Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: P0606- '01 Jetta Throwing Codes like Mardi Gras

1. 04-23-2009 03:35 PM #1
      For about a month now, I have been routinely clearing codes in my 2001 Jetta. Every time, I get P0606 (PCM Processor Fault). Sometimes, I get a P0420, which is odd because I've replaced the O2 sensor 4 times since I bought the car used in 2003. When I clear the codes, it takes about a week for them to come back, but sometimes it throws the P0420, and it ALWAYS throws P0606.

I'm a student.... I'm broker than broke. I understand that dealerships charge upwards of $100 just to check the PCM, which is more than I can afford. I've also read that there are a lot of times when its not actually the PCM, and dealers will just throw parts at it until its fixed. I really need some help determining what else it could possibly be... Any suggestions anyone?

Vehicles
      turbo wagon
      04-23-2009 03:48 PM #2
      P06XX codes are not good, there is a fault with the software on the ECU.

I have P0605, but it's due to a flash/chip from Unitronic.

Best bet would be to find an ECU in the classifieds/Ebay/junkyards that matches your exact P/N.

Quote Originally Posted by Fritz27 View Post
      I read this in Samuel L. Jackson's voice to make it more interesting. That's all I got.
      2005 VW Passat Wagon 1.8T 4Motion 5M/T [Current]
      2007 A4 Avant 2.0T Q/MT [Sold]
      2000 VW Golf 2.0 [Sold]

3. 04-23-2009 03:51 PM #3
      Thanks Jay-Bee. Any chance it's not actually the PCM? I am not a car guru by any means, but especially not being a car guru, I want to know as much as I can before (I can afford) to bring it in. Is it odd that it goes off for awhile? Any chance the P0420 has anything to do with the ultimate problem?

Vehicles
      turbo wagon
      04-23-2009 04:40 PM #4
      Unfortunately it's directly related to the ECM/ECU, this is from Ross-Tech Wiki: