Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 7 of 21 FirstFirst ... 3456789101117 ... LastLast
    Results 151 to 175 of 504

    Thread: DIY - Wiring a Euro Headlight Switch to run parking lights (MkVI GTi)

    1. Member GTIwinters's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 17th, 2001
      Location
      Barstow, CA
      Posts
      490
      Vehicles
      2009 Jetta Sedan TDI
      09-16-2010 08:13 AM #151
      Strangely, my '10 JSW TDI is pre-wired for the city light function. Disabled the DRLs with the VAGCOM, popped in the euroswitch .... and the city lights worked.

      Go figure!

    2. Member
      Join Date
      Jun 27th, 2004
      Location
      TEXAS
      Posts
      400
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI, '93 Corrado SLC
      09-16-2010 02:18 PM #152
      Sebastian.... Thanks for the info.. I got that part... its the part right after that... The boxes, what numbers do i go into and adjust?

      Thanks,

    3. Member Jay07GLI's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 27th, 2007
      Location
      Springfield, MA
      Posts
      363
      Vehicles
      2012 Golf R, RB, 4DR, Loaded
      09-16-2010 02:55 PM #153
      If you bought the switch with Automatic headlights, then you can run your fogs with your DRL's in the Automatic function. At least this is the way it worked on my MKV. Even if you don't have automatic headlights, you should buy this swtich as it will give you this additional lighting option.

    4. Member
      Join Date
      Jun 27th, 2004
      Location
      TEXAS
      Posts
      400
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI, '93 Corrado SLC
      09-16-2010 04:10 PM #154
      Quote Originally Posted by Jay07GLI View Post
      If you bought the switch with Automatic headlights, then you can run your fogs with your DRL's in the Automatic function. At least this is the way it worked on my MKV. Even if you don't have automatic headlights, you should buy this swtich as it will give you this additional lighting option.
      Ok, I forgot to note, I have bi-xenons and no auto lights... It is a 2010 MK6 GTI. I installed the wire from pin 3 on the switch to pin 19 on the 52 pin harness for the control module.... the switch now has the green light on in the park position.... When you use the path to get to the helper it has a number of boxes that you can go in. These are the bytes correct? which boxes do I adjust? What number are they and what is the adjustment description?

      Hope this helps, and thanks to all of ya'll for your patience!

    5. Member
      Join Date
      Jun 27th, 2004
      Location
      TEXAS
      Posts
      400
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI, '93 Corrado SLC
      09-17-2010 08:59 AM #155
      mornin' bump

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Jun 27th, 2004
      Location
      TEXAS
      Posts
      400
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI, '93 Corrado SLC
      09-18-2010 10:43 PM #156
      saturday nite bump.

    7. Member iamgap's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 17th, 2010
      Location
      Hubert, NC
      Posts
      501
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf
      09-23-2010 11:10 PM #157
      Just days after getting my MKV Euroswitch and side markers, my tranny failed for the second time. This prompted a trade-in on a MkVI. Will my MKV Euroswitch work if I add the trigger wire, or do I need to get a new switch?

      With the MKV switch installed and DRL turned off (DRL as alternate and DRL somethingsomething Active uncheck, no other DRL options), it is either all off or all on.

      position 0 = off
      Position 1 = all on
      Position 2 = all on.

      Thanks for your assistance.


      gap

    8. Member iamgap's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 17th, 2010
      Location
      Hubert, NC
      Posts
      501
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf
      09-25-2010 02:58 PM #158
      Props to all who contributed to this.

      A special PROPS to JTwGTI for the initial DIY,
      Quote Originally Posted by JTwGTI View Post
      Okay, this DIY will allow you to turn off your DRLs and run that tiny light under your low beam with or without your fogs. People have their own reasons for wanting to inactivate DRLs so please, let's not turn this into a "why shut off the DRLs, they are a safety feature" thread. The goal is to run a parking light trigger wire from the HL switch to the Central Electric Control Module (CECM) under the drivers side dash.
      snobrdrdan for the following clip tip,
      Quote Originally Posted by snobrdrdan View Post
      Here's the picture of the "lock" unclipped.....you need to pop it up so that you can slide the wire into the pin's location

      and to sgc05vwtdi for the following hanger tip.
      Quote Originally Posted by sgc05vwtdi View Post
      One other tip: I took a wire coat hanger and cut the straight section from the bottom to route the wire from the dash opening to the footwell. Tape the end of the wire to one end of the modified coat hanger. You are able to see the footwell through the switch opening in the dash. Simply guide the coat hanger through the opening toward the footwell and your wire is in place. It took about one minute which included the time to cut the coat hanger.
      I don't have the footwell light, so the only tools I needed were the hanger and a toothpick release the clip and pull the wire back out after a accidently slid it in to slot 21. ALWAYS REMEMBER... If you struggle with something for 10-15 minutes, and it all of a sudden falls into place with minimal effort, make sure it fell into the correct location.

      I even turned my DRL back on because it uses the high beems at a very low percentage. I may reroute them to the city lights or fogs (when they are installed) later, but since using the "running lights" position turns them off now, they can stay enabled.


      gap
      Last edited by 71sbeetle; 11-03-2010 at 01:21 PM.

    9. 10-06-2010 10:00 PM #159
      will the MkIV euro switch work in my MkV R32? thanks...

    10. Member DRedman45's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2009
      Location
      NOVA
      Posts
      1,752
      Vehicles
      07 SB Rabbit(sold), 10 UG 4dr GTI(sold), e86 //M coupe
      10-06-2010 10:02 PM #160
      yeah it works...i had mine from mk5 in my gti for a while

    11. Moderator 71sbeetle's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 12th, 2002
      Location
      West Palm Beach, Florida
      Posts
      30,656
      Vehicles
      1971 Super Beetle, 2013 Passat TDI SEL Premium, 2014 Golf TDI Manual
      10-06-2010 10:18 PM #161
      Quote Originally Posted by handpub View Post
      will the MkIV euro switch work in my MkV R32? thanks...
      no the MK4 euroswitch will not work on a MK5 R32 and you are posting in the MK6 forums

    12. Member Louletano's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 20th, 2003
      Location
      NoVA/Algarve, PT
      Posts
      1,354
      Vehicles
      92 Jetta ECOdiesel, 03 Jetta 1.8T, 05 Jetta GLI 1.8T, 11 GTI 4dr, 81 Jetta diesel, 84 Jetta GLI
      10-06-2010 10:41 PM #162
      Hey I have vagcomed the DRLs off and was thinking of getting a eswitch. If I don't install the wire and just do the eswitch will I be alright and just have the fogs option before having them all on available on the next click. Thanks for the help.
      Flip / 7 E U R O 3

      Vdubluv
      curbside aka VAGinc
      Beltway Euros

    13. Moderator 71sbeetle's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 12th, 2002
      Location
      West Palm Beach, Florida
      Posts
      30,656
      Vehicles
      1971 Super Beetle, 2013 Passat TDI SEL Premium, 2014 Golf TDI Manual
      10-06-2010 11:01 PM #163
      if you dont install the wire it will not work, as soon as you turn it to the first position all the lights will come on

    14. Member SpnksVW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 21st, 2004
      Location
      Hampton VA
      Posts
      2,320
      Vehicles
      2010 JettaSW, 84 Rabbit GTI-G60, 90 Corrado, 02 GTI
      10-06-2010 11:23 PM #164
      Not to back track but i picked up my switch in Germany from a VW dealership, Chrome for a 2010 Jetta wagon. They list like 6 options for the switch over there.

      It is also stamped "Mexico" on the tag, just to let everyone feel better about it.

      I think its:
      Black w/rear fogs
      Chrome W/rear fogs
      Black Auto on
      Chrome Auto on
      Black Without rear fogs
      Chrome Without rear fogs.

      Correct me if im wrong........

    15. Member GenDV138's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 16th, 2010
      Location
      Northern VA
      Posts
      225
      Vehicles
      2011 VW GTI, 2010 Yamaha FZ6R
      10-08-2010 04:39 AM #165
      Thanks for the great DIY write up, JTwGTI! Installed my Euro switch w/ auto a few hours ago and works as described. Sure was fun cramming myself under the footwell area

    16. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 18th, 2010
      Location
      Southeast Pennsylvania, Downingtown
      Posts
      723
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf TDI
      10-08-2010 05:19 AM #166
      Quote Originally Posted by GenDV138 View Post
      Sure was fun cramming myself under the footwell area
      For sure, that is the one tough thing about the install. Even with all of the great instructions on this thread, it seems there is no way to avoid that very uncomfortable position.
      2010 Golf TDI - Blue (BGM), 4-Dr, 6-Manual, Sunroof, Xenon, Dynaudio, Nav (RNS-510), Euro light switch, 9W7 BT, R Tinted LED Tail Lights, Monte Carlo 17" x 7.5" ET47 wheels, 235/45/17 Michelin Primacy MXM4 tires, P3Cars Digital Interface
      Flickr slideshow of my TDI

    17. Member waloupis's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 1st, 2009
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      324
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI - 2001 GTI 1.8t
      10-10-2010 06:36 PM #167
      DUDE,
      Effin great DIY!!!! I'm a fat guy, so gettin under the dash was the hardest part, but otherwise I was done in about 40 minutes........

      THANKS

    18. Junior Member PugetJim54's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 3rd, 2010
      Location
      Puget Sound
      Posts
      20
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI, 2002 TDI | past friends - 1990 Turbo Eclipse, 1992 Kawasaki ZX11
      11-13-2010 09:11 PM #168
      My undying thanks to the OP for this valuable procedure. It was info like this that enabled me to fix the Monsoon speaker wire screwup from the factory on my 2002 TDI (which is still running like a champ).

      I can relate to the problem getting under the dash. I had the bottom three vertabrae of my spine fused last April (getting old is a #%$!). It took everything I had to get this done today (oxycodone helps), but it's all worth the effort being able to run my fogs only with those nice PIAA yellowish fog lamps.

    19. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 25th, 2003
      Location
      Connecticut
      Posts
      1,085
      Vehicles
      MkVI GTI / BMW R1200GSA
      11-14-2010 05:40 PM #169
      Quote Originally Posted by PugetJim54 View Post
      My undying thanks to the OP for this valuable procedure.
      Nothing makes me happier than knowing that it helped someone feel better about there VW!

      BTW, which vertebrae have you had fused?

    20. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 15th, 2004
      Location
      Hatfield, MA
      Posts
      2,825
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf TDI 6M 2Dr
      11-30-2010 02:30 PM #170
      Quote Originally Posted by JTwGTI View Post
      Nothing makes me happier than knowing that it helped someone feel better about there VW!

      BTW, which vertebrae have you had fused?
      Just did this mod today. Took about 35 minutes. The trickiest part was fishing the wire from the switch down to the harness.

    21. 12-21-2010 09:41 PM #171
      Great DIY; really looking forward to trying this on my hopefully-soon-to-be-purchased GTI. Question though: is there any way to run the city lights as DRLs instead of the Xenons? I know with the euro switch they'll come on in the parking light position, but I think it'd look pretty cool to have the city lights be the DRLs. Thoughts?

    22. Member iamgap's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 17th, 2010
      Location
      Hubert, NC
      Posts
      501
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf
      12-24-2010 10:47 AM #172
      Quote Originally Posted by Kurt871 View Post
      Great DIY; really looking forward to trying this on my hopefully-soon-to-be-purchased GTI. Question though: is there any way to run the city lights as DRLs instead of the Xenons? I know with the euro switch they'll come on in the parking light position, but I think it'd look pretty cool to have the city lights be the DRLs. Thoughts?
      Based on everything I have read, this is not possible. I am not sure how this works with Xenons, but there is a setting to run DRLs with other lights, but it uses the high beams. On my 2.5L, with halogens, they run at less than 50%.

      Byte 15, bit 6


      Byte 15, bit 7 doesn't appear to make any change on my car, no matter how it is set.

      Byte 11 bit 2 is probaly checked by default for Xenons, but I don't have a Xenon system to check that on. The below shot was the default/original setting on my halogen 2010 Golf 2.5L, that was set to use the high beams as DRL




      igap

    23. Member iamgap's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 17th, 2010
      Location
      Hubert, NC
      Posts
      501
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf
      12-24-2010 10:50 AM #173
      Quote Originally Posted by iamgap View Post
      Based on everything I have read, this is not possible. I am not sure how this works with Xenons, but there is a setting to run DRLs with other lights, but it uses the high beams. On my 2.5L, with halogens, they run at less than 50%.

      Byte 15, bit 6


      Byte 15, bit 7 doesn't appear to make any change on my car, no matter how it is set.

      Byte 11 bit 2 is probaly checked by default for Xenons, but I don't have a Xenon system to check that on. The below shot was the default/original setting on my halogen 2010 Golf 2.5L, that was set to use the high beams as DRL




      gap
      I forgot to state that if I check Byte 15, Bit 6 and Byte 11, Bit 2, all four lights are active for DRL. I currently have them both unchecked.


      gap

    24. 12-25-2010 07:53 PM #174
      Bummer; thanks for checking it out for me!

    25. 12-29-2010 04:38 PM #175
      I have a 2011 MKVI GTI.

      I do not want to disable with DRL.

      In this case, will I have any added benefit to installing the Euro switch?

      Will I need to program anything via VAGCOM after installed the Euro Switch?

      What is the difference between the AUTO/and NO-AUTO version?

      In addition, if I am not able to find a vagcom, will headlight work in the meantime?

    Page 7 of 21 FirstFirst ... 3456789101117 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •