Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dewalt vs Makita vs Ridgid

Vehicles
      C63
      11-18-2009 01:21 AM #1
      I'm looking to pick up a cordless combo kit. Using it for moderate to advanced home improvement, but am not in the trade by profession. I've narrowed it down to three choices...

Makita LXT601 $499

Dewalt DCK450xi $449

Ridgid R964 $499

Each will get 10% taken off, and the Ridgid actually an additional 15% off final price with MIR.

The Dewalt is an XRP, but the only one that isn't a Lithium Ion battery based system.

The Ridgid has a lifetime warranty, but I've heard are not the best quality leading to many a times needing to call upon the warranty...

I've had makitas and dewalts, both where the batteries were the issue and were the source of needing replacement, and I literally destroyed a Black and Decker I picked up for cheap when I started to renovate my house last year.

The Makita kit comes with the most tools, is the middle of the road pricing, and is Lithium based.

I've basically vomited the thoughts lingering in my head over which combo kit to get... Really, I just want to have a nicer set that will last awhile, like having the freedom of cordless, and will be using the cordless saws for projects where needed a corded tool won't be needed. I've thought about getting a nice driver/drill set, and having the corded versions of the saws, but it'd be nice to have the capability. When I moved to Arizona, I left behind a lot of my tools and am starting a collection from scratch.

Thoughts?

Modified by chrisyoon at 11:23 PM 11-17-2009

2. 11-18-2009 07:30 AM #2
      I would take whichever one uses lithium ion batteries. I know you said the Makita set is Li, but I thought those ones had white tools,not blue.

3. Member
      Vehicles
      07 baggedwagon, now 12 GLI
      11-18-2009 07:53 AM #3