Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Injection pump leaks and easy fix!!!!

1. Semi-n00b
      Vehicles
      1981 VW Rabbit (USA)
      06-02-2010 04:44 PM #1
      I am a heavy diesel truck mechanic. Found out by trial and error that you can stop the various injection pump leaks caused by ultra low sulfur fuel by adding "1 gallon of ethanol gasoline" from a "ethanol" pump to a full tank of diesel fuel (9-10 gallons). May need to use only a 1/2 gallon too. In a couple of days, the leaks stop. Apparently the ethanol swells the rubber seals and o rings back to original shape. Usually only one treatment is needed, although a 2nd one is possible. I have been driving my 2 rabbits for over 2 years with no ill effects from this fix. Both were leaking fuel in small amounts due to the dreaded "ULTRA LOW SULFUR FUEL". I do not know if it would work for the newer electronic engines or not. I would be afraid to try it on the newer injectors, but it works GREAT for old school diesels.

PS: I am talking about the alternative ethanol fuel pumps that can be found at various gas stations across the USA. Not the gasoline that has about 10% ethanol added, but the alternative fuel kind.

2. 06-02-2010 04:57 PM #2
      Thanks for sharing

Vehicles
      81 rabbit diesel 4dr, 00 golf gls tdi 4dr
      06-02-2010 05:12 PM #3
      Sounds good, wouldve been better to have known this 2 years ago. Flew 1 way back to TN to drive it home to FL and found my pump was leaking like a sieve. Instead spent 9 hours on a motorcycle in 30* weather easter weekend driving to NC to buy a rebuilt pump because no one sold the seals locally or had a way of getting any.
      2003 Jetta GLX VR6 - sold
      1984 Cabriolet Wolfsburg - traded
      1981 Cabriolet - traded
      1986 Golf GL sold

4. Member
      Vehicles
      84 Diesel Rabbit - daily driver
      06-02-2010 09:59 PM #4