Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

The Car Lounge

Thread: How long does it take to stop?

Vehicles
      Mk4 Jetta Wagon, WJ Grand Cherokke
      09-03-2010 05:46 PM #1
      There might be some people left in the forum who don't know that I am a driver education teacher. I teach driver education in the classroom, on the street, and I am also a state-certified license and permit tester.

One of the things we teach in our classroom sessions is stopping distance. The method we've been told to use, and the formulas that permit test applicants are to base their answers on, go something like this:

1. Reaction Distance (RD) - Speed in mph multiplied by 1.5 gives speed in fps, multiply that by 3/4 second (an average driver's reaction time*), and you get distance traveled before a driver hits the brakes.

mph x 1.5 = fps
      fps x .75s = RD

2. Braking Distance (BD) - Braking distance for an average car at 20 mph is 20 feet. As speed increases, braking distance (at maximum braking capability) increases as a function of the square of how much faster than 20 mph our driver is traveling.

(mph / 20 mph)^2 x 20 feet = BD

3. Total Stopping Distance (TSD) - Reaction distance, when added to braking distance, tells us how long it will take to stop an average car from the moment a hazard is identified to the time that the vehicle comes to a halt.

RD + BD = TSD