Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: My MKII GTI 20V 1.8T AWP Swap

Vehicles
      3 VWs and a MINI
      10-31-2009 01:20 PM #1
      I started this thread to learn about how to do this swap and also document it so that others can learn from what I did and and hopefully avoid any mistakes I made. There are a lot of ways to do this swap, this is just how I thought it would work best based on my experience and tools that I had on hand. Let me say that I am not a mechanic. I call myself a parts changer and before doing this, I had never done any serious engine work. I researched how to do this by reading every thread I could find first and then I got a Bentley manual for each car. I would say that if I could do this by myself in my backyard with limited tools, that most anybody could if they researched , learned, and took their time doing it. Although the car is not finished, The engine swap has been completed and the car is on the road. These are some threads that I used to get this done and were a big help to me. I'd like to give a big thanks to the authors and all those that contributed:

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?808137

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?3881162

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?3297891

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?3442138

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...p-into-mk3-GTI

http://myweb.whitman.syr.edu/srotblat/swap/

1990 Volkswagen GTI

Engine:
      20th AE GTI AWP 1.8T
      Borg Warner KO4-001 Turbo
      2.5in TT Turbo Back Exhaust
      APR Performance Chip
      APR R-1 Diverter Valve
      New South Performance Intake Manifold Power Gasket
      Eurojet Turbo Inlet Pipe
      Eurojet Front Mount Intercooler Street Core
      Eurojet Upper Charge Pipe
      Gruvenparts Lightweight Crank Pulley
      Gruvenparts Lightweight Power Steering Pulley
      Gruvenparts Lightweight Tensioner Pulley