Do a search on ipod converters.

    5. 01-26-2009 03:55 PM #5
      i dont have a cd changer, single disk. would that still work?

    6. 01-26-2009 03:59 PM #6
      im watching this, im in the middle of installing an aux input but cant figure it out.


    7. Member Rally VW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 7th, 2008
      Location
      Greensboro, NC
      Posts
      1,526
      Vehicles
      Mark 4 GTI
      01-26-2009 04:06 PM #7
      ^^Me dos.
      Your resident pilot

    8. Member tamorgen's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 1st, 2003
      Location
      Columbia, MD
      Posts
      1,508
      Vehicles
      2001 VW Jetta Wolfsburg 1.8t (RIP), 2007 VW GLI 2.0T
      01-26-2009 04:09 PM #8

    9. Member graffkng's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 9th, 2008
      Location
      Saugerties, NY
      Posts
      2,062
      Vehicles
      GLI 30th w/Nav
      01-26-2009 04:16 PM #9
      Quote, originally posted by Rally VW »
      ^^Me dos.

      yo tambien.

      Quote Originally Posted by Time for a GTI View Post
      Settle down there junior planeteers. It was a joke.

    10. Member dopesauce's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 21st, 2008
      Location
      MD
      Posts
      6,598
      Vehicles
      24v GTI
      01-26-2009 04:25 PM #10
      If you have a tape player, get this or something similar.

      http://www.bestbuy.com/site/ol...30711


    11. Member wav3form's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 7th, 2008
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      1,340
      Vehicles
      2002 Z28
      01-26-2009 04:26 PM #11
      Quote, originally posted by Eurotrash18t »
      If you have a tape player, get this or something similar.

      http://www.bestbuy.com/site/ol...30711

      This is what I use for my iphone right now... ghetto but it works until I can get a new head unit.


    12. Senior Member bluebora20v's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 14th, 2001
      Location
      Bay
      Posts
      31,456
      Vehicles
      2000/VW/MK4 Jetta
      01-26-2009 04:27 PM #12
      Quote, originally posted by BonesMKIV »
      i dont have a cd changer, single disk. would that still work?

      You have a GLI with no changer? I thought those were standard for GLIs...

      Anyway, yes it still works the same because the DD HU has the changer plug in the back.


    13. 01-26-2009 04:37 PM #13
      i have a cassett adapter but it doesnt work. i have to turn it up really loud, then i get that hissing noise cause the volume is up so much. i can hear the music but quietly. i tried playing side B but i wouldn't hear anything.

    14. Member supavr6lover's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 7th, 2004
      Location
      St Paul, MN
      Posts
      5,153
      Vehicles
      2013 Jetta 2.5 SE
      01-26-2009 04:44 PM #14
      Why didn't I just buy a GTI?

    15. Member Porpoise Hork's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2006
      Location
      Houston
      Posts
      2,058
      Vehicles
      08 GTI 4dr
      01-26-2009 05:08 PM #15
      yes...its called phatnoise... i love mine.


      they pop up in the classifieds every now and then.


    16. Geriatric Member Bora_Azul's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 8th, 2002
      Location
      Hartford, CT / Porto de Mos, Portugal
      Posts
      47,621
      Vehicles
      01 Sand pail, shovel not included
      01-26-2009 05:18 PM #16
      Quote, originally posted by Porpoise Hork »
      yes...its called phatnoise... i love mine.


      they pop up in the classifieds every now and then.

      i have one that will be up for sale in 2 weeks


    17. Member Porpoise Hork's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2006
      Location
      Houston
      Posts
      2,058
      Vehicles
      08 GTI 4dr
      01-26-2009 05:25 PM #17
      Quote, originally posted by Bora_Azul »

      i have one that will be up for sale in 2 weeks

      is it hacked?


    18. Geriatric Member Bora_Azul's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 8th, 2002
      Location
      Hartford, CT / Porto de Mos, Portugal
      Posts
      47,621
      Vehicles
      01 Sand pail, shovel not included
      01-26-2009 05:28 PM #18
      Quote, originally posted by Porpoise Hork »

      is it hacked?

      hacked?
      it's just a phatnoise i've had sitting at a friends house and haven't been out that way in a while.

      Whats there to hack on them though?


    19. 01-26-2009 05:39 PM #19
      wow we seem have a lot of experts in the aux input department.
      They should check this out. http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=4217680

    20. 01-26-2009 05:45 PM #20
      There's no actual AUX in jack on the headunit, but there are plenty of options out there that let you hook things into the CD changer input on the back of the HU. Go to http://www.enfig.com and check out what they have.

      I've got my XM reciever connected to the CD changer input and it works and sounds great.


    21. Member Notch__Johnson's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 20th, 2002
      Location
      SoCal SD
      Posts
      4,091
      Vehicles
      2011 Kia Optima
      01-26-2009 06:46 PM #21
      Quote, originally posted by Bora_Azul »

      hacked?
      it's just a phatnoise i've had sitting at a friends house and haven't been out that way in a while.

      Whats there to hack on them though?

      upgrading the internal hard drive maybe?

      Quote Originally Posted by backinthegame View Post
      Plus, if it gets cold, you can close the door and start the car up. It'll heat the place up in no time to help you sleep.
      Team 7-Up Keepin It Fresh! [llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll] - Clever Response Loading.... Please wait.

    22. Member Porpoise Hork's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2006
      Location
      Houston
      Posts
      2,058
      Vehicles
      08 GTI 4dr
      01-26-2009 07:18 PM #22
      Quote, originally posted by Notch__Johnson »

      upgrading the internal hard drive maybe?


      yep basically you flash the unit to run non phatnoise hdd's. it comes in handy when the stock 20 gig is about to die (which they do alot). im running an 80 gig in mine now.

      http://forum.phathack.com/index.php


    23. 01-26-2009 07:39 PM #23
      Yea just go for the phatnoise, it gets the ladies when your scrolling through 20 gigs (+if you hack it) by pressing a button on your monsoon. Sound quality is good to..

    24. Geriatric Member Bora_Azul's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 8th, 2002
      Location
      Hartford, CT / Porto de Mos, Portugal
      Posts
      47,621
      Vehicles
      01 Sand pail, shovel not included
      01-27-2009 08:16 AM #24
      Quote, originally posted by Porpoise Hork »


      yep basically you flash the unit to run non phatnoise hdd's. it comes in handy when the stock 20 gig is about to die (which they do alot). im running an 80 gig in mine now.

      http://forum.phathack.com/index.php

      hmm, maybe i should keep mine then


    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •