Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 25 of 39

    Thread: Can you add cruise control to the base Jetta?

    1. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 1st, 2010
      Location
      Austin, TX
      Posts
      70
      Vehicles
      2011 GTI 4-door UGM
      11-10-2010 11:25 AM #1
      My parents are considering a new Corolla. With the new cheaper Jetta out now, I recommended that they go check it out. They liked it, but said they can't live without cruise control. Is there any way to add this?

    2. Member Tucci's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 2nd, 2005
      Location
      Oakwood GA
      Posts
      5,884
      Vehicles
      TDI Golf
      11-10-2010 11:58 AM #2
      You can add it, and it is pretty cheap. Any good Audio Place should be able to take care of it. Heck, ask the dealer if they can install it, Im sure they have an audio/video guy.

    3. Member Eff Bags's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 7th, 2006
      Location
      Boston, MA
      Posts
      3,236
      Vehicles
      Tiguan | B5 S4 Avant | E90 BMW | MK6 GTI
      11-10-2010 01:18 PM #3
      Quote Originally Posted by Tucci View Post
      You can add it, and it is pretty cheap. Any good Audio Place should be able to take care of it. Heck, ask the dealer if they can install it, Im sure they have an audio/video guy.
      x2. i used to work for a shop that had a contract with dealerships when they sold new vehicles and the customer requested remote starts, cruise control, power windows, even a moonroof, we would pick the vehicle up install whatever was requested, then return it to the dealer. cruise control was relatively cheap.

    4. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 1st, 2010
      Location
      Austin, TX
      Posts
      70
      Vehicles
      2011 GTI 4-door UGM
      11-10-2010 02:14 PM #4
      Is is OE or aftermarket?

    5. Member wh4l3salad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2010
      Location
      Great Falls, VA
      Posts
      799
      Vehicles
      Candy White '10 GTI 6M
      11-10-2010 04:27 PM #5
      Holy crap the jetta doesn't have cruise control???
      EVE's Build Thread • APR Stage II / BSH RACE / B&B 3" / DG S6 / B&G RS2 / MOTUL / VMR

      facebook twitter wheelflip • PM me for VAGCOM in NoVA

    6. Member cockerpunk's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 17th, 2010
      Location
      Twin Cities MN
      Posts
      4,677
      Vehicles
      Mr2, 951, NA6
      11-10-2010 04:37 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by wh4l3salad View Post
      Holy crap the jetta doesn't have cruise control???
      the 2.0s dont
      Quote Originally Posted by kwik!gti
      Cockerpunk: 1
      TCL Hive mind troll brigade: 0

    7. Member Eff Bags's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 7th, 2006
      Location
      Boston, MA
      Posts
      3,236
      Vehicles
      Tiguan | B5 S4 Avant | E90 BMW | MK6 GTI
      11-10-2010 05:59 PM #7
      Quote Originally Posted by jeffm00 View Post
      Is is OE or aftermarket?
      the brand, which i now forget, we installed was aftermarket but looked factory and was covered under warranty. ask your dealer if they do anything like that, if not like Tucci said, call around to audio shops.

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 10th, 2009
      Posts
      3,221
      Vehicles
      2006 Passat 2.0t 6mt
      11-10-2010 08:56 PM #8
      Its not going to be as easy as you think it will be with Drive By Wire setup.

    9. 11-10-2010 11:20 PM #9
      AFAIK, the OEM cruise control stalk is about $30-$40 (for Golf MK6, I assume Jetta uses the same one). It is an easy replacement job + vag-com

    10. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 1st, 2010
      Location
      Austin, TX
      Posts
      70
      Vehicles
      2011 GTI 4-door UGM
      11-10-2010 11:30 PM #10
      Quote Originally Posted by biby View Post
      AFAIK, the OEM cruise control stalk is about $30-$40 (for Golf MK6, I assume Jetta uses the same one). It is an easy replacement job + vag-com
      So it's just the turn signal stalk from the jetta se/sel + vagcom? Doesn't seem bad.

    11. Member tekameleon's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 29th, 2003
      Location
      Edmonton, Alberta
      Posts
      142
      Vehicles
      72 Beetle, 13 GLI, 12 Tiguan
      11-10-2010 11:49 PM #11
      Adding just the stalk seems too easy to be true - I'd definitely go talk to the Parts/Svc department at VW before taking the plunge.

    12. 11-11-2010 01:49 AM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by tekameleon View Post
      Adding just the stalk seems too easy to be true - I'd definitely go talk to the Parts/Svc department at VW before taking the plunge.
      At least it is the case for addition of cruise control to a Golf (some in the rest of world are not delivered with cruise control). In Golf Mk6's case there are two modules to be re-coded, steering wheel and engine. Unless such coding does not exist on the 2.slow engine module, I would see the same thing working on the Jetta.

    13. 11-11-2010 06:36 AM #13
      I would highly encourage your Parents to buy the Jetta over the Corolla,its a far superior car,as you know.

    14. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 5th, 2004
      Location
      Sterling, VA
      Posts
      6,186
      Vehicles
      2K6 1K2 BRM / 2K8 7L6 BWF / 85 19 MF
      11-11-2010 09:34 AM #14
      Quote Originally Posted by biby View Post
      At least it is the case for addition of cruise control to a Golf (some in the rest of world are not delivered with cruise control). In Golf Mk6's case there are two modules to be re-coded, steering wheel and engine. Unless such coding does not exist on the 2.slow engine module, I would see the same thing working on the Jetta.
      In addition, in EU mk5 Golfs w/o CC, you would have to run a wire from the steering wheel control module and engine control module.

    15. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 10th, 2009
      Posts
      3,221
      Vehicles
      2006 Passat 2.0t 6mt
      11-11-2010 09:45 AM #15
      This is probably not as easy as vagcom coding a car. Mk6 Golf/GTI and Mk6 Jetta 2.0 do not have the same electrical systems.

      Mk6 Golf/GTI = high system
      Mk6 Jetta = low system(alot less wiring and control modules)

    16. Member PaulAP's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 21st, 2009
      Location
      Winnipeg
      Posts
      235
      Vehicles
      2004 MKIV Jetta GLS, 2009 Routan Comfortline 4.0L w/ RSE, 2011 Jetta VI Trendline+
      05-25-2011 04:09 PM #16
      I know this thread is now a few months old, but has anyone actually added cruise control to the New Jetta IV? If so could someone post instructions and/or pictures or a full DIY?

    17. Member PaulAP's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 21st, 2009
      Location
      Winnipeg
      Posts
      235
      Vehicles
      2004 MKIV Jetta GLS, 2009 Routan Comfortline 4.0L w/ RSE, 2011 Jetta VI Trendline+
      05-26-2011 10:32 AM #17
      Up here in the Canadian North The base model is called the Trendline. (2.0)
      One model up is the Trendline+ it adds...
      60/40 split folding rear seat
      6-way manual front seats
      Air conditioning
      Keyless entry
      That is all I want, except cruise...

      I would have no problem adding it myself, but I would like to know what would be involved. Obviously it would mean changing the stalk, probably adding some missing wires to a harness somewhere etc... What else? and what would need to be done to the ECU? (via Vag com?)

      A complete DIY would be great. If someone has done this, I'd love to hear from you.

    18. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2003
      Location
      Staunton, Virginia
      Posts
      3,785
      Vehicles
      2003 Jetta GLI & 2014 Jetta GLI Edition 30
      05-26-2011 11:36 AM #18
      Quote Originally Posted by tekameleon View Post
      Adding just the stalk seems too easy to be true - I'd definitely go talk to the Parts/Svc department at VW before taking the plunge.

      I'd check with the parts people, but it really shouldn't require anything other than the switch and reprogramming. It's so simple for drive by wire cars that idk why VW didn't just include it on the S models. Probably just to make the SE cars more attractive.

    19. Member PaulAP's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 21st, 2009
      Location
      Winnipeg
      Posts
      235
      Vehicles
      2004 MKIV Jetta GLS, 2009 Routan Comfortline 4.0L w/ RSE, 2011 Jetta VI Trendline+
      05-30-2011 03:18 PM #19
      Quote Originally Posted by mediumbluemetalic View Post
      I'd check with the parts people, but it really shouldn't require anything other than the switch and reprogramming. It's so simple for drive by wire cars that idk why VW didn't just include it on the S models. Probably just to make the SE cars more attractive.
      I have checked with the dealer, and the parts guys can get me the switch (arm) and says it looks like all the other parts are the same, but I should check with the service guys. The service guys looked into it, and they tell me a bunch of modules need to be changed out, and could end up costing lots-o-money. I figure they just don't know how to re-program/re-wire what needs to be done, and aren't interested.

      I then checked with the only other VW dealer in town, and their service department spent some time looking into it, and told me straight up that they can't find any information on how it could be done.

      I would love to hear from someone who has done it. I'm assuming all that it would need (besides the new arm) is a re-program of the steering wheel control module and/or engine control module via VAG COM or VCDS (or dealer software) and possibly a rewire between the new arm and the steering wheel control module. As it is a 2.0, I would think it would be a fairly straight forward process.

      I do not have VAG COM or VCDS, but would consider buying it if this makes it work, as I've read it can also enable window roll-up with lock and window roll-down with unlock from the remote, much like the KWS-100 that I have used on my MK4.

    20. Member PaulAP's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 21st, 2009
      Location
      Winnipeg
      Posts
      235
      Vehicles
      2004 MKIV Jetta GLS, 2009 Routan Comfortline 4.0L w/ RSE, 2011 Jetta VI Trendline+
      06-08-2011 11:32 AM #20
      [QUOTE=JohnIBarr01;71754653]GAH. VI ≠ IV. Stupid n00bs.


      My bad. My old Jetta is a MK IV, my new one is a MK VI, and I don't speak Roman

      and by KWS100 I meant the KVW100 Window Roll Up/Down Flash Load Module available from ECS Tuning (http://www.ecstuning.com) or in Canada from ziggi tuning (http://ziggituning.com)
      I have this on my old MK IV, and would love to have this function on my new MK VI
      For those who do not know what the KVW100 does, when you press lock on the remote, the doors lock and all the windows (and sunroof if equipped) close. Holding unlock opens the windows.

      ... but back on topic...

      Has anybody added or tried to add cruise to a base Jetta VI yet ?

    21. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 5th, 2004
      Location
      Sterling, VA
      Posts
      6,186
      Vehicles
      2K6 1K2 BRM / 2K8 7L6 BWF / 85 19 MF
      06-08-2011 12:18 PM #21
      Quote Originally Posted by PaulAP View Post
      For those who do not know what the KVW100 does, when you press lock on the remote, the doors lock and all the windows (and sunroof if equipped) close. Holding unlock opens the windows.
      In mk5 you do not need any KVW100 for that, just VCDS to recode the comfort module. I bet Euro mk6 Jetta has the same coding options. The question is if they are documented well enough to find them.

      For Cruise Control: I can double check what's required, but I assume the steering wheel control module, stalk, wiring and coding of the ECU. You will be better off comparing the VCDS scans from mk6 Jettas with and without CC.

    22. Member PaulAP's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 21st, 2009
      Location
      Winnipeg
      Posts
      235
      Vehicles
      2004 MKIV Jetta GLS, 2009 Routan Comfortline 4.0L w/ RSE, 2011 Jetta VI Trendline+
      06-08-2011 01:45 PM #22
      maloosheck;

      If you could double check that would be greatly appreciated...
      and part numbers for the stalk (arm) and the steering wheel control module (if needed).
      Also if wires need to be added/moved, from where to where (pin/wire color), and of course what settings to be changed with VAG COM or VCDS.

      I'd love to put together a DIY (if there is not already one) for this mod, as I have found many DIY's here very helpful/useful when I made my numerous mods to my MK IV Jetta GLS.

      ...and if I can get enough information to do this, anyone who helped would get a thanks in the DIY

    23. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2011
      Location
      Fairfield County, CT
      Posts
      4,321
      Vehicles
      2011 Jetta S
      02-13-2012 04:34 PM #23
      Would a stalk from a mk5 jetta work?

    24. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2011
      Location
      Fairfield County, CT
      Posts
      4,321
      Vehicles
      2011 Jetta S
      03-19-2012 12:00 PM #24
      Looks like this is going nowhere...

      I looked up all the info I could and here is what I've got.

      On the hardware end you would have to swap the turn signal part of the cluster (maybe possible) or just swap it for the complete switch assembly with the correct leaver. Also need to add 5 wires to the harness for the turner leaver. On my car it currently has 7 of the 12 wires needed per ELSA. The problem is that 4 of those wires go to the vehicle system control module (VSCM) which is the 73 pin plug near the inside fuse panel. However those 5 wires are mapped for the highline (73b) version of the module. And the fifth wire goes to the ECM (under the hood). The other problem is that I think my car (Jetta S) has the lowline VSCM (73a). I do not know how to verify which I have tho. If the 4 wires are able to be plugged into the lowline VSCM the mapping isn't the same (pins 44,45,46,47) because pin 44 on 73a (the lowline) is supposedly mapped to the "Ignition Starter Switch Supply (15) Input Signal" and pin 45 on 73a is supposedly mapped to the "Parking Lamp Switch Input Signal" and the other pis (46,47) are not assigned. Perhaps it is still possible to install it but the pins are mapped differently? I have the ELSA diagrams if anyone cares to give some input or wants to see the diagrams just let me know. This may not be a lost cause.

      On a side note:
      Not sure if this is normal but when I saw peoples pics of their ABS modules from the ESP install threads, I noticed that mine, a presumebly lower lever ABS since I have a Jetta S, had more wires in the ABS than that of someone who had a higher level car SE/TDI. Any thoughts?

    25. 06-03-2012 10:16 PM #25
      Check out www.rostra.com for aftermarket cruise. Ties into harness behind factory radio. Radio doctor quoted me 489.00 installed.

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •