Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 28 of 28

    Thread: TPMS Light will not turn off

    1. 08-20-2010 11:20 PM #1
      My TPMS light came on a few days ago. I went ahead and checked my tires I found out that 2 were about 3 PSI under what they should be. I quickly added air (38PSI) and the light is still on. Anyone have any suggestions? I figured at first that maybe I needed to drive the car for a while and the light would go off. I have driven the car for over 50 miles and started the car about 5 times now. Any suggestions?

    2. Member corrado917's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 6th, 2008
      Location
      Chi City
      Posts
      489
      Vehicles
      MK6 CSG,Corrado SLC,C230 Sport Kompressor
      08-21-2010 12:52 AM #2
      I went to the delaer today and they performed the TPMS software fix.
      I had it just once,you should go to the delaerand request the upgrade,it only takes 45 min.

    3. Member MK6spDiesel's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2010
      Location
      Avondale, AZ
      Posts
      1,016
      Vehicles
      G8 GT, MK6 GLI, MK3 jetta TDI, A1 scirocco, MK6 TDI, MK2 Coupe VR, MK1 rabbit turbo
      08-21-2010 11:23 AM #3
      I've had to have my TPMS recalibrated twice now. Both times the sensors somehow got bumped up to 5.5 bar, meaning they would read low pressure till you had like 90psi in the tires.
      You may want to take it in to have it checked. TPMS is garbage. My friends touareg had an appointment at the dealer just about every month for it, and i've been in twice for it in 4 months.

    4. Member SoCalMK6GTI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 4th, 2010
      Location
      Rancho Cucamonga, CA
      Posts
      7,279
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI 6MT DBM
      08-21-2010 11:29 AM #4
      Disable via VAGCOM. Monitor your tires like we always have in the old days.

    5. Member
      Join Date
      May 28th, 2007
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      1,047
      Vehicles
      Rusty n' Not Reliable
      08-21-2010 01:06 PM #5
      Quote Originally Posted by vwfan78 View Post
      . Any suggestions?
      if the problem is with the setting, here is how to fix or temporarily disable the TPMS (at your own risk)
      http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/a...g-light-vw.htm

    6. Member ronin1's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 5th, 2006
      Location
      Northern Virginia/DC Metro
      Posts
      521
      Vehicles
      2008 CW R32 #3549, 2009 Precor EFX 576i (normally aspirated)
      08-24-2010 06:10 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by vwfan78 View Post
      My TPMS light came on a few days ago. I went ahead and checked my tires I found out that 2 were about 3 PSI under what they should be. I quickly added air (38PSI) and the light is still on. Anyone have any suggestions? I figured at first that maybe I needed to drive the car for a while and the light would go off. I have driven the car for over 50 miles and started the car about 5 times now. Any suggestions?
      Hey I currently have the same problem. It happened just a few days ago. In the past when the light has gone on, which has been rare, one of the tires really needed air. This time it seemed to be the same issue, one tire was down about 5 PSI so I checked all of the tires and tried to get them all close to the recommended pressure but the lights/warning still were on. Over the past few days I've been checking the tires and they seem to not have lost any pressure. I'm going to the dealer in a few days.

      What's interesting is about a month ago I rented a Jetta and when I got in it the same light was on when I picked it up. What worried me was I was about to take it on a road trip so I checked the tires and none of them seemed to be that much off so I added some air but the lights were on the whole trip.

      If it works correctly I like having the TPMS although I wish it would tell you WHICH tire was down in pressure. The thing that bothers me more is that when those warnings come on you can't go to anything else on the MFD.

      I hope my dealer is aware of that software fix.

    7. Member hermitizer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 10th, 2001
      Location
      Huntington Woods, MI
      Posts
      334
      Vehicles
      2010 gti
      08-24-2010 08:07 PM #7
      Quote Originally Posted by ronin1 View Post
      Hey I currently have the same problem. It happened just a few days ago. In the past when the light has gone on, which has been rare, one of the tires really needed air. This time it seemed to be the same issue, one tire was down about 5 PSI so I checked all of the tires and tried to get them all close to the recommended pressure but the lights/warning still were on. Over the past few days I've been checking the tires and they seem to not have lost any pressure. I'm going to the dealer in a few days.

      What's interesting is about a month ago I rented a Jetta and when I got in it the same light was on when I picked it up. What worried me was I was about to take it on a road trip so I checked the tires and none of them seemed to be that much off so I added some air but the lights were on the whole trip.

      If it works correctly I like having the TPMS although I wish it would tell you WHICH tire was down in pressure. The thing that bothers me more is that when those warnings come on you can't go to anything else on the MFD.

      I hope my dealer is aware of that software fix.
      didn't even have a problem and dealer performed the fix when i was getting my rear window washer fix done. nixed my apr stage i in the process. sigh.

    8. Member The Hack's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 27th, 2010
      Posts
      118
      Vehicles
      2011 CW GTI
      08-24-2010 08:31 PM #8
      Have you tried the reset button in the glovebox? Its in the left upper corner. And reset instructions on the glovebox door. At least in my 11 there are.
      If you Love your car and wreck it... Bring it to me! www.vpautocollision.com

    9. Member RobMan8023's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 16th, 2002
      Location
      Central New Jersey
      Posts
      2,046
      Vehicles
      2010 VW GTI
      08-24-2010 10:48 PM #9
      Quote Originally Posted by vwfan78 View Post
      My TPMS light came on a few days ago. I went ahead and checked my tires I found out that 2 were about 3 PSI under what they should be. I quickly added air (38PSI) and the light is still on. Anyone have any suggestions? I figured at first that maybe I needed to drive the car for a while and the light would go off. I have driven the car for over 50 miles and started the car about 5 times now. Any suggestions?
      I recalibrated mine myself with Vag-Com in April. TPMS was flashing again on Monday, but it was because I had actual low pressure. I inflated all 4 tires to spec and was good to go. Vag-Com recalibration or dealer recalibration should fix it, and only take 10 minutes...

      I suggest finding someone local with Vag-Com and saving yourself a trip to the dealer.

    10. Member epc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 16th, 1999
      Posts
      402
      Vehicles
      1999 Passat GLS, 2000 GTI GLX, 2001 BMW 325i, 2010 Golf TDI, 2014 Tiguan S
      08-25-2010 12:39 AM #10
      38 psi in all 4 tires should turn off the light immediately. If not, your gauge might also be off slightly. Try pumping it to 40. After the light goes off, you can lower the air to 35 before TPMS is tripped. Dint forget the colder overnight temperature now will lower pressure by abt 1 psi per 10 deg F.

    11. Member SoCalMK6GTI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 4th, 2010
      Location
      Rancho Cucamonga, CA
      Posts
      7,279
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI 6MT DBM
      08-25-2010 12:47 AM #11
      Quote Originally Posted by hermitizer View Post
      didn't even have a problem and dealer performed the fix when i was getting my rear window washer fix done. nixed my apr stage i in the process. sigh.
      How's that rear washer fix doing? I've heard good/bad things..... Sorry about your APR flash, I was just at the dealer and they wanted to do the new TSB but it involved reflashing the ECU, which would mean a trip to a local APR dealer. I told them not to touch it, haha.

    12. Member hermitizer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 10th, 2001
      Location
      Huntington Woods, MI
      Posts
      334
      Vehicles
      2010 gti
      08-25-2010 09:39 AM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by SoCalMK6GTI View Post
      How's that rear washer fix doing? I've heard good/bad things..... Sorry about your APR flash, I was just at the dealer and they wanted to do the new TSB but it involved reflashing the ECU, which would mean a trip to a local APR dealer. I told them not to touch it, haha.
      not to get too off topic, but it's just ok. not as bad as before, but I wouldn't call it totally fixed. before the fix it would randomly leak after using it, now it just leaks for a few seconds after i release the lever on the steering wheel. i'd call it 75% better-ish. sigh.

    13. 12-21-2010 04:26 PM #13
      Quote Originally Posted by hermitizer View Post
      not to get too off topic, but it's just ok. not as bad as before, but I wouldn't call it totally fixed. before the fix it would randomly leak after using it, now it just leaks for a few seconds after i release the lever on the steering wheel. i'd call it 75% better-ish. sigh.
      when i fist went to my dealer they told me nothing was wrong and i gave them a dirty look and found another dealer to go to. the new dealer did the fix too and said that a new one should be coming out soon... does anyone else's rear washer jet shoot out a jet stream of liquid (a waste in my opinion). washes almost the entire rear end of the car!

    14. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Dec 14th, 2010
      Location
      Texas
      Posts
      38
      Vehicles
      2011 Golf TDi 4-door w/DSG
      12-31-2010 09:08 AM #14
      Yep, reset buttons are definitely in the glove box of the 2011 models.

      Is the correct tire pressure 38 psi for the TDi? I would go check my car right now, but I don't feel like going outside. Yes, I'm going to be lazy.

    15. Member s2kguy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 14th, 2009
      Location
      Euless, TX
      Posts
      224
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI and 2012 Volvo S60. Former cars include Honda S2000s, BMW Z3, 325 coupe and 328 sedan.
      12-31-2010 11:48 AM #15
      Quote Originally Posted by hermitizer View Post
      didn't even have a problem and dealer performed the fix when i was getting my rear window washer fix done. nixed my apr stage i in the process. sigh.
      I had my 10,000 mi service done last month and the TPMS software update. I was told it would NOT be accomplished via ECU- everything in ECU would stay the same. So I okd it, and true to form the APR Stage 1 flash remained untouched. Works just fine. Later, after a cold spell my tire pressures dropped to about 31 psi and triggered the 'light'. Pumping up to 35 got it out. Good so far.

    16. 03-28-2011 06:37 PM #16
      I have and 11' and the button in the glove box worked great for mine

    17. 06-14-2011 05:21 PM #17
      How does the threshold randomly get bumped up one day? That's quite an odd computer glitch.

      Do the 2010s have that glove box button?

      So is there a definitive answer about whether the dealer TPMS fix will overwrite my APR flash? I JUST ****ing paid to have it reflashed to get the latest APR software. Damn.

      May just fix it via VAGCOM. Is what you accomplish via VAGCOM (haven't read that DIY yet) different than what the dealer accomplishes doing the TPMS fix?
      Last edited by dave999z; 06-14-2011 at 05:30 PM.

    18. Member sfpegasus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 23rd, 2009
      Location
      San Francisco
      Posts
      1,273
      06-14-2011 05:55 PM #18
      Quote Originally Posted by dave999z View Post
      How does the threshold randomly get bumped up one day? That's quite an odd computer glitch.
      Not sure definitely quirky.

      Quote Originally Posted by dave999z View Post
      Do the 2010s have that glove box button?
      No

      Quote Originally Posted by dave999z View Post
      So is there a definitive answer about whether the dealer TPMS fix will overwrite my APR flash? I JUST ****ing paid to have it reflashed to get the latest APR software. Damn.
      I haven't heard of anyone complaining of anything after the TPMS fix.

      Quote Originally Posted by dave999z View Post
      May just fix it via VAGCOM. Is what you accomplish via VAGCOM (haven't read that DIY yet) different than what the dealer accomplishes doing the TPMS fix?
      I actually did mine via VCDS. My adaptation values were already within acceptable range, so the tpms fix really didn't do anything. I suspect the fix is nothing more than an adaptation, certainly not a flash. They're only writing values to replace the bogus ones.
      2010 CW Golf TDI DSG 2DR - Euroswitch - LED tails, turns - Clear corners - GTI sideskirts - Audi stainless tips - Porto alloy spare - Plastic battery box - 9W7 Bluetooth
      2013 RS Golf 2.5 6AT 2DR - Bone stock

    19. 06-14-2011 06:11 PM #19
      Thanks for the answers.

      So, if your adaptation values were already in the acceptable range, I don't exactly understand what you did via VAGCOM (since you didn't need to change them), or even why your TPMS light was on in the first place.

    20. 06-14-2011 07:11 PM #20
      Check your spare tire mine actually has a sensor.

    21. Senior Member feels_road's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 27th, 2005
      Location
      East Bay Area
      Posts
      22,345
      Vehicles
      2010 MkVI MT TDI Golf, 2000 B5 4M Passat Wagon
      06-14-2011 08:28 PM #21
      Quote Originally Posted by dave999z View Post
      How does the threshold randomly get bumped up one day? That's quite an odd computer glitch.
      It's not that odd, and it's not necessarily random. This can happen for example if the reference value (which can be set from the outside) is internally pre-populated, or if by accident there are two different variables within the logic. When one tire pressure gets below the pre-populated value, the light comes on. But after that, a different reference value is used. My guess is the fault was in the part of the logic that is different because the light is already on.

      And yeah, its the body control module, not the ECU.

    22. Member Smrtypants44's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 30th, 2010
      Location
      Norman, OK
      Posts
      687
      Vehicles
      2010 UG 2Dr GTI "Gus"
      06-15-2011 02:54 AM #22
      When I got new tires on my '10 GTI they looked up the TPMS reset instructions and it involved pumping the tires up to 40psi and turning the car on (the light should turn off) then letting the air out to the correct psi. Its worked for me every time my light has come on.

    23. Member mjhubbard's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 6th, 2011
      Location
      Texas
      Posts
      298
      Vehicles
      2011 VW GTI Autobahn
      06-15-2011 04:46 AM #23
      Quote Originally Posted by dave999z View Post
      So is there a definitive answer about whether the dealer TPMS fix will overwrite my APR flash? I JUST ****ing paid to have it reflashed to get the latest APR software. Damn.
      I was under the impression that once you paid for the APR, if your ECU gets reflashed, they will put the softwear back on for free. Is this incorrect? Am I going to be paying for a new flash every time I have something changed by the dealer?
      2011 GTI Autobahn
      Carbon Steel Gray

    24. 06-15-2011 08:19 AM #24
      Quote Originally Posted by mjhubbard View Post
      I was under the impression that once you paid for the APR, if your ECU gets reflashed, they will put the softwear back on for free. Is this incorrect? Am I going to be paying for a new flash every time I have something changed by the dealer?
      You pay for the labor (you dont repay for the software). My dealer charges $75 for a reflash.

    25. Member sfpegasus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 23rd, 2009
      Location
      San Francisco
      Posts
      1,273
      06-15-2011 11:53 AM #25
      Quote Originally Posted by dave999z View Post
      Thanks for the answers.

      So, if your adaptation values were already in the acceptable range, I don't exactly understand what you did via VAGCOM (since you didn't need to change them), or even why your TPMS light was on in the first place.
      I did not have a TPMS light on. I used VAGCOM to increase the adaptation values to 2.9 bar (42 psi) so that I would get advance warning before tire pressure actually got below 35 psi. The default 2.4 or 2.5 bar won't trigger the TPMS until you get below 30 psi or so, which IMHO, is not acceptable.
      2010 CW Golf TDI DSG 2DR - Euroswitch - LED tails, turns - Clear corners - GTI sideskirts - Audi stainless tips - Porto alloy spare - Plastic battery box - 9W7 Bluetooth
      2013 RS Golf 2.5 6AT 2DR - Bone stock

    26. 06-18-2011 01:38 PM #26
      This was my VCDS scan while my TPMS light was coming on for no reason:

      Address 65: Tire Pressure (J502) Labels: None
      Part No SW: 1K0 937 087 G HW: 1K0 937 087 G
      Component: RDK 103 0521
      Coding: 018704
      Shop #: WSC 09415 444 13982
      VCID: 354FF39425D1

      1 Fault Found:
      01325 - Control Module for Tire Pressure Monitoring (J502)
      005 - No or Incorrect Basic Setting / Adaptation
      Freeze Frame:
      Fault Status: 01100101
      Fault Priority: 3
      Fault Frequency: 1
      Mileage: 0 km
      Time Indication: 0


      i then followed these instructions: http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/a...g-light-vw.htm sure enough, my default values were at "55" (5.5 bar, aka 80 psi) rather than "26" (2.6 bar, aka 38 psi). why they reset on their own to 55 is beyond me. but i changed them back to 26. TPMS warning light went away. VCDS scan shows no fault codes now:

      Address 65: Tire Pressure (J502) Labels: None
      Part No SW: 1K0 937 087 G HW: 1K0 937 087 G
      Component: RDK 103 0521
      Coding: 018704
      Shop #: WSC 09415 444 13982
      VCID: 354FF39425D1

      No fault code found.


      hopefully this will stick. if not, i'll take it to the dealer sometime to have them do their fix.
      Last edited by dave999z; 06-18-2011 at 01:44 PM.

    27. Member sfpegasus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 23rd, 2009
      Location
      San Francisco
      Posts
      1,273
      06-18-2011 03:34 PM #27
      Quote Originally Posted by dave999z View Post
      This was my VCDS scan while my TPMS light was coming on for no reason:

      Address 65: Tire Pressure (J502) Labels: None
      Part No SW: 1K0 937 087 G HW: 1K0 937 087 G
      Component: RDK 103 0521
      Coding: 018704
      Shop #: WSC 09415 444 13982
      VCID: 354FF39425D1

      1 Fault Found:
      01325 - Control Module for Tire Pressure Monitoring (J502)
      005 - No or Incorrect Basic Setting / Adaptation
      Freeze Frame:
      Fault Status: 01100101
      Fault Priority: 3
      Fault Frequency: 1
      Mileage: 0 km
      Time Indication: 0


      i then followed these instructions: http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/a...g-light-vw.htm sure enough, my default values were at "55" (5.5 bar, aka 80 psi) rather than "26" (2.6 bar, aka 38 psi). why they reset on their own to 55 is beyond me. but i changed them back to 26. TPMS warning light went away. VCDS scan shows no fault codes now:

      Address 65: Tire Pressure (J502) Labels: None
      Part No SW: 1K0 937 087 G HW: 1K0 937 087 G
      Component: RDK 103 0521
      Coding: 018704
      Shop #: WSC 09415 444 13982
      VCID: 354FF39425D1

      No fault code found.


      hopefully this will stick. if not, i'll take it to the dealer sometime to have them do their fix.
      Precisely what I did - I even got my instruction from the same place!
      2010 CW Golf TDI DSG 2DR - Euroswitch - LED tails, turns - Clear corners - GTI sideskirts - Audi stainless tips - Porto alloy spare - Plastic battery box - 9W7 Bluetooth
      2013 RS Golf 2.5 6AT 2DR - Bone stock

    28. 04-24-2014 12:24 PM #28
      Quote Originally Posted by SoCalMK6GTI View Post
      Disable via VAGCOM. Monitor your tires like we always have in the old days.


      Can you point me to the thread on how to do that ?




      Thanks











      Hobs

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •