Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Jetta 2.0 engine into '88 Cabriolet

1. Semi-n00b
      Vehicles
      '88 VW Cabriolet
      07-08-2010 09:25 PM #1
      Hello... Here I place this to describe the crazy idea of how my '88 Cabriolet is being converted and updated with the main parts from a '96 Jetta.

The idea started with just the thought of an overhaul for my car. I really wanted to make sure I enjoyed this little car for years to come and if possible, inherit to my daughter who's 4yrs old at the moment. So my friend Dave (the real miracle worker in the project) agreed to do a whole engine swap. Dollar by dollar, it is all paying off. I got this car as a graduation gift from my mother right before I got my college degree. I've had some compliments and bad comments on my car. I do thank those who have complimented. But for those who do otherwise, I just don't care. I'm happy to have this car and that I'm able to go for this project. You can message me with questions comments and ideas. I am open to constructive criticism and suggestions.

Read more: http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?f...#ixzz0t8zX6AL4
      Last edited by Kique Gavilan; 07-10-2010 at 12:47 AM. Reason: Update

2. Semi-n00b
      Vehicles
      '88 VW Cabriolet
      07-10-2010 12:42 AM #2
      We started over a year ago... with no supplies but the Cabriolet itself, tools, and only a handful of cash. First thing we did was to strip the car off the engine, dash board, and wire harness.

Read more: http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?f...#ixzz0tFWZ5FHk

Booster gets an MK3 Upgrade

The Radiator gets replaced with a Scirocco's

The Rack & Pinnion gets replaced witha new one (same MK1 style)

All the brackets get cutt off

The steering column gets replaced with the Jetta's

The HVAC unit gets replaced with the Jetta's and the AC gets completely cancelled out (just a heater for the winter)
      Last edited by Kique Gavilan; 07-10-2010 at 12:59 AM.

3. Semi-n00b