VWVortex.com - Can anyone create and print a 3D model?
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can anyone create and print a 3D model?

Vehicles
      2013 VW Jetta GLI
      12-13-2010 09:37 AM #1
      Hey everybody! I'm not new to the Vortex, but this is my first time in the Art and Design section...

I'm looking for someone who can create a relatively simple 3D model for my wedding cake topper and maybe recommend a place to print it. The only 3D printer I have ever seen has been at APR and I'm pretty sure that they have better things to do... (But if you APR guys are reading *ahem* , we would LOVE to have an APR built wedding topper! ) We have a basic (smaller) model of it, so im guessing it could be (3D) scanned, edited, and enlarged, OR just modeled from scratch.

Does anyone on here do that kind of work? Or do you know of a place to get it done??? There seem to be a couple places online that will print it, but none that will model it, Plus, I would much rather work with someone directly.

Thanks to all in advance!
      Last edited by richard_rsp; 12-13-2010 at 09:40 AM.

2. 12-13-2010 07:53 PM #2
      Post a picture of what you want. 3D printing is typically not going to be cheap. Some people might have access to one at work or an architecture student (like me) or an engineering student could also have one at school. My school is too cheap to buy one but depending on what you're trying to model I might be able to help you out.

Vehicles
      11' CC, 94' NSX
      12-13-2010 08:30 PM #3
      I have a makerbot that can print things 3"x3"x4" in abs plastic. I just have had troubles connecting my computer to it. I'm hoping to get it working before the year is over. If I can get it done I'll print it for you for cheap. My brother might be able to model it if he still has the programs.
      Current Stable: 11 CC, 94 NSX