Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 23 of 23

    Thread: P0103 MAF

    1. Member 01Golf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2008
      Location
      Southern, NH 03063
      Posts
      339
      Vehicles
      01 Golf 2.0 5 spd & 88 Saleen Mustang tribute build
      04-11-2009 01:13 PM #1
      A few weeks ago i got a code on my 01 Golf. It was P0102 (MAF circuit low input). After resetting the code a few times & having it come back, I got a new one from the dealer (very expensive), reset the code & the car was fine for about 50 miles then the check engine light came back. This time it gave me a different MAF code P0103 (MAF circuit high input). Could the dealer have given me a bad MAF sensor? I have reset the latest code a few times now but it comes back with the P0103. Any ideas? After reading so much here about MAF I know the part # on the one the dealer gave me was the latest & greatest
      P# 06A906461A


      Modified by 01Golf at 1:16 PM 4-11-2009
      LB9A Candy White/Tan 2001 Golf 2.0 5 spd

    2. 04-11-2009 11:05 PM #2
      I have that same code P0102, I just reset the code & will wait to see if it comes back. If so, I think a new MAF is going to have to be ordered, but from GAP. Stealerships want more $$ for this piece.

    3. Member 01Golf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2008
      Location
      Southern, NH 03063
      Posts
      339
      Vehicles
      01 Golf 2.0 5 spd & 88 Saleen Mustang tribute build
      04-12-2009 10:07 AM #3
      I know you dont want to hear this but get an OEM Bosch MAF from the dealer. I bought a cheaper MAF from an autoparts store & it was bad. I returned it & got another, that was bad (throwing codes & wouldnt run right). I brought that one back, told the cheap auto parts store that i just wanted a refund ($120.00) & went to the dealer, pair $222.85 (last week) & the car now runs fine but i have the new code P0103. People here told me to get an OEM MAF & not a cheap auto parts store MAF. I didnt listen LOL. I found out the hard way so i am passing this on to you. Get the OEM one from the dealer. This is the one sensor you cant cheap out on.


      Modified by 01Golf at 10:09 AM 4-12-2009
      LB9A Candy White/Tan 2001 Golf 2.0 5 spd

    4. Member 01Golf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2008
      Location
      Southern, NH 03063
      Posts
      339
      Vehicles
      01 Golf 2.0 5 spd & 88 Saleen Mustang tribute build
      04-12-2009 10:10 AM #4
      I know you dont want to hear this but get an OEM Bosch MAF from the dealer. I bought a cheaper on from an autoparts store & it was bad. I returned it & got another, that was bad (throwing codes & wouldnt run right). I brought that one back, told the cheap auto parts store that i just wanted a refund (120.00) & went to the dealer, pair 222.85 (last week) & the car now runs fine but i have the new code P0103. People here told me to get an OEM one & not a cheap auto parts store one. I didnt listen LOL. I found out the hard way so i am passing this on to you. Get the OEM one from the dealer. This is the one sensor you cant cheap out on.
      LB9A Candy White/Tan 2001 Golf 2.0 5 spd

    5. 04-12-2009 10:17 AM #5
      Yea, the MAF from German Auto Parts (GAP) is an OEM Bosch for $194. It's a couple bucks cheaper than the stealership.

      I reset the codes last night & will wait to see if that code comes back. Did your CEL come on? Mine didn't come on & decided to scan it anyways & the code came up P0102. Mine is (MAF circuit low input) something like that. Did you try cleaning the MAF? I cleaned mine about 2 weeks ago already, maybe I should try again.

      http://www.germanautoparts.com...l/5/2


    6. Member 01Golf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2008
      Location
      Southern, NH 03063
      Posts
      339
      Vehicles
      01 Golf 2.0 5 spd & 88 Saleen Mustang tribute build
      04-12-2009 11:13 AM #6
      Yeah my code P0103 came back last night & I have a new OEM Bosch MAF from the dealer I put in a few days ago! HMMM its got me stumped. I talked to a VW rep & he said they wont repl the new MAF unless I take the car in for a checkover/diagnostic at $92.00 & if they find the new MAF i put in from them is bad, they will repl the MAF and waive the check over fee. They also said that if it wasnt the MAF thats the prob (how could it not be with a MAF code??) they will tell me what is the prob so i can fix it. The guy was also telling about how the connector to the MAF can go bad.
      LB9A Candy White/Tan 2001 Golf 2.0 5 spd

    7. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 31st, 2002
      Posts
      9,079
      Vehicles
      '74 Bug (yard), '96 Jetta 255K (yard), '02 Cabrio 104K (yard), '06 Rabbit 107K BGP, '08 Jetta 30K
      04-12-2009 11:34 AM #7
      Maybe try cleaning the connector yourself and try some dielectric grease in there. Any air leaks before the maf?


      Modified by FL 2.0L at 11:35 AM 4-12-2009

    8. Member 01Golf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2008
      Location
      Southern, NH 03063
      Posts
      339
      Vehicles
      01 Golf 2.0 5 spd & 88 Saleen Mustang tribute build
      04-12-2009 05:30 PM #8
      There are no air leaks before the MAF. Everything looks & sounds tip top.
      LB9A Candy White/Tan 2001 Golf 2.0 5 spd

    9. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 25th, 2010
      Location
      chantilly, va
      Posts
      21
      Vehicles
      2001 Cabrio GLX
      04-29-2010 01:18 PM #9
      I've got the same issue on an '01 Cabrio... replaced the MAF, and rewired a new harness onto the existing wires. At first I was getting a low input P102. Now I'm getting a high input code P103.

      I'm also getting high resistance on one, (but not both), of the internal grounds at the MAF harness.

      Checked resistance between the ECU wiring harness and the MAF harness, and all check out fine. Where could this resistance be coming from that is affecting only one of my MAF internal grounds?

      Looking for an ECU pinout diagram so I can look into it further. Any help is appreciated.


    10. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 8th, 2010
      Location
      Portage Lakes OH
      Posts
      519
      Vehicles
      2000 Passat Wagon, 2001 Jetta Wagon, 84 Scirocco and Fritz the '82 Caddy
      04-30-2010 08:10 PM #10
      What's your engine code? I have an '01 with the AZG engine and the same issue. I am beginning to suspect the ECM. In running the procedure in Bentley, there is no continuity from terminal 1 of the harness to ground(it grounds through the ECM). I've removed the harness from the ECM and tested all the wiring(good). All that remains is a dodgy ECM. Sigh. As a last-ditch effort, I'll open the plenum and shine up the ground terminals.

      IIRC, there are some Golf models with the AZG engine.

      As I digest the wiring diagrams, there are several circuits grounding via this same current track-- one is the upstream O2 sensor, so that is probably complicit in the rich running condition.

      A MAF code doesn't always mean a bad MAF. It can be wiring, throttle adaptation or a host of other things.


    11. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 27th, 2010
      Location
      Oakland, CA
      Posts
      108
      Vehicles
      2001 Cabrio GLX
      05-01-2010 02:48 AM #11
      Quote, originally posted by rjhinman »
      I've got the same issue on an '01 Cabrio...
      . . .
      Looking for an ECU pinout diagram so I can look into it further. Any help is appreciated.

      If you find the pinout please let me know as I'm interesting in locating it as well. Although when I have time I'm planning on tracing out the wiring diagrams, so if I get that done I'll prolly post it.


    12. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 25th, 2010
      Location
      chantilly, va
      Posts
      21
      Vehicles
      2001 Cabrio GLX
      05-03-2010 09:00 PM #12
      So I misrepresented a bit on my issue as I was looking at a DIY that didn't apply to my situation.

      My MAF has a bad ground wire. Continuity checks out fine to the ECU wiring harness, but I'm not sure where to go from there. I was reading a High MAF Input: Code P0103.

      I installed a second ground wire, (not to the ECU, but directly to the body), my return signal readings came down to normal immediately Now I'm reading a Low MAF Input: Code P0102.

      Any ideas?


    13. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 8th, 2010
      Location
      Portage Lakes OH
      Posts
      519
      Vehicles
      2000 Passat Wagon, 2001 Jetta Wagon, 84 Scirocco and Fritz the '82 Caddy
      05-04-2010 03:58 PM #13
      I had been considering this very action. My AZG has the same condition-- I'm considering an ECM replacement, but would like more input confirming the cause before dropping the cash.


      To determine the P0102 cause, try this:

      Take your ride out on the highway and, with the scanner connected and reading the airflow in grams/sec, run up to redline in 2nd gear. Take someone with you as a scanner operator/reader

      IIRC, the AZG is 115hp, and nominal spec for a MAF is ~hp x .8, so you should see ~92g/sec (115 x .8)airflow at redline. If you see significantly less. I'd suspect the MAF.

      See this thread on fuel trim:

      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=1201806

      Let us know what you learn.


    14. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 8th, 2010
      Location
      Portage Lakes OH
      Posts
      519
      Vehicles
      2000 Passat Wagon, 2001 Jetta Wagon, 84 Scirocco and Fritz the '82 Caddy
      05-07-2010 10:33 AM #14
      Quote Originally Posted by rjhinman View Post
      I'm also getting high resistance on one, (but not both), of the internal grounds at the MAF harness.

      Checked resistance between the ECU wiring harness and the MAF harness, and all check out fine. Where could this resistance be coming from that is affecting only one of my MAF internal grounds?

      Looking for an ECU pinout diagram so I can look into it further. Any help is appreciated.

      What do you mean by 'high resistance'; >1.5 ohm, but less than infinity, or infinity? Infinity is open, or non-conducting and if your car is like my AZG, that wire grounds through the ECM and probably means the ECM has failed. If you have less than infinity, you likely have a bad connection. In my experience, it's easier to replace a wire than to divine the location of a bad connection. The factory wires are tiny, which makes them somewhat fragile.

    15. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 8th, 2010
      Location
      Portage Lakes OH
      Posts
      519
      Vehicles
      2000 Passat Wagon, 2001 Jetta Wagon, 84 Scirocco and Fritz the '82 Caddy
      05-07-2010 10:36 AM #15
      Quote Originally Posted by rjhinman View Post

      I installed a second ground wire, (not to the ECU, but directly to the body), my return signal readings came down to normal immediately Now I'm reading a Low MAF Input: Code P0102.

      Any ideas?

      I tried this (backprobing terminal 1 in the connector to ground) and still got the P0172 that I had previously, and also got P0112-- intake air temp high-- a reading of 140 C! If I removed my new ground, the reading came back to ambient temperature.

      The mysteries continue.

    16. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 25th, 2010
      Location
      chantilly, va
      Posts
      21
      Vehicles
      2001 Cabrio GLX
      05-07-2010 10:43 AM #16
      So after cleaning the grounds underneath the battery, (which showed some, but not excessive corrosion), I reconnected the battery with the ignition switch turned on...now my throttle-body is throwing codes, (0121 and 1544), and I think I'm in need of an adaptation, hoping I didn't fry the TCM. Now when I run the car I can sometimes get the revs up, but most of the time when I hit the gas, it bogs down and dies.

      Needless to say, I won't be taking the car out on the highway to do the recommeded test until I can get the thing running reliably. Also, I only have a code puller, can't measure airflow. I just replaced the MAF and the wiring harness, so I'm hoping that the MAF is good.

      I'm getting high resistance, (~5 ohms), on the groundwire at the MAF harness. Again, it checks out fine through both resistance and voltage drop tests from the MAF harness to the ECU, so the problem is not located in the wiring between the MAF harness and the ECU. Correct me if I'm wrong, but regardless of the condition of the MAF, I need a good ground, so I think solving the bad ground is the first thing to tackle? then I'll move to whether my new MAF is bad?

      I mentioned in a previous post that I ran a ground directly from the MAF harness to the body, and that brought my MAF signal readings down to around 1.5V at idle, but then I was throwing a P0102, (LOW MAF input signal). Perhaps there's a reason the MAF is grounded internally back to the ECU, providing some necessary information to the ECU to determine whether the MAF signal is either too high or too low? Any ideas on that?

      So without an ECU pinout, and knowing that the under-battery grounds had some corrosion, I think I'm left with tracing backwards from those ground-wires to see if any of them are bad. I'll also trace back the grounds on the front of the engine block to see if either of them are the culprit. I hate to pull wiring bundles apart and check out things that may well be completely unrelated to my problem, but at this point I'm not sure where else to start.

      Any other ideas out there, i'm all ears.

    17. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 25th, 2010
      Location
      chantilly, va
      Posts
      21
      Vehicles
      2001 Cabrio GLX
      05-07-2010 10:49 AM #17
      Quote Originally Posted by dkfackler View Post
      A MAF code doesn't always mean a bad MAF. It can be wiring, throttle adaptation or a host of other things.
      I've read that throttle adaptation should not be performed unless all other codes are clear, but you seem to indicate that a throttle adaptation could actually clear the MAF code? I don't think a throttle adaptation will solve my bad ground , but once I get the ground figured out, if I'm still throwing codes, I'd be interested to see whether an adaptation takes care of the MAF code.

      Thoughts?

    18. Member 01Golf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2008
      Location
      Southern, NH 03063
      Posts
      339
      Vehicles
      01 Golf 2.0 5 spd & 88 Saleen Mustang tribute build
      04-26-2011 09:54 PM #18
      Bringing this back from the dead. It turns out when my original MAF sensor died and I replaced it w/ am OEM one right from the dealer.....they gave me the wrong MAF sensor! Idiots! So I got the right one shortly after and its been running great now for the past 2 years! Just wanted to share!
      LB9A Candy White/Tan 2001 Golf 2.0 5 spd

    19. 05-12-2011 01:07 PM #19
      I just installed new MAF sensor that I got on eBay brand new for $51.00 free shipping. Beat that

    20. 07-07-2011 10:17 PM #20
      I'm curious to if mk3blackvw's MAF is still working. I bought one around the same time for the same price on Ebay. It worked fine, but now I started to get the P0103 code, which is a different code than I had before. I'm trying to figure out if I need to get another one and pay more for it.

      Had P0102, cleaned the intake screen of it's dirt build up, and now get P103.

    21. Member 01Golf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2008
      Location
      Southern, NH 03063
      Posts
      339
      Vehicles
      01 Golf 2.0 5 spd & 88 Saleen Mustang tribute build
      07-07-2011 10:45 PM #21
      The thing about the MAF sensors is that its calibrated to your ECM/engine and an EBay one prob won't work that well for long. You might get lucky with one but the only way to properly replace a MAF sensor is to go to the dealer, give them your VIN and let them handle it. Yes they screwed up with doing mine but mistakes happen. Before i bought the dealer MAF i went to an auto parts store and bought one. Gave me more problems that I originally had so I bought the dealer MAF sensor. To the other guys w/ MAF codes, If your getting a MAF sensor code, don't dick around with grounds ETC... on it. Just replace it and stop complicating the problem LOL,
      LB9A Candy White/Tan 2001 Golf 2.0 5 spd

    22. 07-07-2011 11:17 PM #22
      Thank for the info, maybe I can at least go to a VW specialist to save a few bucks instead of going to a dealer.

    23. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 8th, 2010
      Location
      Portage Lakes OH
      Posts
      519
      Vehicles
      2000 Passat Wagon, 2001 Jetta Wagon, 84 Scirocco and Fritz the '82 Caddy
      07-07-2011 11:56 PM #23
      Quote Originally Posted by 01Golf View Post
      Bringing this back from the dead. It turns out when my original MAF sensor died and I replaced it w/ am OEM one right from the dealer.....they gave me the wrong MAF sensor! Idiots! So I got the right one shortly after and its been running great now for the past 2 years! Just wanted to share!
      Me, too. Same cause, too. Wrong MAF. Strange, though-- it ran fine for two years prior to this journey.

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •