Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Auxiliary Water Pump Problem

1. 03-31-2009 01:06 PM #1
      Please help!

I'm new to VW's... I had a brand new '05 GLI, a couple years back, but I got rid of it after six months so I never had any problems with it.

Now I have a GTI VR6 that is having problems with the auxiliary water pump. Problem is this: I have no idea what that is. Or how expensive it is to fix. Or how to fix it for that matter....

If anyone has any info that can help me out that would be super appreciated!

Vehicles
      '07 TL, '03 GTI 24V, '03 R6
      03-31-2009 01:38 PM #2
      Whats wrong with it??

The Aux water pump is an electric pump that aids in pumping the coolant through out the engine... It also runs for a few minutes after you turn off the car to help cycle coolant through the hot engine to aid in properly cooling it down after driving...

The Elite 24v VR6 Club: Member #245

3. 03-31-2009 01:48 PM #3
      All I know is that on days like today (read: an hour ago) my co-worker had to come pick me up because I was driving my car and all of a sudden it started beeping and the info panel said stop and the coolant light came on. It's really becoming a pain in the butt and I have to get it fixed, but I have no idea how much this is going to end up costing me...

4. 03-31-2009 02:02 PM #4
      That's not a sign of the aux water pump having a problem. Have you checked your fluid level? That indicator usually relates to a low fluid level, and it thinks it's so low it's hazardous to your car to continue driving. Have you had any indication of the temperature getting too hot?

We don't have enough info from your description to figure it out for sure, but it's definitely not your aux water pump.

5. 03-31-2009 02:06 PM #5
      Yeah, the temp gauge flies over to the right side as soon as the car starts beeping and flashing stop across the info screen.