Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: '84 Rabbit Diesel Restoration

1. 06-09-2009 01:42 PM #1
      id like to start a progress tracking thread for my rabbit

i bought this car when i was 16 for $550. when i got to college, i decided i wanted to start restoring it. i wanted to make it exactly like it was when it rolled off the factory line.

ive been working on it, off and on (mostly off ) for the past 8 years. i have been putting together a massive collection of NOS parts (so far mainly interior, including NOS carpet and NOS dash), and also been having work done on the car

so far i got the interior completely re-upholstered, i got all body work done, and a brand new paintjob, and i also had the engine and transmission both completely rebuilt (un-necessary since the car only has 116k on it)

anyway, ill post in here as work progresses.....right now im working on restoring interior parts that i dont have NOS replacements for

pics!!

how she sat 9 years ago:

teaser of the paint job:

loooots of NOS interior parts.....very hard to find in my color, ive found:

including this NOS dash, still in wrapping, never even had a VIN on it:

parts clean up pretty nice:

Modified by Ghost of VW TANK at 9:58 PM 6-10-2009

Vehicles
      audi a4 1.8t quattro
      06-09-2009 01:51 PM #2
      wtf, where the hell did you get a NOS dash in a bag like that?

3. 06-09-2009 01:53 PM #3
      wow that REALLY impressive. This is gonna be a really nice stock car.

4. 06-09-2009 01:53 PM #4
      looks like a nice collection and a great start...of 8 years...keep it up

5. 06-09-2009 01:58 PM #5
      Quote, originally posted by ashleyroemk1 »
      wtf, where the hell did you get a NOS dash in a bag like that?

something like 6 years ago parts4vws had a random box of interior parts for sale.....$250 for the whole box, which included most of whats in those pictures

best money i ever spent

Vehicles