Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: HOW MUCH FREON DOES MY 2.0'S COMPRESSOR HOLD

1. Member
      Vehicles
      00 Jetta 2.Slo 5Spd
      04-08-2010 09:51 AM #1
      im going to add some refrigerant because my compressor is not kicking on and then it was determined there is not enough freon to start the compressor, so i need to know how much it holds, im going to buy the kit with the pressure needle, what do i need to know other than connecting it to low side service port and turning AC on MAX ?? i don't want to overfill it and kill my compressor it's still good.

2. 04-08-2010 12:04 PM #2
      Hey there,

Unfortunately if your refrigerant is low, there is a leak. Personally, as I have no experience with refrigeration systems, I would let a professional ensure the system is sealed and in good shape before having it recharged.

You may be able to locate the leak by pressurizing the system with compressed air, and painting all the fittings with soapy water, watching for bubbles. But again, pressurized systems are dangerous, refrigerant is toxic, and it might be hard to source the individual parts.

Best of luck, but I would suggest having a refrigeration tech check it out.

Jim

Vehicles
      1989 VW GTI 16v (W.I.P), 1998 VW Jetta 2.0 (Totalled), 2001 VW GTI 1.8t
      04-08-2010 01:18 PM #3