Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 32 of 32

    Thread: Reset TPMS?

    1. 03-28-2010 08:50 PM #1
      My TPMS light blinks for the first 1 minute the car is on, and then stays solid. No errors listed on the display. How the hell can I clear this thing? I don't have vag yet, but my autoscanner shows no MIL for engine / trans. I can't believe I can't find a TPMS reset button (like on my toyota).

      oh yeah, and the pressure is rock solid for all 4 tires and spare.

      thx...


    2. Member jmblur's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2009
      Location
      Washington DC
      Posts
      340
      Vehicles
      2010 MkVI GTI
      03-28-2010 08:59 PM #2
      It's probably set at the wrong pressure. Dealer will fix it free of charge.
      2010 mkVI GTI

    3. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 24th, 2008
      Location
      Maryland
      Posts
      182
      Vehicles
      2009 Jetta Sportwagen SE 5MT
      03-28-2010 09:17 PM #3
      Damn Fish, when did you trade your S4 for the GTI?

    4. 03-28-2010 09:44 PM #4
      Quote, originally posted by DCMS371 »
      Damn Fish, when did you trade your S4 for the GTI?

      Sold the S4 last Friday and picked up a shiny new GTI two days later..


    5. Member brnscofrnld's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 21st, 2009
      Location
      Washington DC
      Posts
      565
      Vehicles
      '10 CW TDI, '06 F-250 6.0L
      03-28-2010 10:11 PM #5
      I had my TDI in 2 weeks ago for that very issue. Dealer said there was a programming error and reprogrammed it.

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 24th, 2008
      Location
      Maryland
      Posts
      182
      Vehicles
      2009 Jetta Sportwagen SE 5MT
      03-28-2010 10:13 PM #6
      Quote, originally posted by ieatfishburritos »

      Sold the S4 last Friday and picked up a shiny new GTI two days later..

      Congrats! I couldn't stray far from VAG either


    7. Member MaxHedrm's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 28th, 2004
      Location
      Dallas, Texas, USA
      Posts
      1,022
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf TDI / 2001 Audi TT Roadster (225) / 1982 Jetta Diesel
      03-29-2010 02:10 AM #7
      Ooo ... so you can somehow set it to whatever PSI you want? Nice.
      DRIVE: 2010 Golf TDI - 5K129L. 5R5R. 3FE, W79, 9W2, P83, 9VE, P71.
      DRIVE (less): 2001 TT Roadster
      PARK: 1982 Jetta Diesel

      maxhedrm.montebellopark.com/blog

    8. Member KiegleMK6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 30th, 2009
      Location
      Misawa AB, Japan
      Posts
      308
      Vehicles
      2010 VW GTI
      03-29-2010 03:43 AM #8
      Quote, originally posted by ieatfishburritos »
      My TPMS light blinks for the first 1 minute the car is on, and then stays solid. No errors listed on the display. How the hell can I clear this thing? I don't have vag yet, but my autoscanner shows no MIL for engine / trans. I can't believe I can't find a TPMS reset button (like on my toyota).

      oh yeah, and the pressure is rock solid for all 4 tires and spare.

      thx...

      I am away from my GTI at the moment so, what does the recommended pressure on the door label? And, What do you have the pressure set at?


    9. Member jmblur's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2009
      Location
      Washington DC
      Posts
      340
      Vehicles
      2010 MkVI GTI
      03-29-2010 03:46 AM #9
      At least on the 17 Denvers, it's 35psi.

      I know this because I already have a slow leak in one tire At least it stops reliably at 25psi so I won't be stranded anywhere...

      2010 mkVI GTI

    10. Member KiegleMK6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 30th, 2009
      Location
      Misawa AB, Japan
      Posts
      308
      Vehicles
      2010 VW GTI
      03-29-2010 03:52 AM #10
      Quote, originally posted by jmblur »
      At least on the 17 Denvers, it's 35psi.

      I know this because I already have a slow leak in one tire At least it stops reliably at 25psi so I won't be stranded anywhere...

      Yeah my wife said that some kid jumped out in the middle of the road and she curbed the wheels. Luckily the rims werent sratched, just the tires got punctured. She had to go get 2 new tires and our TPMS was on until she aired them up. She put them at 38 and the light went out. Hope this helps!


    11. Member DawnsKayBug's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2009
      Location
      RAF Mildenhall, UK
      Posts
      912
      Vehicles
      2010 USDM VW GTI
      03-29-2010 06:42 AM #11
      The TPMS isnt getting programmed correctly at the factory. I had same issues. Alot of GTIs also dont have the button in the glovebox like the manual says it should.

    12. Member fleuger99's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 12th, 2006
      Location
      78665
      Posts
      2,411
      Vehicles
      2012 Touareg TDI Lux
      03-29-2010 10:53 AM #12

      Once the TPMS is set correctly is will reset the light its self. One needs to drive at least 20MPH for a few minutes and the light will go out on its own.

      I took out a tire in a pothole and once the tire was replaced and the I drove for a few minutes it reset its self.


    13. Banner Advertiser VMRWheels's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 10th, 2009
      Location
      Anaheim, CA
      Posts
      9,375
      03-29-2010 09:03 PM #13
      There should be instructions on how to reset the sensors in the manual

    14. 03-29-2010 10:24 PM #14
      All right everyone..

      1. My tire pressure is correct (including spare).
      2. I've driven the car and it didn't correct itself.
      3. TPMS blinks for 1 minute and then goes solid - which the manual says it must go into the dealership to be resolved.

      Dealership said they'd check it out tomorrow morning. What I didn't tell everyone is that my battery partially died on Saturday and this appeared after recharging it. Probably some low voltage error or some crap like that.

      VMR - there is no "TPMS RESET" button on these cars. If it doesn't re-find itself after a little driving around, you must go to the dealer.


    15. Member DawnsKayBug's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2009
      Location
      RAF Mildenhall, UK
      Posts
      912
      Vehicles
      2010 USDM VW GTI
      03-30-2010 05:28 AM #15
      Quote, originally posted by VMRWheels »
      There should be instructions on how to reset the sensors in the manual

      Yes it is in the manual except we dont have the button where the manual says we should.. (Glove Box)


    16. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 17th, 2010
      Posts
      1,421
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI 4DR 6MT Tornado Red
      03-30-2010 07:10 AM #16
      Quote, originally posted by ieatfishburritos »
      What I didn't tell everyone is that my battery partially died on Saturday and this appeared after recharging it. Probably some low voltage error or some crap like that.

      I have the same issue, and I haven't had any battery problems.


    17. Member RobMan8023's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 17th, 2002
      Location
      Central New Jersey
      Posts
      2,046
      Vehicles
      2010 VW GTI
      04-15-2010 07:41 PM #17
      Quote, originally posted by ieatfishburritos »
      All right everyone..

      1. My tire pressure is correct (including spare).
      2. I've driven the car and it didn't correct itself.
      3. TPMS blinks for 1 minute and then goes solid - which the manual says it must go into the dealership to be resolved.

      Dealership said they'd check it out tomorrow morning. What I didn't tell everyone is that my battery partially died on Saturday and this appeared after recharging it. Probably some low voltage error or some crap like that.

      VMR - there is no "TPMS RESET" button on these cars. If it doesn't re-find itself after a little driving around, you must go to the dealer.

      I'm experiencing the same thing, blinks for a minute then steady. Manual says to take it to the dealership, but I have Vag-Com, is this something I can do on my own, or do I need the dealership?

      What was your resolution, ieatfishburritos?


    18. 04-15-2010 10:37 PM #18
      I had to take it to the dealership. They said they had to "reprogram" the unit and it was my fault since my battery died. I can't believe there isn't a reset button on this car for TPMS!!!!

      I sure hope this doesn't happen every time a battery is worn out and needs to be changed, as I'm not paying them to reset it next time (I didn't this time, but they said they could have charged me for it).


    19. Member RobMan8023's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 17th, 2002
      Location
      Central New Jersey
      Posts
      2,046
      Vehicles
      2010 VW GTI
      04-15-2010 11:26 PM #19
      Well I figured it out on my own.

      For some reason the TPMS controller was looking for 5.5 bar (80psi!!!). So it was a programming error. I went into the adaptation I found in the Ross Tech wiki here:

      http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki...ation

      And did the security access code (01503) then changed the values for each channel to 2.6 which equates to about 38psi. Once all of them were set to 2.6 bar, I saved and exited. Started the car and now I no longer have the TPMS error.

      Saved myself a trip to the dealership!

      Hope this helps someone else down the line with the same issue.


    20. 04-15-2010 11:50 PM #20
      Thanks for posting rob, time for me to buy a vag..

    21. Member BORA RKT's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2nd, 2004
      Location
      Roanoke, VA
      Posts
      6,370
      Vehicles
      91 GTI VR6 / 2010 GTI / 2000 VR6 CABRIO / 91 GTI VRT
      04-16-2010 12:06 AM #21
      Quote, originally posted by RobMan8023 »
      Well I figured it out on my own.

      For some reason the TPMS controller was looking for 5.5 bar (80psi!!!). So it was a programming error. I went into the adaptation I found in the Ross Tech wiki here:

      http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki...ation

      And did the security access code (01503) then changed the values for each channel to 2.6 which equates to about 38psi. Once all of them were set to 2.6 bar, I saved and exited. Started the car and now I no longer have the TPMS error.

      Saved myself a trip to the dealership!

      Hope this helps someone else down the line with the same issue.

      Mine did the exact same thing 5.5bar and this fixed it as well

      There is TSB out for it on the Jetta and other models.....


    22. 04-20-2010 06:37 PM #22
      Just got back from the dealer. My TPMS light was flashing. Apparently the computer changed the minimum limit to 5.5 bar (~80 psi) somehow--after 2k miles. They reset that to 2.6 bar (~37 psi). I have Detroits w/ a 38 psi spec. Not too much wiggle room.

      Just saying.


    23. Member volsfan0911's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 30th, 2002
      Location
      Ellicott City, MD
      Posts
      817
      Vehicles
      '10 GTI CW 2 dr stick
      04-20-2010 07:16 PM #23
      Quote, originally posted by jmblur »
      At least on the 17 Denvers, it's 35psi.

      I know this because I already have a slow leak in one tire At least it stops reliably at 25psi so I won't be stranded anywhere...

      I have the same crap. Will see if stealership can fix @ 10,000 mile service. Very slow leak, takes 5 weeks to fire off TPMS if I let it go that long. On the bright side, seems the threshold is 15% - alert light came on, I checked the pressure and got 30 psi if I remember correctly. Glad the system works, hate that I have a slow leak right out of the box .


    24. Member projectracerabbit's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 18th, 2005
      Location
      heltersberg, RP, DE/Ktown-RAB
      Posts
      2,979
      Vehicles
      82 2.0ABA Rabbit , 89/98 Jetta AHU TDI--RIP, 10 GOLF TDI
      04-27-2010 11:57 AM #24
      watching as I need to do this too
      I Diesel!
      I can get CUSTOM EURO PLATES
      37.89 AVG MPG over the life of the car in Germany!

    25. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 17th, 2010
      Posts
      1,421
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI 4DR 6MT Tornado Red
      04-27-2010 06:58 PM #25
      Quote, originally posted by RobMan8023 »
      Hope this helps someone else down the line with the same issue.

      Sure did, my light's out now! Thanks for posting this!


    26. Member fjbvr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 6th, 2008
      Location
      Beacon, N.Y.
      Posts
      263
      Vehicles
      2012 Golf R
      04-27-2010 11:03 PM #26
      mines doing the same thing. i have an appt to get the control module replaced friday

    27. 04-27-2010 11:24 PM #27
      Same issue a few weeks ago after the car was sitting at the airport for about a week. Took them seriously 4 hours at the dealer to fix..

    28. Member RobMan8023's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 17th, 2002
      Location
      Central New Jersey
      Posts
      2,046
      Vehicles
      2010 VW GTI
      04-27-2010 11:24 PM #28
      Quote, originally posted by fjbvr6 »
      mines doing the same thing. i have an appt to get the control module replaced friday

      Control module replaced? Seems overkill for something that can be fixed with Vag-Com. Do you have anybody local that can hook you up?


    29. Member
      Join Date
      May 24th, 2000
      Location
      San Jose, CA USA
      Posts
      1,350
      Vehicles
      2013 Mercedes E350 Sedan
      04-28-2010 02:14 PM #29
      Mine just started blinking... then on steady... despite the pressure adequate in all tires.

    30. Member RobMan8023's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 17th, 2002
      Location
      Central New Jersey
      Posts
      2,046
      Vehicles
      2010 VW GTI
      04-28-2010 02:25 PM #30
      Quote, originally posted by jmatero »
      Mine just started blinking... then on steady... despite the pressure adequate in all tires.

      That's what happened to me. This is the fix:
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=4850324

      You guys just need to find someone with vag-com.


    31. Member projectracerabbit's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 18th, 2005
      Location
      heltersberg, RP, DE/Ktown-RAB
      Posts
      2,979
      Vehicles
      82 2.0ABA Rabbit , 89/98 Jetta AHU TDI--RIP, 10 GOLF TDI
      04-28-2010 03:56 PM #31
      yep, vag com worked for me,

      Now if we only knew what they change around in the programing for emissions and stuff for the o2 sensor fault on the TDIs we would be golden and not have to visit the damn dealer all the time.

      I Diesel!
      I can get CUSTOM EURO PLATES
      37.89 AVG MPG over the life of the car in Germany!

    32. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 16th, 2005
      Posts
      965
      Vehicles
      05 GTI, 07 Rabbit
      05-15-2010 06:18 AM #32
      thats good info

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •