Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 2 of 30 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
    Results 26 to 50 of 746

    Thread: iPod User Guide for MK4

    1. Member nebulight's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Lancaster, PA
      Posts
      3,642
      Vehicles
      2012 Toyota Prius C
      09-16-2002 05:14 PM #26
      Actually, I have decided to sell all this stuff. Right now, I would rather have new suspension. Check out the link in the Car Audio Classifieds:
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=511739

    2. 09-16-2002 05:50 PM #27
      You should take a look at http://www.phatnoise.com If your willing to live without your CD-Changer than this is a really solid option for our cars.
      All for about the same price you paid for the full iPod setup.

    3. 09-23-2002 01:15 AM #28
      I just bought an ipod, 5gb pc version, today and so far, love it! I agree, this musicmatch software that came with it blows. I'll look into the other software posted above.
      However, I found a real easy way to use my ipod in the Jetta. It cost only $20 and no wires. It's a wireless transmitter. Plug into the ipod, turn it on, and tune the radio to any station between 88-95mhz that isn't used, and there you go. Sounds awesome! Since there isn't much distance between the radio and the transmitter, no static, sounds perfect imo. Picked it up at Fry's.
      You can find out more about this transmitter here

    4. Member nebulight's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Lancaster, PA
      Posts
      3,642
      Vehicles
      2012 Toyota Prius C
      09-23-2002 07:46 AM #29
      I never had good luck with those, I tried two different ones. They never worked as well, but they are a cheap way of doing it.

    5. 09-23-2002 11:46 AM #30
      ssswwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet
      i so want this. I have a 10gb ipod and this would be sweet. I am going to contact panawise for the holders and whatnot. The link to the pics aren't working for me, any chance you can fix that? I'd love to see what the finished product looks like.
      Thanks!

    6. 09-23-2002 12:47 PM #31
      uhhhh, I'm getting red X's

    7. 09-23-2002 01:26 PM #32
      quote:
      I never had good luck with those, I tried two different ones. They never worked as well, but they are a cheap way of doing it.
      Well, after the first drive with it today, my opinion has changed. Maybe it's b/c living in LA, there are so many radio stations and a less populous place won't have this problem. But I got so much interference from other stations in the band. I'm at 88.7 and that's the only station that has nothing on it...but I get bleeding from stations before and after it while driving. Static is also increased. My test last night was sitting in the car not moving.
      So this isn't going to work.

    8. Member GTIturbo6400's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 20th, 2002
      Location
      Madison, WI
      Posts
      2,811
      Vehicles
      '01.5 S4, '06 CBR600RR(track)
      09-23-2002 07:39 PM #33
      Just thought I'd mention I just did the install for my 10GB version. It looks so sweet the way its mounted. The only thing I didn't do was run the wires through the glovebox, because I didn't like them being and pinched. Plus, the RCA to minjack wire is to thick, cuz its monster cable.

    9. Member nebulight's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Lancaster, PA
      Posts
      3,642
      Vehicles
      2012 Toyota Prius C
      09-24-2002 04:33 PM #34
      quote:
      uhhhh, I'm getting red X's
      I don't know what happened, I think my crappy host screwed up. I guess that is what I get for 5 bucks a month for unlimited space and data transfer. Anyway, I can see them. Is anyone else having problems?

    10. 09-24-2002 04:50 PM #35
      I should have waited for the 10GB or 20GB version. I have 10+ GB of MP3's and would LOVE to carry it all around with me. Anyway...
      I followed nebulight's lead and installed the Panavise mount, and absolutely love it. Here's a question though: Would it be hard to wire up an ADDITIONAL 12V connection an hide it somewhere behind the dash? Is there any other alternative to using the 12V from the trunk/hatch?

    11. 09-24-2002 04:52 PM #36
      when the heck are they getting more Phatboxes - these things are killa - where/when can I get it??

    12. Member nebulight's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Lancaster, PA
      Posts
      3,642
      Vehicles
      2012 Toyota Prius C
      09-24-2002 05:23 PM #37
      Yes, you can actually pop open the 12V adapter and hard wire it to the 12V adapter that is in the front. But I don't recommend using a 12V adapter at all! Once I ran the cable up front, I get this high pitched noise in the backround. It is terrible. I am going to ditch the repeater step, and the cable run step for the charger, and just charge it at home or when I am not in the car.

    13. Banned
      Join Date
      Jun 13th, 2002
      Posts
      133
      09-24-2002 07:06 PM #38
      would this cable work to hook a laptop to the stereo? i have a cable that has the headphone jack on one end and female RCA connectors on the other....so i would just plug the adapter i have into the headphone jack and into this cable.....

    14. Member nebulight's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Lancaster, PA
      Posts
      3,642
      Vehicles
      2012 Toyota Prius C
      09-24-2002 07:35 PM #39
      quote:
      would this cable work to hook a laptop to the stereo? i have a cable that has the headphone jack on one end and female RCA connectors on the other....so i would just plug the adapter i have into the headphone jack and into this cable.....

      No, it wouldn't. That is the only cable you need, but you will need to adapt the female RCA jack, because the ones on that cable are female as well. I have seen a headphone jack to male RCA, I am using it in my setup. They are like 6 bucks.

    15. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 22nd, 2001
      Location
      New Jersey
      Posts
      1,112
      09-24-2002 07:54 PM #40

      Nice write-up... I've been waiting to see someone actually use on of those adapters from rcainputs.com.
      I don't know if it's already been mentioned (I sort of skimmed through this thread) but people might be interested to know that they can hook up all sorts of audio stuff with these adapters. Other MP3 players, MiniDisc players, laptops, pretty much anything that can be connected through RCA ports or converted with the stereo to RCA cables you used. There are also similar solutions for the guys with aftermarket headunits. Check my signature to see my MiniDisc setup.

    16. 09-24-2002 10:10 PM #41
      Does anyone know if it's possible to hook up a cable direct to the back of the Monsoon headunit– or must we run the cable from the amp on up to the front of the car?
      Thanks,
      m.

    17. Member nebulight's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Lancaster, PA
      Posts
      3,642
      Vehicles
      2012 Toyota Prius C
      09-24-2002 10:17 PM #42
      If you have the single din, then it goes right in the back. But if you have the double din, like I have, then you need to hook up in the back by the amp.

    18. 09-24-2002 10:29 PM #43
      nice

    19. 09-25-2002 12:17 AM #44
      quote:
      If you have the single din, then it goes right in the back. But if you have the double din, like I have, then you need to hook up in the back by the amp.
      I have the single Monsoon unit...what do you mean it goes in the back...how is that done?

    20. Member nebulight's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Lancaster, PA
      Posts
      3,642
      Vehicles
      2012 Toyota Prius C
      09-25-2002 06:06 PM #45
      quote:
      I have the single Monsoon unit...what do you mean it goes in the back...how is that done?
      If you have a single din unit, then you take out your head unit, and plug the cable in the back of the head unit.
      If you have a double din unit, then you need to plug it in at the amp in the back of the car.

    21. 09-26-2002 12:34 AM #46
      quote:
      I have the single Monsoon unit...what do you mean it goes in the back...how is that done?
      If you have a single din unit, then you take out your head unit, and plug the cable in the back of the head unit.
      If you have a double din unit, then you need to plug it in at the amp in the back of the car.
      so that same cable will work behind the head unit just like the the back as you did?

    22. Member nebulight's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2002
      Location
      Lancaster, PA
      Posts
      3,642
      Vehicles
      2012 Toyota Prius C
      09-27-2002 07:07 AM #47
      No, it is a different cable that you get from RCAinput.com. If you go to that site, you will click on VW, and you will two different cable. One for the 12 pin in the back of the car, and one front the front if you have the single din.

    23. Member Satchriani's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 17th, 2000
      Location
      East Bay, CA
      Posts
      2,485
      Vehicles
      2002.5 GTi VR6 24V
      09-30-2002 03:18 PM #48
      Anyone know of a way to make this cable instead of spending $70.00 on something that only should cost $15 or less?
      Immersion.com
      2002.5 GTi VR6 24V

    24. Member titleist1976's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 25th, 2002
      Posts
      10,549
      Vehicles
      Mini R55 S, Honda Pilot
      10-02-2002 07:15 PM #49
      quote:
      Anyone know of a way to make this cable instead of spending $70.00 on something that only should cost $15 or less?
      That's what I was thinking too. But, then again, I don't want to blow up my head unit or my new iPod... So I took the dive and paid the $8- (after shipping) for the rca input. Can't wait to install it.

    25. 10-05-2002 02:15 AM #50
      this makes me want to get an ipod but i saw a cheeper way to power it on the apple web site they sell a simpler power cord

    Page 2 of 30 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •