VWVortex.com - Tired of paying $s to align your bucket? Alignment DIY Inside!
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tired of paying $s to align your bucket? Alignment DIY Inside!

Vehicles
      Project Doppelganger
      02-02-2010 05:43 AM #1
      I have been using this technique for well over 20 years and I thought I would share it with everyone. I just happen to need to do a little adjustment to my Cab so snapped some pics. Here are the details on how to do an alignment at home for FREE.

The list of tools you will need-

Flashlight
      Duct Tape (or something equally as strong)
      Square
      Angle Finder ($5 from Harbor Freight)
      2- Tape Measurers
      22mm Wrench
      17mm Wrench
      13mm Wrench
      17mm Socket/ Ratchet
      Level
      Your favorite music to jam to

Before you get started it is important to note- The alignment must be performed in this order. They can be skipped if your not planning to set that adjustment, but Toe must always be set last.

1. Set the ride height (ride height effects camber and toe)
      2. Set the Camber setting (camber effects toe)
      3. Set the Toe setting

How to set Camber

I didn't set mine this time around so I will rough some pics together to give you an idea.

First, make sure the car is as close to level as possible.

Take your square and the angle finder and place it flat on the wheel perpendicular to the ground. You may need a piece of metal long enough to span across the entire wheel if the wheel isn't flat. This measurement is your actual camber. I am sitting at around 1 degree.