Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: 1.6 NA pump mods?

1. 11-15-2009 10:32 AM #1
      I've searched a bit and can't find anything really in-depth on this topic. I just purchased an '86 1.6L NA Golf, first diesel VW I've owned (I've been running VE pumped Dodge diesels for several years). From things I've seen in the past, the VW pump looks almost the same as the Cummins. However, the pump on my '86 Golf doesn't look that much like it. Is this a different pump than a VE? Maybe some of you guys could point me a good direction to find out some more info on this pump. I've got plenty of power out of the Cummins and I think my NA Golf could use some more. Thanks in advance for any help.

Vehicles
      Because MK1
      11-16-2009 01:34 AM #2
      I highly suggest Joining this site;

http://www.vwdiesel.net They specialize in DIESEL over there.

Also recommend reading this post on how to make your 1.6 N/a faster

http://www.vwdiesel.net/forum/...391.0

This governor mod is also said to free up some power.

http://www.vwdiesel.net/forum/...781.0

GOOD LUCK

Modified by 8v-of-fury at 10:07 AM 11-16-2009

3. 11-16-2009 01:45 PM #3
      Quote, originally posted by 8v-of-fury »
      I highly suggest Joining this site;

http://www.vwdiesel.net They specialize in DIESEL over there.

Also recommend reading this post on how to make your 1.6 N/a faster.

http://www.vwdiesel.net/forum/...391.0

This governor mod is also said to free up some power.

http://www.vwdiesel.net/forum/...781.0

GOOD LUCK.

4. 11-16-2009 06:20 PM #4
      Thank you very much, I think this is the first time I've posted on here that somebody hasn't flamed the hell out of me.

Thanks for the advice.

11-17-2009 02:18 AM #5
      Welcome to the "mellow" oil-burner's forum !

No spark plugs, no need to flame, we're barely flammable

(having 'pre-chambers' gives us IDI'ers more time to think b4 responding... like counting to ten.